CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Compare Vet Pricing

Rabbit costs UK: ownership, vaccination and neutering prices

Rabbit ownership needs a household budget for suitable accommodation and ongoing care. A purchase price or the cost of a small hutch does not describe that commitment.

Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team

Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.

Jump to a comparison, calculator or source

At a glance

PDSA's costs, last calculated in 2024, put the minimum monthly budget for a pair at £80 indoors or £84 outdoors. These are historical planning estimates for two rabbits, not current 2026 prices or per-rabbit figures.

PDSA and RSPCA source pages checked 10 September 2026. PDSA's calculation date remains 2024. This guide does not apply an invented inflation uplift or present those assumptions as CVP observations. The separate rabbit nail-clipping examples were checked on 11 September 2026; this does not update PDSA's 2024 budget calculation. The separate rabbit vaccination and neutering tariff examples were source-checked on 11 September 2026; earlier sources and calculation dates are unchanged.

PDSA's 2024 minimum estimates: a pair of rabbits

PDSA's 2024 minimum estimates: a pair of rabbits
SettingInitial setupMonthlyTwelve months at that rate
SettingIndoor pairInitial setup£980Monthly£80Twelve months at that rate£960Sources: PDSA
SettingOutdoor pairInitial setup£922Monthly£84Twelve months at that rate£1,008Sources: PDSA

Last calculated by PDSA in 2024. Acquisition cost is excluded from setup; veterinary costs beyond neutering and vaccination are excluded from its overall estimates. Annual column is CVP arithmetic, not a new survey.

Current component examples alongside the historical pair budget

Current component examples alongside the historical pair budget
Exact Burgess direct productOne-time listed priceUnit cost before delivery
Exact Burgess direct productExcel Long Stem Timothy Feeding Hay, 1kgOne-time listed price£8.99Unit cost before delivery£8.99/kgSources: Burgess Pet Care
Exact Burgess direct productExcel Timothy Hay Box, 4.5kgOne-time listed price£21.49Unit cost before delivery£4.78/kg, roundedSources: Burgess Pet Care
Exact Burgess direct productExcel Meadow Hay Box, 4.5kgOne-time listed price£20.29Unit cost before delivery£4.51/kg, roundedSources: Burgess Pet Care
Exact Burgess direct productExcel Adult Rabbit Nuggets with Mint, 1.5kgOne-time listed price£7.49Unit cost before delivery£4.99/kg, roundedSources: Burgess Pet Care

Observed 10 September 2026. Different products, not a nutritional ranking. Quantity used, housing, bedding and veterinary quotes are still needed for a current pair total; delivery is separate.

Rabbit nail-clipping prices: two named practice examples

Rabbit nail-clipping prices: two named practice examples
ProviderPublished serviceListed feeWhat to check
ProviderHill Park VetsPublished serviceRabbit or other small-mammal nail clip with a veterinary nurseListed fee£12.24What to checkVAT included. Sunday appointments have a separate £10 surcharge. Confirm any additional appointment charges.Sources: Hill Park Vets
ProviderTwo Counties VetsPublished serviceRabbit nail clippingListed fee£15What to checkVAT treatment and whether a separate consultation is needed were not stated. The separately listed £27 nurse consultation is not automatically added to this fee.Sources: Two Counties Vets

Price sources checked 11 September 2026. These are two practice-specific fees, not a national average or a recommendation about how often a rabbit needs nail clipping. Tariff effective dates were not stated. Confirm the full appointment total with the practice.

Rabbit vaccination and neutering prices: three practice examples

Rabbit vaccination and neutering prices: three practice examples
PracticeRabbit vaccinationMale rabbit castrationFemale rabbit spayPrice basis and inclusions
PracticeFerguson Veterinary ClinicRabbit vaccination£75: health check and vaccination for myxomatosis, RHD1 and RHD2Male rabbit castration£140Female rabbit spay£200Price basis and inclusionsVAT included; price list covers January–December 2026. Surgical inclusions are not itemised: request the full estimate.Sources: Ferguson Veterinary Clinic
PracticeRoker Park Vets, SunderlandRabbit vaccination£69: listed rabbit vaccinationMale rabbit castration£190Female rabbit spay£205Price basis and inclusionsStandard prices, VAT included; tariff updated April 2026. Routine operation prices include general anaesthesia, surgery and three days of postoperative pain relief. Confirm other charges.Sources: Roker Park Vets
PracticePet Vet, SouthamptonRabbit vaccination£99.62: listed combined myxomatosis/RHD1/RHD2 vaccinationMale rabbit castration£160Female rabbit spay£190Price basis and inclusionsTariff effective date, VAT treatment and surgical inclusions are not stated on the inspected price page. Its separate dog preoperative fee is not a rabbit fee. Confirm the rabbit appointment total.Sources: Pet Vet, Southampton

Price sources checked 11 September 2026. Fees are per rabbit, not for a pair. These three named practice menus are not a UK average or an overall affordability ranking. A health check is explicit in Ferguson’s vaccination entry; do not assume identical inclusions elsewhere. The vet decides the appropriate care and timing.

Rabbit euthanasia and aftercare: three practice tariffs

Rabbit euthanasia and aftercare: three practice tariffs
PracticePublished euthanasia feeConsultation and sedation/GAWeight and VATAftercare kept separate
PracticeRoker Park Vets, SunderlandPublished euthanasia fee£54 standard feeConsultation and sedation/GAA £34.50 rabbit consultation and £80 pre-euthanasia sedation if required are listed separately; the tariff does not say the consultation is required or included.Weight and VATNo rabbit weight band; listed prices include VAT at 20%.Aftercare kept separateCommunal cat/rabbit cremation £53 without ashes. Individual options start at £183; hair clipping and paw print have no additional charge.Sources: Roker Park Vets
PracticeOrigin Vets Clinic, CardiffPublished euthanasia fee£69 in its rabbit/exotics tariffConsultation and sedation/GASedation is included. First, follow-up and referral consultations are listed separately, but the page does not say one is added.Weight and VATNo rabbit weight band; VAT treatment is not stated.Aftercare kept separateRabbit communal cremation £60. Private cremation £98.32–£163.20 depending on casket.Sources: Origin Vets Clinic
PracticePet Repair Vets, BarnsleyPublished euthanasia fee£120 for a rabbit, ferret or guinea pigConsultation and sedation/GAFoam paw print, consultation and general anaesthesia if required are included.Weight and VATNo rabbit weight band; VAT registration is shown but inclusion in displayed prices is not stated.Aftercare kept separateCommunal cremation £80. Individual rabbit-group cremation starts at £115 with a scatter box; other containers change the price.Sources: Pet Repair Vets

Sources checked 11 September 2026. These tariffs have different scopes and are not a UK average or universal all-in price. If a rabbit may be suffering, contact a vet promptly rather than delaying care to compare prices.

Replace components without pretending the whole 2024 basket is current

Track purchased quantity and how long it actually lasts for your pair, including wastage. Do not infer how much to feed from a unit-price table. Price current housing, floor/weather protection, bedding, transport and routine veterinary care separately, then keep a replacement allowance for items with a limited life.

Burgess advertises free UK-mainland delivery on orders over £30. Its subscription page gives inconsistent percentage discounts between product cards and FAQs, so the table uses listed one-time prices without an assumed subscription saving. Confirm the final delivered basket. The older PDSA total is retained as historical context, not recalculated from these few components.

Sources: Burgess Pet Care · Burgess Pet Care

Keep the denominator as two rabbits

PDSA bases its budget on a pair. Do not read £80 as the cost of a single rabbit and then double it, or divide the housing allowance by two and assume one animal needs half the space. RSPCA recommends compatible rabbit company and an appropriate shared environment.

Sources: PDSA · RSPCA

Price suitable housing before comparing equipment

RSPCA recommends a space of at least 3m by 2m and 1m high for two medium-sized rabbits, including shelter and exercise space. Use those requirements when comparing enclosures rather than selecting the smallest product sold as a rabbit home.

Add the practical costs of making the chosen space secure, weather-appropriate and usable. Ask whether quoted outdoor housing includes the run, secure fixings and delivery; an indoor pen may need floor protection and changes to the room.

Sources: RSPCA

Turn the older estimate into your own current budget

Obtain today's quotes for the actual housing, bedding, hay, food and veterinary services you plan to use. Record quantity and expected duration for consumables. Compare cost per week or month rather than the price of differently sized bags.

Constructed sensitivity example: increasing an £80 monthly allowance by an assumed £15 changes the annual budget from £960 to £1,140. That £180 difference is arithmetic, not an estimate of inflation since 2024. Use real quotes to replace the assumption.

Leave room for care and replacement costs

The PDSA estimate is a minimum, not a cap on spending. Ask a rabbit-treating vet about appropriate routine care and separate charges for illness. Include holiday care, transport and replacing worn housing or equipment in your own plan.

A rabbit that may be unwell needs prompt veterinary advice. Do not use a monthly budget target to decide whether to delay assessment. This guide concerns costs and does not prescribe care or treatment.

Check the appointment total for rabbit nail clipping

Use the rabbit-specific service in a price list: a dog or cat clipping fee may be different. Ask whether the quoted amount covers the appointment you need and whether a consultation or other charge applies. Do not assume the two practices above offer identical appointments.

These published fees are separate from the older household-budget estimates above. We have not multiplied them into an annual care allowance or assumed a clipping schedule.

Sources: Hill Park Vets · Two Counties Vets

Compare the same rabbit service and the whole appointment

Ask for a rabbit-specific quote and distinguish male castration from female spay. Check whether the estimate includes a preoperative assessment, anaesthesia, medication, follow-up and any additional tests. A separately advertised dog or cat package does not establish the price for a rabbit.

The table gives individual procedure prices, not a recommended treatment schedule. These are separate from PDSA’s older pair-of-rabbits planning estimate above; we have not replaced that historical calculation or added the fees to it automatically.

Sources: Ferguson Veterinary Clinic · Roker Park Vets · Pet Vet, Southampton

Rabbit euthanasia and aftercare: separate fees

Compare the same scope: ask whether the fee includes the appointment, sedation or general anaesthesia, and keep communal or individual cremation separate. A VAT registration number alone does not establish that VAT is included in a displayed fee.

If your rabbit may be suffering or unwell, contact a vet promptly rather than waiting to finish comparing costs. The vet determines the appropriate care; this price information does not advise whether euthanasia is needed.

Sources: Roker Park Vets · Origin Vets Clinic · Pet Repair Vets

Build an itemised ownership budget

Enter each basket total once. Separate initial setup, recurring spending and services already included in an adoption fee or plan.

Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.

Component 1
Component 2
Component 3

These are your planning inputs, not measured lifetime costs. Keep routine bills separate from uncertain veterinary contingencies; do not assume savings by omitting appropriate care.

Worked arithmetic example

Illustration only: £200 setup plus £50 a month for 12 months and £100 other services totals £900.

Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.

Sources and checks

Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.

  1. The cost of owning rabbitsPDSA · Checked 10 September 2026
  2. Creating a good home for rabbitsRSPCA · Checked 10 September 2026
  3. Named hay packs and direct purchase pricesBurgess Pet Care · Checked 10 September 2026
  4. Named rabbit nugget packs and purchase pricesBurgess Pet Care · Checked 10 September 2026
  5. Detailed price listHill Park Vets · Checked 11 September 2026
  6. Published service pricesTwo Counties Vets · Checked 11 September 2026
  7. General practice prices: January–December 2026Ferguson Veterinary Clinic · Checked 11 September 2026
  8. Price list: updated April 2026Roker Park Vets · Checked 11 September 2026
  9. Published service pricesPet Vet, Southampton · Checked 11 September 2026
  10. Rabbit and exotic prices: end-of-life careOrigin Vets Clinic · Checked 11 September 2026
  11. Rabbit and exotic prices: end-of-life carePet Repair Vets · Checked 11 September 2026