Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
Dogs Trust lists £300 for a puppy or adult dog in England, Wales and Scotland (£287.50 in Northern Ireland). Battersea lists £100 for a cat over six months and £130 for a younger kitten. These are charity-specific fees, not a national adoption tariff.
Official charity pages checked 10 September 2026. A listed fee does not establish availability or mean an animal is a suitable match. Inclusions and individual arrangements should be confirmed with the rescue.
Find selected rescue centres and published fees
Compare four dog-fee and three cat-fee examples in selected localities. These are fee examples, not seven distinct charities or premises: Battersea London appears separately for dogs and cats, and Trafford is a volunteer branch. Separate official cat-discovery links cover wider areas. This is not a live animal listing, a complete rescue directory, or a claim that an application, appointment or match is available.
7 selected fee examples; 2 wider-area official discovery resources
Manchester · Denton · M34 · Dog fees
Dogs Trust Manchester
- Puppy adoption fee: £300
- Adult dog adoption fee: £300
Browsing shown as 12 noon–4pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday; Wednesday and Friday mornings are by appointment only.
The fee is organisation-wide across England, Wales and Scotland, not a centre-specific quote or an available-dog listing. Dogs Trust says matching may require repeat visits.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
Glasgow · Glasgow · G71 · Dog fees
Dogs Trust Glasgow
- Puppy adoption fee: £300
- Adult dog adoption fee: £300
Browsing shown as 12 noon–4pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday; Wednesday and Friday mornings are by appointment only.
The fee is organisation-wide across England, Wales and Scotland, not a centre-specific quote or an available-dog listing. Dogs Trust says matching may require repeat visits.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
Glasgow · Cardonald · G52 · Dog fees
Scottish SPCA Glasgow
- Puppy adoption fee: £400
- Dog under 8 years: £300
- Dog over 8 years: £250
The source does not state which band applies at exactly 8 years.
Use the organisation’s application process; this comparison does not claim walk-in animal viewing or current availability.
Scottish SPCA says an application can be made through reception, but meeting an animal is by appointment after approval, home checking and matching.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
London · Battersea · SW8 · Dog fees
Battersea London
- Dog over 6 months: £230
- Dog under 6 months: £275
- Pair of dogs: £350
The source does not state which band applies at exactly 6 months.
The centre page says it is closed to general public visits except pre-booked appointments and tours.
These are published dog rehoming fees, not confirmation that a dog is available or that an application will be approved.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
London · Battersea · SW8 · Cat fees
Battersea London
- Cat over 6 months: £100
- Kitten under 6 months: £130
- Pair of cats: £180
- Pair of kittens: £225
The source does not state which band applies at exactly 6 months.
London visits are by pre-booked appointment or tour, not general walk-in viewing. This is the same physical centre as the dog-fee example.
Organisation-wide fees, not a London-specific quote or cat availability. Register interest with Battersea; registration does not reserve a named animal.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
Sheffield · Sheffield · S10 · Cat fees
The Sheffield Cats Shelter
- One cat: £150
- Bonded pair of cats: £275
1 Travis Place, Sheffield S10 2DB. Do not visit without booking confirmation; potential matches are met by invitation.
Apply online with the requested supporting information and home photos. Naming a cat does not reserve it. An additional donation is optional, not part of these fees; no kitten-specific fee is inferred.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
Manchester · Trafford, Greater Manchester · Cat fees
Cats Protection Trafford
- Adult cat aged 6 months and over: £75
- Kitten: £95
Service-area postcodes: M17, M31, M32, M33, M41, WA13, WA14 and WA15. These are not a visitor address.
Volunteer branch: no public walk-in premises or street address was verified. Enquire through the charity listing or homing contact.
These are Trafford branch fees, not all Manchester or all Cats Protection fees. The homing officer discusses matching if able to help; no current inventory, guaranteed response or appointment is implied.
Sources checked 11 September 2026
Official cat listings: wider-area resources
These links are not narrowed by the locality selector. Check location, current listing status and the organisation’s process on its own website.
Organisation-wide gallery, not a London-only listing
Profiles may include reserved cats. Registration and matching are handled by Battersea; a listed cat is not a guaranteed available match.
Discovery link checked 11 September 2026; not a fee or availability check.
Official UK-postcode search, not a single local centre
Enter your postcode on Cats Protection’s website to view its local listings. CVP does not collect a postcode here or copy animal availability. Local adoption fees and matching requirements must be confirmed with the organisation.
Discovery link checked 11 September 2026; not a fee or availability check.
One breed-specific rescue fee example
North of England Siamese Rescue: Siamese and Oriental cats
- Cat under 5 years: £250
- Cat over 5 years: £150
Provider states cats are spayed or neutered, microchipped and vaccinated, with treatment they need when entering rescue.
Sheffield-based; provider states rehoming is limited to a 50-mile radius. The source says under 5 and over 5, so confirm the fee for a cat exactly 5 years old. Fees are non-refundable. The provider requires a letter from the applicant’s vet instead of a home check. Published fees do not mean a Siamese cat, application or match is currently available.
Breed rescue fee sourceSource checked 11 September 2026
British Shorthair and Russian Blue rescue adoption fees remain unknown
No comparable current breed-specific UK rescue fee was verified for these breeds. Use the discovery links without treating a breed label as a fee or live-availability promise.
Jerry Green and selected RSPCA branch adoption fees
Fees vary by organisation, branch, species and age. These named examples are not a national average, a cheapest-rescue ranking or a live list of animals. A listed fee does not confirm an available animal, appointment or approved match.
12 published fee categories from 3 selected organisations or branches; includes individually quoted fees where no amount is published.
Jerry Green Dog Rescue
- DogDog over 20 weeks: £385
- DogPuppy up to 20 weeks: Ask the organisation for the fee
Jerry Green says the fee contributes towards microchipping, vaccination and care. Ask for the individual dog’s completed-care record.
Meet & Match is appointment-only, with no general kennel viewing. Finalising adoption includes a contract, microchip transfer and the agreed fee.
Puppy fees vary and are discussed with successful applicants. No puppy amount is published, and no tariff effective date is stated. Adoption refund terms were not established; the FAQ’s boarding cancellation policy is not an adoption policy.
Published fees and adoption processSource checked 11 September 2026; this is not the tariff’s effective date or an availability check.
RSPCA Cheshire (Altrincham) Branch
- DogAdult dog: £200
- DogPuppy up to and including 6 months: £250
- CatCat: £85
Tariff effective from 27 March 2023
- CatKitten: £95
Tariff effective from 27 March 2023
- CatCat over 12 years: £60
Tariff effective from 27 March 2023
The branch lists neutering, microchipping and vaccinations where appropriate; dog fees also list flea treatment. Confirm completed and outstanding care for the animal.
Contact the branch, arrange its home visit and then agree collection and records. Refunds are exceptional and at the branch’s discretion.
The cat tariff states an effective date of 27 March 2023; checking it in 2026 does not make it a new tariff. The kitten age threshold and band at exactly 12 years are not explicitly stated. No dog tariff effective date is given.
Published fees and adoption processSource checked 11 September 2026; this is not the tariff’s effective date or an availability check.
RSPCA Leeds, Wakefield and District Branch
- CatAdult cat: From £125
- CatKitten up to 6 months: From £150
- DogSenior dog 7+ years: From £250
- DogAdult dog: From £325
- DogPuppy up to 6 months: From £375
The branch says fees contribute towards neutering, vaccination, parasite treatment, microchipping, veterinary checks and post-adoption support. This is not confirmation every item has already been completed.
Application approval precedes appointment-only viewing. A reservation follows a meet and greet and requires a deposit.
All amounts are starting fees, not fixed quotes. Deposit amount, refund or deduction terms and tariff effective date were not established. Confirm the applicable age band and final fee with the branch.
Published fees and adoption processSource checked 11 September 2026; this is not the tariff’s effective date or an availability check.
Ask what has already been completed, what is covered by a voucher and what remains payable. Record only outstanding costs in your adoption budget below; do not add the same care twice.
Published adoption fee examples
| Organisation | Animal / condition | Fee |
|---|---|---|
| OrganisationDogs Trust | Animal / conditionDog or puppy, England/Wales/Scotland | Fee£300Sources: Dogs Trust |
| OrganisationDogs Trust | Animal / conditionDog or puppy, Northern Ireland | Fee£287.50; dog licence separately requiredSources: Dogs Trust |
| OrganisationBattersea | Animal / conditionCat over six months / kitten under six months | Fee£100 / £130Sources: Battersea |
| OrganisationBattersea | Animal / conditionPair of cats / pair of kittens | Fee£180 / £225Sources: Battersea |
| OrganisationCats Protection | Animal / conditionAdult cat / kitten; local fees vary | FeeIndicative £80–£120 / £100–£120Sources: Cats Protection |
Species, age, household and local terms differ. This table is not a ranking of rescues or the value of individual animals.
Adoption inclusion and payment ledger
| Item | Rescue evidence to retain | Household budget treatment |
|---|---|---|
| ItemVaccination already given | Rescue evidence to retainDated record and remaining appointments | Household budget treatmentCount completed care once; quote anything still due |
| ItemNeutering voucher | Rescue evidence to retainNamed practice, covered procedure and expiry | Household budget treatmentDo not assume all future related costs are covered |
| ItemMicrochip | Rescue evidence to retainRegistration and transfer instructions | Household budget treatmentAdd only any actual transfer charge |
| ItemKnown ongoing care | Rescue evidence to retainWritten medical history and agreed payer | Household budget treatmentSeparate from one-off adoption payment |
| ItemPair fee | Rescue evidence to retainTotal fee and each animal’s records | Household budget treatmentDo not halve each animal’s recurring care |
An inclusion checklist, not a promise that every rescue supplies every item.
More published dog adoption fee structures
| Rescue / area | Dog fee structure | Stated inclusions or limits |
|---|---|---|
| Rescue / areaScottish SPCA / Scotland | Dog fee structurePuppy £400; under 8 £300; over 8 £250 | Stated inclusions or limitsHealth check, vaccinations, neutering, microchipping, four weeks’ insurance, support/advice. Ask the rescue about a dog exactly 8 years old.Sources: Scottish SPCA |
| Rescue / areaWoodgreen / Cambridgeshire | Dog fee structureSingle dog £285; pair £400 | Stated inclusions or limitsNeutering if required, first vaccinations, flea/worm treatment, microchip, four weeks’ insurance and safety bundleSources: Woodgreen Pets Charity |
| Rescue / areaHope Rescue / South Wales | Dog fee structureDog £275; puppy £350 | Stated inclusions or limitsPublished fees, not labelled “from” or minimum on the page; it describes a contribution to care costs and does not list completed-care inclusionsSources: Hope Rescue |
| Rescue / areaRSPCA Hillingdon, Slough, Windsor, Kingston & District Branch | Dog fee structureDog from £400; puppy from £450 | Stated inclusions or limitsNeutering, microchip, flea/worm treatment, vaccinations and vet checkSources: RSPCA Hillingdon, Slough, Windsor, Kingston & District Branch |
Observed 10 September 2026. The RSPCA row is this named local branch’s minimum tariff, not a national RSPCA fee. “From” fees and rescue matching processes can change the final arrangement.
Avoid buying the same first-year care twice
Constructed example: a £300 adoption payment, £200 setup and £100 monthly ongoing allowance total £1,700. Adding a £90 vaccination allowance that is already fully covered would incorrectly raise that to £1,790. If a future appointment is not covered, keep its actual quote in the budget instead.
Ask the rescue to mark completed, voucher-funded and outstanding care separately before collecting the pet. Keep a separate list of equipment you already own and equipment that must fit the individual animal; the adoption fee itself does not indicate that total.
Check which first-year costs have already been covered
Ask for the vaccination record, microchip transfer instructions and neutering status. If a future treatment voucher is provided, ask which practice accepts it, any expiry date and whether there is anything to pay. Do not add a full private-price treatment to your budget if the rescue has already covered it.
Cats Protection describes vaccination, microchipping and neutering arrangements as part of adoption, including a voucher for a young kitten's later neutering. Confirm your particular animal's record rather than assuming every appointment is finished.
Sources: Cats ProtectionSeparate the arrival budget from recurring spending
Constructed example: a £300 adoption fee, £200 of initial equipment and an assumed £100/month of ongoing costs total £1,700 in year one, before any omitted veterinary treatment or other extras. The £200 and £100 are editable planning assumptions, not measured costs of a rescued dog.
List food, litter where relevant, grooming, walking or holiday care and vet care separately. The purpose is to reveal recurring commitments; a low adoption fee cannot make those disappear.
A pair discount does not halve care costs
Battersea's listed pair fee is lower than two separate single-cat fees. Most recurring costs still need to account for two animals, and each may have different dietary or veterinary needs. Shared equipment can reduce some setup spending, but do not assume every item can be shared.
Sources: BatterseaPrioritise the matching and support arrangements
Ask about known medical needs, behaviour, compatibility with your home and the support offered after adoption. Seek a written understanding of any continuing treatment and who pays for it. This is more valuable than choosing between rescues on a small fee difference.
A listing is not a promise of adoption. Allow time for the organisation's process and buy size-specific equipment after the match is agreed. If your new pet becomes unwell, contact a vet and the rescue promptly rather than waiting for a planned check-up.
Use the rescue’s own fee structure and care record
These rows show why age, a bonded pair and the named rescue’s location matter. They are not a cheapest-rescue comparison and do not indicate which animals are currently available.
Ask the rescue for the individual animal’s completed-care record and any future appointment or transfer steps. Hope Rescue’s page does not enumerate completed-care items, so none are assumed here.
Sources: Scottish SPCA · Woodgreen Pets Charity · Hope Rescue · RSPCA Hillingdon, Slough, Windsor, Kingston & District BranchBuild an itemised ownership budget
Enter each basket total once. Separate initial setup, recurring spending and services already included in an adoption fee or plan.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
These are your planning inputs, not measured lifetime costs. Keep routine bills separate from uncertain veterinary contingencies; do not assume savings by omitting appropriate care.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: £200 setup plus £50 a month for 12 months and £100 other services totals £900.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- How to adopt: feesDogs Trust · Checked 10 September 2026
- Cat rehoming FAQsBattersea · Checked 10 September 2026
- Adoption fees and included careCats Protection · Checked 10 September 2026
- Adoption feesScottish SPCA · Checked 10 September 2026
- Dog FAQs: adoption costs and processWoodgreen Pets Charity · Checked 10 September 2026
- Adopting a dogHope Rescue · Checked 10 September 2026
- Animal adoption fees as of 17 July 2026RSPCA Hillingdon, Slough, Windsor, Kingston & District Branch · Checked 10 September 2026
- Dogs Trust Manchester: centre and visitsDogs Trust · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dogs Trust Glasgow: centre and visitsDogs Trust · Checked 11 September 2026
- Scottish SPCA Glasgow: centre and visitsScottish SPCA · Checked 11 September 2026
- Scottish SPCA: adoption processScottish SPCA · Checked 11 September 2026
- Battersea London: centre and visitsBattersea · Checked 11 September 2026
- Battersea: adoption processBattersea · Checked 11 September 2026
- The Sheffield Cats Shelter: centre and visitsThe Sheffield Cats Shelter · Checked 11 September 2026
- The Sheffield Cats Shelter: adoption processThe Sheffield Cats Shelter · Checked 11 September 2026
- Cats Protection Trafford: centre and visitsCats Protection · Checked 11 September 2026