Pet costs · Editorial review 10 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
4 Paws lists a 20–30 minute cat/small-animal visit at £12, or two visits for £21. A Finchley provider advertises one pet visit from £15 or two from £25. These are local examples, not national averages.
Published provider examples checked 10 September 2026. Care needs, location and holiday availability can change the quote.
Illustrative seven-day totals
| Published tariff | Daily charge | Seven days | What it buys |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published tariff4 Paws: one visit | Daily charge£12 | Seven days£84 | What it buys20–30 minute cat/small-animal visitSources: 4 Paws Pet Care |
| Published tariff4 Paws: two visits | Daily charge£21 | Seven days£147 | What it buysTwo visits, not overnight presenceSources: 4 Paws Pet Care |
| Published tariffFinchley: two pet visits | Daily chargeFrom £25 | Seven daysFrom £175 | What it buysConfirm cat care and visit lengthSources: Finchley Dog Walker |
CVP arithmetic from listed tariffs; assumes seven identical chargeable days with no extras.
Compare the same absence with sitting and a cattery
| Cost component | Visits at home | Cattery stay |
|---|---|---|
| Cost componentDeparture and return days | Visits at homeCount each booked morning/evening visit | Cattery stayApply arrival/collection day rules |
| Cost componentTwo cats | Visits at homeAsk whether one household visit covers both | Cattery stayAsk for the shared-room household rate |
| Cost componentAccess and transport | Visits at homeKeys, meet-and-greet, parking and travel radius | Cattery stayDrop-off and collection transport |
| Cost componentAdditional care | Visits at homeTask, extra minutes and per-visit charge | Cattery stayFood or medication-service additions per day |
Use actual quotes for the same dates. A visit and continuous accommodation are different services.
Price the departure and return visits explicitly
Using 4 Paws’ published £12 single visit and £21 two-visit day: one departure-evening visit, six full two-visit days and one return-morning visit total £150 (£12 + 6 × £21 + £12). This purchases 14 visits across eight calendar dates. It is £3 more than seven complete two-visit days at £147.
This is a tariff-based booking illustration before extras, not an agreed booking or recommended visit frequency. Ask for the additional-cat and holiday terms; do not assume a per-household rate includes every task for every cat.
Sources: 4 Paws Pet CareAgree the visit schedule around care
Decide the schedule with the sitter around feeding, litter care, medication and your cat's needs. Ask what the sitter does if a normally visible cat cannot be found or food is untouched. A cheaper plan with fewer visits is not an equivalent quote.
Write down which tasks fit within the visit and whether additional time can be authorised. For medication, confirm the sitter's experience and your vet's instructions before committing.
A week's absence is not always seven full days of visits
Build the booking by actual visits: perhaps an evening visit after departure, two on each full day away and a morning visit before you return. Obtain a price for that schedule and add a contingency visit in case travel is delayed.
The examples above are deliberately seven complete days, making the multiplication reproducible. They are not a recommendation that one particular schedule is suitable for every cat.
Check the household and key arrangements
Confirm whether the fee covers every cat in your home, key collection and return, a preliminary meeting, parking, and weekend or bank-holiday visits. Ask how updates are sent and what backup applies if the sitter is unwell.
Home access deserves a separate conversation: identify who will hold keys, whether another person can attend, and how alarm codes are protected. Avoid leaving these arrangements to an informal booking note.
When comparing with a cattery
Compare the total for the same dates and number of cats, including shared accommodation, transport and arrival-day billing. Sitting keeps the cat at home but provides only the presence you book; a cattery offers a different environment and care routine. Neither price alone establishes the better option.
Contact a vet promptly if your cat becomes unwell during your absence. Leave a reachable decision-maker and an agreed payment arrangement so the sitter is not waiting for permission in an emergency.
Add up visits for your trip
Match visit duration and the cats included. Enter the actual planned visits, including multiple visits on the same day.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
Confirm keys, travel and holiday charges. If the quoted visit already includes every cat, use zero for extra-cat charges. This does not recommend a visit schedule.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: 14 visits at £12 plus a £10 key charge total £178; the inputs are not a measured local quote.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Compare published sitter price menus
These are selected named examples, not a directory, national average, recommendation or live availability search. Match the service, duration and number of pets before comparing amounts.
The maximum filters the displayed base line item only. It is not a trip budget: extra pets, multiple visits, VAT and date surcharges can change the total.
28 tariffs shown
| Provider and region | Service and duration | Pet scope | Published price | Terms and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paws & QuartersLondon | In-home overnight — cat or small petOne night | One cat or small pet | £45 per night | VAT included. Each additional pet is £10 per night; a 25% deposit applies. Christmas and New Year may attract a surcharge.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Pets FriendFrampton Cotterell and North Bristol | Cat visitNot stated | One cat | £13 per visit | An extra cat is £1. Bank holidays are charged at double rate. The separately listed overnight service is dog boarding, so it is not included here as house sitting.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | House sitting24 hours | Up to two dogs or cats | From £40 per 24 hours | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | Home drop-in — one visit a dayVisit duration not stated | Pet count not stated | £10 per day | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | Home drop-in — two visits a dayVisit duration not stated | Pet count not stated | £18 per day | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Furry AdventuresBrighton, Hove, Worthing and the Sussex coast | In-home drop-inFirst hour | Up to two pets | £25 first hour | Further consecutive hours are £12.50, capped at £75 up to six hours. Extra visit pets are £5 each; an additional dog overnight is £10. Published holiday multipliers apply.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Furry AdventuresBrighton, Hove, Worthing and the Sussex coast | In-home overnight7pm to 7am | Base pet count not stated | £50 per night | Further consecutive hours are £12.50, capped at £75 up to six hours. Extra visit pets are £5 each; an additional dog overnight is £10. Published holiday multipliers apply.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Home visit15 minutes | Pet count not stated | From £12.50 per visit | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Home visit30 minutes | Pet count not stated | £15.50 per visit | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Overnight pet and house sitting8pm to 10am | Pet count not stated | £67 per nightVAT not included | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Strutts for MuttsYork and Strensall | Cat or small-animal careNot stated | Pet count not stated | £8 per visit | An additional house-sit pet is £5. Visits before 9am or after 5pm add £5; Christmas and bank-holiday services are double.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Strutts for MuttsYork and Strensall | House sittingOne day; hours not stated | Base pet count not stated | £45 per day | An additional house-sit pet is £5. Visits before 9am or after 5pm add £5; Christmas and bank-holiday services are double.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 4 Paws Pet CareService area not stated on the tariff page | Cat or small-animal visit20 to 30 minutes | Pet count not stated | £12 one visit | The provider labels this its 2026 price list; confirm current charges. Consecutive hours after the first are £10.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 4 Paws Pet CareService area not stated on the tariff page | Cat or small-animal visitsTwo visits of 20 to 30 minutes each | Pet count not stated | £21 two visits | The provider labels this its 2026 price list; confirm current charges. Consecutive hours after the first are £10.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 4 Paws Pet CareService area not stated on the tariff page | Pet sitting over two hoursFirst hour of a sit over two hours | Pet count not stated | £14 first hour | The provider labels this its 2026 price list; confirm current charges. Consecutive hours after the first are £10.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekday cat pop-in30 minutes | One or two cats | £15 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekend cat pop-in30 minutes | One or two cats | £18 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Bank holiday cat pop-in30 minutes | One or two cats | £21 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekday cat pop-in30 minutes | Three or four cats | £17 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekend cat pop-in30 minutes | Three or four cats | £20 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Bank holiday cat pop-in30 minutes | Three or four cats | £23 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekday cat pop-in30 minutes | Five or more cats | £20 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Weekend cat pop-in30 minutes | Five or more cats | £23 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Stockport Pet CompanyStockport and surrounding areas; confirm exact coverage | Bank holiday cat pop-in30 minutes | Five or more cats | £26 per visit for the stated cats | Cat pop-in visits, not dog walks or overnight stays. Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year are separately described as double rate without a clear base: request the exact quote. VAT, key collection, travel, parking and minimum booking terms are not stated on this menu; do not assume they are free.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Charlie & FriendsManchester city centre: Ancoats, Northern Quarter, New Islington, Piccadilly, The Village and Miles Platting | Standard cat visit15 minutes | Multiple cats only if care fits booked time | £15 per visit | Multiple cats cost the same only if their care fits the booked visit time. Bank holidays are double rate; the provider explicitly illustrates £30 for a 15-minute visit. The £30 standard 30-minute fee is not a bank-holiday fee. Visits run up to 19:00, not overnight. VAT, key/travel/parking charges and minimum booking are not stated; confirm the total.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Charlie & FriendsManchester city centre: Ancoats, Northern Quarter, New Islington, Piccadilly, The Village and Miles Platting | Standard cat visit30 minutes | Multiple cats only if care fits booked time | £30 per visit | Multiple cats cost the same only if their care fits the booked visit time. Bank holidays are double rate; the provider explicitly illustrates £30 for a 15-minute visit. The £30 standard 30-minute fee is not a bank-holiday fee. Visits run up to 19:00, not overnight. VAT, key/travel/parking charges and minimum booking are not stated; confirm the total.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| A Walk in the Park BristolBristol; confirm exact address coverage | Cat sitting in your homeOne night; start/end times and exact overnight presence not stated | One cat; second same-household cat free | £45 per night | Not a quoted 12-hour or 24-hour stay; confirm inclusions and presence.The provider homepage describes sitting in the pet’s own home. A second same-household cat is free. Bookings of three nights or more require a 25% deposit: it is part payment, not an extra 25%. VAT, travel, holiday supplements and overnight arrival/departure times are not stated; confirm the full quote and agreed presence.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| A Walk in the Park BristolBristol; confirm exact address coverage | Cat-eligible drop-inOne hour, between 08:00 and 15:00 | Confirm visit pet count | £15 per hour | Separate from overnight sitting. Confirm additional-pet and booking terms for this service.The provider homepage describes sitting in the pet’s own home. A second same-household cat is free. Bookings of three nights or more require a 25% deposit: it is part payment, not an extra 25%. VAT, travel, holiday supplements and overnight arrival/departure times are not stated; confirm the full quote and agreed presence.Provider price sourceChecked 11 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Services and price list 20264 Paws Pet Care · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet care availability and starting pricesFinchley Dog Walker · Checked 10 September 2026