CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Euthanasia cost in the UK

The median listed UK price for euthanasia in the dog category is £196.44, based on 470 checked prices as of September 2026. The observed range is £26.5 to £400; the middle half is £188.1 to £205.2.

Median
£196.44
Sample: Dog
470 prices
Range
£26.5 to £400
Snapshot
September 2026

Source: CompareVetPricing national source-backed dataset. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/euthanasia#answer

Published home-euthanasia visit fees

If your pet may be suffering or needs urgent care, contact a vet promptly. Do not wait to finish comparing prices. The responsible vet can discuss your pet’s needs; this page does not recommend a procedure.

These three selected provider menus are separate from the procedure dataset and its medians. They describe home visits, not a routine callout charge alone. Species, weight, travel, timing and aftercare differ, so they are not a national range or cheapest-provider ranking.

HomeLinc Vet

Price source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated.

Dogs and cats · No additional size or breed charge stated
£280
Visit scope
Home euthanasia visit including sedation.
Travel area and charges
Within 15 miles of Saxilby included. Beyond this, £2 for each extra one-way mile from Saxilby; the provider confirms the postcode charge before booking.
Timing
Homepage lists weekdays, weekends, evenings and bank holidays. No timing surcharge verified; confirm the fee and appointment with the provider.
Aftercare
Aftercare is separate from £280. Optional crematorium transport is £50, with crematorium fees paid separately. The distinct £550 package includes individual cremation and scattering, without ashes returned; it is not this visit tariff.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked euthanasia tariff; confirm.
Before agreeing a total
Travel rules do not establish a live appointment or a CVP-calculated journey distance.

Dignity Vets

Price source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated.

Cat · No cat weight band stated
£230
Dog · 0–10kg as published
£250
Dog · 10–25kg as published
£265
Dog · 25–50kg as published
£275
Dog · 50kg+ heading; description says more than 50kg
£285
Visit scope
Provider-labelled home-euthanasia service. Sedation and medication inclusions are not separately established; confirm the full scope.
Travel area and charges
Manchester and surrounding areas, measured from the Ramsbottom or Didsbury base. Published bands: 0–10 miles no travel fee; 10–15 miles £10; 15–20 miles £20; 20–25 miles £30; 25–30 miles £40. Confirm the applicable base, distance method and boundaries; longer journeys need confirmation.
Timing
Published supplements: 5pm–10pm £50; 11pm–9am £150; bank holidays £150. The 10pm–11pm gap and rules for combining supplements are not stated.
Aftercare
Separate cremation arrangements are described, but an included cremation amount is not established in these visit tariffs. Confirm aftercare and transport separately.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.
Before agreeing a total
Exactly 10, 25 or 50kg can overlap the published labels. Ask which tier applies; no automatic weight selection or combined total is shown.

The Ealing Vet

Price source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated.

Cat · No cat weight band stated
£240
Dog · Up to 10kg as published
£328
Dog · 10–20kg as published
£352
Dog · 20–30kg as published
£399
Dog · 30–40kg as published
£419
Dog · 40kg and above
From £479
Visit scope
Home visit, sedation and euthanasia expressly included; cremation excluded.
Travel area and charges
Ealing W5/W13/W7/TW8, Hampton, parts of Hounslow, Twickenham, Isleworth, Richmond, Teddington and Brentford. Other areas need a quote; Hangar Lane and locations on or near the North Circular may add fees.
Timing
Urgent same-day booking fee £15. Published hours Monday–Friday 07:30–17:30; closed bank holidays. Confirm appointment availability directly.
Aftercare
Cremation excluded. Separately listed pre-euthanasia planning consultations (£35 phone or £99 home) are not automatically required or added here.
VAT
The page states consultation prices include VAT, but has no separate explicit VAT statement in the euthanasia section; confirm applicability.
Before agreeing a total
Exactly 10, 20, 30 or 40kg can overlap the published labels. Ask which tier applies. The highest band is a from-price, not a fixed quote.

Euthanasia: quick answers

Concise answers based on the source-backed price dataset and the comparison caveats for this procedure. Observation dates vary by species and source.

How much does euthanasia cost in the UK?
The median listed UK price in the dog category is £196.44, based on 470 comparable prices in the September 2026 snapshot.
What is usually included in a euthanasia price?
Usually included: Appointment and clinical procedure where stated; Basic professional time; Advice on aftercare options. Confirm the exact package with the practice before booking.
What may cost extra for euthanasia?
Common possible extras: Cremation; Home visit; Return of ashes; Out-of-hours appointment; Additional medication. Ask for an itemised estimate so quotes can be compared like for like.
What should I check before comparing euthanasia quotes?
Euthanasia prices vary by species, size, location, appointment type, and aftercare choices. These figures should be handled as a planning guide only.

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/euthanasia#quick-answers

National price distribution

Statistics use published prices that passed our comparison and freshness checks. From-prices are counted separately and are not used for the median unless the price is comparable.

Benchmark calculated: 11 Sept 2026

The latest eligible observation is shown separately for each benchmark. Dates vary between species; this is not the date every price was checked. A recently calculated benchmark can include older observations.

BenchmarkLatest eligible observationMedianMiddle 50%RangeComparable pricesFrom/range prices
Any pet11 Sept 2026£158£107 to £200£15 to £8503750 from / 57 range
Dog19 May 2026£196.44£188.1 to £205.2£26.5 to £4004700 from / 40 range
Cat19 May 2026£188.1£182.27 to £205.2£26.5 to £3704670 from / 2 range

Compare euthanasia prices by city

City links are shown where local data has enough comparable observations to be useful. For smaller samples, use the national benchmark alongside the local figures.

CityMedianRangeComparable pricesPriced practices
HerefordAny pet£50£50 to £5537
ChelmsfordAny pet£85.27£20 to £105416
LiverpoolAny pet£117.5£60 to £175225
AberdeenDog£121.5£121.5 to £121.5419
ColchesterAny pet£124£124 to £124213
HuntingdonAny pet£125£125 to £12538
StaffordAny pet£137.54£107.63 to £137.5438
YorkAny pet£144£78 to £144324
HullAny pet£144£117.35 to £250314
SwanseaAny pet£155£150 to £160213
RochesterAny pet£160£160 to £20034
BasingstokeDog£171£171 to £196.65310
Newton AbbotAny pet£175£81.95 to £345311
Melton MowbrayAny pet£176£58 to £29426
BathDog£176.89£174.23 to £196.65410
BirminghamAny pet£177.5£120 to £200429
GlasgowAny pet£182£15 to £2501348
LondonAny pet£184£30 to £29423190
CardiffDog£184.68£184.68 to £184.68216
Stoke-on-TrentDog£188.1£182.53 to £188.1625
DoncasterDog£188.1£188.1 to £217.17517
TelfordDog£188.1£188.1 to £188.1614
SheffieldDog£188.1£182.53 to £188.1422
Newcastle Upon TyneDog£188.1£188 to £205.2421
RotherhamDog£188.1£188.1 to £196.4449
WarringtonDog£188.1£97.8 to £188.1317
SloughDog£190£190 to £323.459
ExeterAny pet£195£81.95 to £450617
GloucesterAny pet£195£150 to £195418
LeicesterAny pet£195£90 to £294614
LeedsAny pet£195£100 to £195534
NottinghamDog£196.44£188.1 to £2601139
BristolDog£196.65£179.55 to £196.651046
ManchesterDog£196.65£188.1 to £2101040
ReadingDog£196.65£196.65 to £300719
PortsmouthDog£196.65£196.44 to £196.6549
BarnstapleDog£196.65£179.55 to £196.6538
PaigntonDog£196.65£196.65 to £196.6535
SouthamptonDog£198.4£188.1 to £205.2722
CamdenAny pet£200.5£184 to £200.5511

What is usually included

  • Appointment and clinical procedure where stated
  • Basic professional time
  • Advice on aftercare options

What may be extra

  • Cremation
  • Home visit
  • Return of ashes
  • Out-of-hours appointment
  • Additional medication

Questions that make euthanasia quotes comparable

Ask the practice to confirm the same package boundaries before comparing the displayed prices.

  • Does the price include the appointment as well as the procedure?Some primary tariffs explicitly include the appointment.
  • Is this an in-practice, home-visit or out-of-hours price?Location and timing can be separate charges.
  • Are communal cremation, individual cremation and return of ashes priced separately?The CMA treats the procedure and the two cremation choices as separate line items.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026); University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).

Euthanasia costs explained

Saying goodbye to a pet is difficult, and understanding the likely costs in advance can remove one source of stress at a hard time. This guide covers the practical and cost side only, so you know what the figures above tend to include.

What does the euthanasia price usually include?

The price usually covers the procedure itself and the vet's time. Whether it takes place at the practice or at home can change the total, as a home visit often carries an additional call-out charge for the travel and time involved.

Aftercare is frequently a separate consideration rather than part of the basic fee. Options such as individual or communal cremation are commonly priced on their own, and practices can talk you through them quietly and without pressure.

There is no need to settle everything in a single conversation. It is perfectly reasonable to ask for the choices and their costs to be explained gently, so you can decide what feels right for you and your pet.

Why do euthanasia prices vary?

Location affects the cost, with practices in higher-cost areas generally charging more than those in lower-cost regions, and home visits adding to the fee where distance and travel time are involved.

The size of the pet can influence the price in some cases, and cremation costs in particular often reflect size. Whether a practice is part of a corporate group or independently owned may also make a difference, without either being reliably cheaper than the other.

For many owners, the aftercare choices are the main driver of the overall total, so it helps to understand how each option is priced rather than looking at the procedure fee on its own.

Questions to ask about euthanasia

Gentle, practical questions can help you plan ahead. You might ask: Is this available at home as well as at the practice, and is there an extra charge for a home visit? What aftercare options are there, and how are individual and communal cremation priced?

It can also help to ask: If I choose individual cremation, are ashes returned, and is that included in the price? Are there any additional fees I should be aware of? These questions let you understand the median and range shown above on this page.

Ways to manage euthanasia costs

Some pet insurance policies contribute towards end-of-life costs, and some practice health plans include an element of this, so it is worth checking what cover you already have. Practices are often willing to discuss payment arrangements, and it is entirely reasonable to ask.

Charities such as the PDSA or RSPCA may be able to help owners who meet their eligibility criteria, which are typically means-tested. Support varies by area, so you can ask locally about what might be available to you.

There is no obligation to settle everything at once, and asking about the likely costs calmly and in advance can make a difficult moment a little easier to plan for.

This guide covers costs and questions to ask — it is not veterinary advice.

Get an email when euthanasia prices change

We check prices regularly. Leave your email and we will let you know when this benchmark is next updated.

We store your email only to send this alert, never resell it, and you can ask us to remove it at any time. See our privacy notice.

Methodology

This guide uses source-backed current prices from the CompareVetPricing dataset snapshot dated 2026-09-11. Prices must be publishable and quality-checked before they are used in medians or ranges. Prices can change, clinical recommendations vary, and this page is a comparison aid rather than a quote.