Pet costs · Editorial review 10 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
Provider examples include £49 for a 10–12-hour sit and £55 for a 24-hour sit. They are local tariffs, not a national average.
Three primary provider price pages checked 10 September 2026; no quality or availability assessment.
Keep the booked presence visible
| Provider/service | Price | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Provider/servicePitter Patter dog sit | Price£49 | Scope10–12 hours; not automatically a full daySources: Pitter Patter Pet Care |
| Provider/servicePoochie Pathways one dog | Price£55 | ScopePer 24 hours; one-hour walk listed as includedSources: Poochie Pathways |
| Provider/servicePaws & Quarters small/large dog | Price£55 / £65 | ScopePer night; weight bands, additional-pet and deposit termsSources: Paws & Quarters |
Define arrival, departure and absence
Ask how many hours the sitter will be present, how long the dog may be left, and whether walks, travel or household tasks are included. Price the actual dates and any weekend supplement.
Compare the same duration
Pitter Patter’s £49 example covers 10–12 hours, while Poochie Pathways lists £55 per 24 hours. A nightly label alone does not establish the same amount of presence, so compare the written start, finish and absence terms.
Sources: Pitter Patter Pet Care · Poochie PathwaysSeparate care in your home from boarding
Confirm whether the sitter stays in your home or the dog stays elsewhere, who supplies food, and whether walks and travel are included. These choices describe different services even where the headline price is similar.
Sources: Poochie Pathways · Paws & QuartersPrice dated extras explicitly
Poochie Pathways lists £20 for a second or subsequent dog and a £5 supplement on Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays. Paws & Quarters lists £10 for an additional pet, a 25% deposit and a possible Christmas or New Year surcharge. Recheck these terms for the exact dates before booking.
Sources: Poochie Pathways · Paws & QuartersShow the booking arithmetic
Seven 24-hour units at Poochie Pathways’ listed £55 rate would be 7 × £55 = £385 before any applicable supplement or additional-dog charge. This is provider-specific arithmetic, not a national weekly price.
Sources: Poochie PathwaysPaying a friend for dog sitting?
There is no friend-payment rate measured by this dataset. Agree the stay’s scope and payment directly, including presence, walks and expenses. Professional tariffs are not a recommended amount to pay a friend. Choose the informal arrangement below to add up your agreement.
Calculate the booked sitting cost
Use the provider’s actual charging unit: visit, specified overnight period or 24 hours. Enter separately billed time and supplements only when they are not already included.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
A night is not automatically 24 hours. Agree presence, absences, walks and collection times before comparing totals. Do not add a deposit again when it is credited to the bill.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: three booked units at £50 plus a £15 supplement total £165; duration and prices are your inputs.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Compare published sitter price menus
These are selected named examples, not a directory, national average, recommendation or live availability search. Match the service, duration and number of pets before comparing amounts.
The maximum filters the displayed base line item only. It is not a trip budget: extra pets, multiple visits, VAT and date surcharges can change the total.
13 tariffs shown
| Provider and region | Service and duration | Pet scope | Published price | Terms and source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paws & QuartersLondon | In-home overnight — dog under 10kgOne night | One dog under 10kg | £55 per night | VAT included. Each additional pet is £10 per night; a 25% deposit applies. Christmas and New Year may attract a surcharge.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Paws & QuartersLondon | In-home overnight — dog over 10kgOne night | One dog over 10kg | £65 per night | VAT included. Each additional pet is £10 per night; a 25% deposit applies. Christmas and New Year may attract a surcharge.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| The Pets FriendFrampton Cotterell and North Bristol | Pet or puppy visit30 minutes | Pet count not stated | £15 per visit | An extra cat is £1. Bank holidays are charged at double rate. The separately listed overnight service is dog boarding, so it is not included here as house sitting.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | House sitting24 hours | Up to two dogs or cats | From £40 per 24 hours | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | Home drop-in — one visit a dayVisit duration not stated | Pet count not stated | £10 per day | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 1to1 PetsittingMid Glamorgan, Wales | Home drop-in — two visits a dayVisit duration not stated | Pet count not stated | £18 per day | Three visits in one day cost £24 in total. Each additional dog or cat on a house sit is £3; Easter, Christmas and bank-holiday prices are higher.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Furry AdventuresBrighton, Hove, Worthing and the Sussex coast | In-home drop-inFirst hour | Up to two pets | £25 first hour | Further consecutive hours are £12.50, capped at £75 up to six hours. Extra visit pets are £5 each; an additional dog overnight is £10. Published holiday multipliers apply.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Furry AdventuresBrighton, Hove, Worthing and the Sussex coast | In-home overnight7pm to 7am | Base pet count not stated | £50 per night | Further consecutive hours are £12.50, capped at £75 up to six hours. Extra visit pets are £5 each; an additional dog overnight is £10. Published holiday multipliers apply.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Home visit15 minutes | Pet count not stated | From £12.50 per visit | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Home visit30 minutes | Pet count not stated | £15.50 per visit | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| First For PetsLichfield and surrounding areas | Overnight pet and house sitting8pm to 10am | Pet count not stated | £67 per nightVAT not included | The page also lists 45- and 60-minute visits. Its house-sitting panel says those fees exclude VAT. Out-of-hours visits cost extra.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| Strutts for MuttsYork and Strensall | House sittingOne day; hours not stated | Base pet count not stated | £45 per day | An additional house-sit pet is £5. Visits before 9am or after 5pm add £5; Christmas and bank-holiday services are double.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
| 4 Paws Pet CareService area not stated on the tariff page | Pet sitting over two hoursFirst hour of a sit over two hours | Pet count not stated | £14 first hour | The provider labels this its 2026 price list; confirm current charges. Consecutive hours after the first are £10.Provider price sourceChecked 10 September 2026; confirm the current menu directly. |
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Services and pricingPitter Patter Pet Care · Checked 10 September 2026
- PricesPoochie Pathways · Checked 10 September 2026
- London pet-sitting pricesPaws & Quarters · Checked 10 September 2026