Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
Published examples include £195 for individual cremation with ashes returned for a cat up to 5kg at Paws to Rest, £229 at Procare with collection and ashes delivery, and £250.30 with a scatter tube at The Pet Crematoria. These are different packages, not a cheapest-provider ranking.
Three provider lists checked 10 September 2026. The Pet Crematoria marks its tariff as correct from 11 May 2026; our check date does not change that tariff date.
Cat aftercare examples
| Provider | Individual | Communal | Difference to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| ProviderPaws to Rest, cat up to 5kg | Individual£195 | Communal£46 | Difference to checkCommunal price for pet brought to themSources: Paws to Rest |
| ProviderProcare | Individual£229 | Communal£149 | Difference to checkCollection listed for both; ashes delivery for individualSources: Procare Pet Cremations |
| ProviderThe Pet Crematoria | Individual£250.30 | Communal£122.30 | Difference to checkIndividual service with scatter tube; confirm transportSources: The Pet Crematoria |
Cat-specific arrangements to record
| Decision | What to confirm | Why the total can change |
|---|---|---|
| DecisionCat up to or above 5kg | What to confirmActual provider band for the recorded weight | Why the total can changeThe listed Paws to Rest example is explicitly up to 5kgSources: Paws to Rest |
| DecisionCollection location | What to confirmHome address versus your veterinary practice | Why the total can changeTransport or practice handling may be additional |
| DecisionAshes container | What to confirmScatter tube/basic container or chosen urn | Why the total can changeA displayed premium urn may be optional |
| DecisionKeepsake request | What to confirmFur clipping/paw impression deadline and charge | Why the total can changeSome instructions must reach the provider before cremation |
This is a cat aftercare worksheet, not a dog weight-band table relabelled for cats.
Named regional cat cremation packages
| Provider / area | Published cat package | Return container, VAT and additions |
|---|---|---|
| Provider / areaPenwith / Cornwall | Published cat packageCat up to 6kg £161.04 | Return container, VAT and additionsIndividual cremation with ashes in a scatter pouch/tube; casket option £174.90. Its page does not state an effective date.Sources: Penwith Pet Crematorium |
| Provider / areaYorkshire Pet Crematorium / Leeds | Published cat packageCat/rabbit £150 | Return container, VAT and additionsAll cremations stated individual; ashes returned in scatter box and VAT included. After 6pm £30; Sunday/bank holiday £50.Sources: Yorkshire Pet Crematorium |
| Provider / areaPeaceful Paws / Newtownards | Published cat packageCat scatter tube £191.60; £206.60 with courier return | Return container, VAT and additionsIndividual return package. Bringing a pet directly to one of its sites has an unstated additional charge. Separate communal cat/rabbit £37.50 is not the individual ashes-return package; prices valid from 1 December 2025.Sources: Peaceful Paws |
Each provider defines its own package and return container. The table does not infer collection inclusion, a national price, or an equivalent service from similarly named options.
Optional memorial containers: exact size and inclusion examples
| Container purchase | Listed price and physical size | What is not established by the price |
|---|---|---|
| Container purchaseRainbow Bridge Sleeping Cat resin urn | Listed price and physical size£50; stated 250cc capacity; 17 × 18 × 10cm external size | What is not established by the priceCast polyester resin with screw-cap base. Personalisation is described as both included and optional: confirm it. Delivery and VAT treatment are not established.Sources: Rainbow Bridge Pet Crematoria |
| Container purchaseRainbow Bridge Arun bamboo casket, 150cc, SKU SQ5211989 | Listed price and physical size£40 for this exact 150cc variant | What is not established by the priceBamboo; external dimensions and closure details not established. Engraving/name plates are offered but inclusion and extra price are unclear. Delivery and VAT treatment need confirmation.Sources: Rainbow Bridge Pet Crematoria |
Container sources checked 11 September 2026. These are optional purchases, not cremation or veterinary fees; a basic container may already be included in your service. Ask the crematorium to confirm capacity rather than converting pet body weight into ash volume. No other size inherits the listed price.
Burial and ashes interment: different services and price bases
| Provider and service | Published fee basis | Limitations to resolve before booking |
|---|---|---|
| Provider and serviceBluebell Wood Pet Cemetery, TN33 0PE: burial plan up to 10kg | Published fee basisPrice page £399; first-year maintenance included, then £25 annually if required | Limitations to resolve before bookingIts reservation form still shows £259 for this band: obtain a confirmed written quote. Coffin, collection, VAT, plot-right duration and conditions without maintenance renewal are not established. Do not assume perpetual rights.Sources: Bluebell Wood Pet Cemetery · Bluebell Wood Pet Cemetery |
| Provider and serviceEternal Forest Trust, Boduan: pet ashes within an existing plot | Published fee basis2025 tariff: £65 service charge; separate suggested £80 donation | Limitations to resolve before bookingThe donation is voluntary, not a compulsory £145 fee. This is not a new plot, whole-body burial or cremation. Confirm the dated tariff; marker inclusion, plot tenure, maintenance and VAT are not established.Sources: Eternal Forest Trust |
Sources checked 11 September 2026. Source conflicts and the 2025 tariff are retained, not presented as a current national benchmark. These services are outside the cremation comparison and calculator; request the complete written price for your chosen arrangement.
Compare a basic package before choosing an urn
Constructed example: a £195 individual service plus £40 collection and a £25 optional urn totals £260. The essential service and collection subtotal is £235. Keep those two totals distinct so you can compare a different provider’s basic package without assuming the urn is compulsory.
If arranging collection through a practice, request the crematorium’s name and the practice’s total charge. A difference from the crematorium’s direct list does not by itself show an error: ask which handling, collection or return services are included.
A service price is not always the final bill
Ask for an itemised quote covering collection, storage, cremation, ashes return and the container. If booking through a practice, ask which crematorium will provide the service and whether the practice's own handling charges are included.
The same provider may offer home collection and vet collection on different terms. Confirm the collection address and timing before treating a website price as your final total.
Make your ashes-return instruction explicit
If you want your cat's ashes returned, ask for written confirmation of the individual service and identification process. Communal cremation normally does not return individual ashes. A lower price for that choice is not evidence of worse care; it meets a different preference.
Decide which memorial extras are wanted
A basic container may be enough while you decide what to do with the ashes. Ask about any deadlines for a fur clipping or paw impression before agreeing to a package. Do not assume a displayed urn is included in the headline cremation fee.
Keep optional purchases separate on the quote. That makes it easier for family members to understand the necessary service cost and the keepsakes chosen.
If the loss is unexpected
If you are unsure whether your cat has died or think they may be suffering, contact a vet immediately. Cremation comparisons are not a substitute for urgent veterinary assessment.
If your cat has died, your practice can explain available arrangements and who to contact. Ask when decisions are required, and whether you can nominate someone else to handle the practical details. There is no obligation to buy a more elaborate memorial to show affection.
Compare the exact return option, not just the headline service
Penwith separates scatter pouch/tube and casket return, and Peaceful Paws publishes separate return-container and courier totals. Yorkshire’s published cat/rabbit price includes a scatter box and VAT. Record the provider, container and delivery choice on the quote.
Where a direct-to-site or courier addition is listed, ask which route applies to your arrangements and whether any other handling charge applies. A price without a stated effective date is recorded as observed, not assigned one.
Sources: Penwith Pet Crematorium · Yorkshire Pet Crematorium · Peaceful PawsCheck the complete quoted fee
Use the quote for your pet’s weight and the chosen communal or individual service. Include only extras not already covered.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
Confirm return of ashes, containers, collection area and VAT where applicable. This is a fee checklist, not a quality ranking.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: a £150 service and £30 collection total £180. These amounts are not an estimate for your pet.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Compare published pet-cremation services
This compares aftercare only, not euthanasia or veterinary treatment. If your pet may still be alive or suffering, contact a veterinary practice or emergency veterinary service immediately. Do not delay urgent care to compare cremation prices.
These are named provider examples, not a national average, recommendation or cheapest-provider ranking. Ask for a written total for your pet's exact weight, collection address and chosen ashes container.
23 providers shown
Newport Pet Crematorium
Newport, Shropshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; under 8kg | £175 | Container: Scatter tube included; upgrades available Collection/return: Collection and ashes delivery offered; check displayed charge VAT: included |
Primary page states individual ashes are returned, communal ashes are not, and individual service includes a scatter tube, paw print/fur clipping where possible and certificate.
Prestwood Pet Crematorium
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat or toy dog under 5kg | £190 | Container: Bluebell woodland scatter tube Collection/return: Owner-delivered; collection from £40 VAT: not stated |
Standard individual ashes ready after two working days. Same-day and out-of-hours appointments are separately priced.
Dignity Pet Crematorium
Winchfield, Hampshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat tariff; no weight limit stated in the table | £208 | Container: Bluebell scatter tube included Collection/return: Home collection/return £35 surcharge plus £1.75 per mile VAT: not stated |
Pricing page confirms individual cremation and return of ashes. Same-day £65, attended service £90 and courier return £30 are separate options.
Woodlands Pet Crematorium
Warrington, Cheshire
Published provider tariff
Dated reference tariff 4 June 2025; source checked 10 September 2026
Reference tariff only — confirm the current amount directly.
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed 3kg to 9.9kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £150 | Container: Beech package; confirm ashes vessel Collection/return: Check collection charge VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed 20kg to 29.9kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £210 | Container: Beech package; confirm ashes vessel Collection/return: Check collection charge VAT: not stated |
Council page publishes communal and three individual package tables. The visible page date is retained rather than represented as a 2026 tariff date.
Peace Lilys Pet Crematorium
Wigton, Cumbria
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat or large rabbit | £173 | Container: Scatter tube or pouch Collection/return: Not stated VAT: not stated |
Prices include individual cremation, certificate, chosen listed basic vessel and, where possible, ink paw prints and fur clipping.
Abbey Pets Remembrance Gardens and Crematoria
North Norfolk
Published provider tariff
Dated reference tariff October 2024; source checked 10 September 2026
Reference tariff only — confirm the current amount directly.
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat | £174 | Container: Ashes vessel specified in PDF tariff Collection/return: Check collection charge VAT: not stated |
Dated primary PDF is historical evidence, not an unqualified current-price claim.
Gedling Pet Cremation Services
Nottinghamshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; adult cat | From £130 | Container: Scatter tube included Collection/return: £25 collection and £25 ashes return within Gedling; outside-borough mileage extra VAT: included |
Council page states individual prices range from these starting amounts, communal cremation starts at £35, all prices include VAT, and individual service includes a scatter tube.
Barnshaw Pet Crematorium
Tenterden, Kent and East Sussex
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed up to 10kg, owner delivered. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £155 | Container: Scatter tube or bamboo pouch Collection/return: Owner delivered VAT: included |
Beyond 15 miles, 70p/mile is added; specified London postcode collections add £48.
Cannon Hall Pet Crematorium
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat | £132 | Container: Scatter tube included Collection/return: Collection/delivery £60 VAT: not stated |
Council page states all cremations include a scatter tube; same-day cremation is £50 extra.
Dyfi Pet Cremations
Machynlleth, Powys
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; all breeds | £180 | Container: Bluebell scatter tube; wooden casket +£10 Collection/return: £1/mile outside Machynlleth area VAT: included |
Primary page says ashes are returned and aims for return within a day, subject to vessel availability.
Cheshire Pet Cremation
Stockport, Cheshire and Greater Manchester
Published provider tariff
Tariff effective 7 June 2026; source checked 10 September 2026
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat | From £175 | Container: Choice of resting place Collection/return: Same-day collection included VAT: not stated |
Provider article labels these as starting prices and says individual service includes collection, framed paw print, fur clipping, certificate and ashes return within 24–48 hours.
Farewells Pet Crematorium
Greater Manchester
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat | £90 | Container: Casket priced separately Collection/return: Collection £30–£55; return £20 VAT: not stated |
Primary tariff labels these individual cremations; a return vessel is not included in the base amount.
Springfield Farm Pet Cremation
Greater Manchester
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; all weights | £175 | Container: Bluebell scatter tube Collection/return: Cremation-only tariff; collection separate VAT: included |
Only individual cremations are offered. Woodland-scattering tariffs are different and do not return ashes.
Orchard Pet Cremations
Heath and Reach, Bedfordshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat | £185 | Container: Scatter tube included Collection/return: £20 within 10 miles; further mileage quoted VAT: not stated |
Individual cremation and ashes return in a scatter tube are included; alternative vessels and paw prints cost extra.
Scrappy's Pet Crematorium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed extra small (1kg); source does not state an inequality. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £150 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed small, 1kg to 7kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £180 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed medium, 8kg to 19kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £210 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed large, 20kg to 25kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £250 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed extra large, 26kg to 40kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £300 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed giant, over 40kg. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | £360 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Pet collection and delivery of ashes cost extra; amount not stated VAT: not stated |
The individual-cremation table also offers higher-priced memorial-box and casket packages. These rows retain the comparable scatter-tube column; collection and ashes delivery are separate unpriced additions.
Folly Fields Pet Crematorium
Newark, Nottinghamshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat; no weight band stated | £150 | Container: Biodegradable scatter tube included Collection/return: £15 within 15 miles; £1.40 per mile beyond VAT: included |
All displayed prices include VAT, individual cremation and ashes return in a biodegradable scatter tube. Out-of-hours and weekend collection/delivery is charged at double rate; dogs over 60kg are priced on arrival.
Heavenly Pastures Pet Cremations
Burscough, near Ormskirk, Lancashire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat; scatter-tube guide | Guide £160 | Container: Scatter tube Collection/return: Collection can change the quoted total VAT: included Provider states displayed cremation prices are guidance only. |
The provider calls every displayed amount guidance that may vary with collection and casket requirements. Rows therefore use guide-price treatment; individual casket guides are higher and require an exact quote.
Rainbows Gate at Stretcholt Pet Crematorium
Bridgwater, Somerset and Bristol area
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat; final price depends on requirements | From £200 | Container: Biodegradable scatter tube included Collection/return: Collection available; price on request VAT: included |
Provider page states all cremations are individual, all prices include VAT and a biodegradable scatter tube is included. Same-day service is £30 extra; optional paw print is £15.
Precious Paws Pet Crematorium
Glasgow and Renfrewshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; all cats | £190 | Container: Scatter pouch or scatter tube package Collection/return: Pet collection free within 15 miles; owner collection of ashes free; home return £25 VAT: not stated |
Individual service includes certificate and stated keepsakes. Beyond 15 miles, pet collection and ashes return are separately distance-priced; do not read included local pet collection as included home delivery of ashes.
Bluebell Wood Pet Crematorium
Ystradgynlais, South Wales
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat; no weight band stated | £180 | Container: Urn or casket inclusion not stated Collection/return: Source literally displays collection and ashes return as “0.80p per mile inc VAT”; confirm the intended amount VAT: not stated |
The provider states cremations are individual and ashes are returned. It aims for return within 24–48 hours subject to urn/casket and engraving availability; the ambiguous mileage wording is preserved rather than normalized.
Cherished Companion
Glossop, Derbyshire
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; all cats | £175 | Container: Scatter tube, certificate, paw print and fur clipping Collection/return: Collection or delivery £15 within 20 miles, £20 at 20–30 miles, £35 at 30–40 miles; over 40 miles by quote VAT: not stated |
| Individual cremation Ashes return: not returned cat; all cats; ashes scattered in provider grounds | £145 | Container: No individual ashes returned Collection/return: Collection/delivery charged separately VAT: not stated |
The countryside-scattering option remains individual cremation but does not return ashes; it is not communal cremation. The published base address is Glossop. Distanced collection/delivery, out-of-hours and same-day charges remain separate.
Firtree Pet Crematorium
Sale, Greater Manchester
Published provider tariff
Source checked 11 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed cat; cat; no weight band stated | £145 | Container: Precious jewel pouch and box Collection/return: Home or veterinary collection and ashes return can be arranged for an unstated additional fee VAT: not stated |
Dog tiers are provider breed examples, not weight bands. Classic packages are individual cremation with ashes returned; collection and return fees are not displayed.
CPC Cares
UK network; local branch must be confirmed
Published provider tariff
Source checked 10 September 2026; no tariff effective date stated
| Service and scope | Price | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|
| Individual cremation Ashes return: confirmed individual cremation, network from-price. Shared pet band — ask the provider to confirm it applies to your cat. | From £154 | Container: Memorial choice affects total Collection/return: Local collection terms vary VAT: not stated |
Primary network page displays prices starting from £154 and offers both individual and communal service; this is not a branch-specific quote.
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- 2026 cremation pricesPaws to Rest · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet cremation service pricesProcare Pet Cremations · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet cremation price listThe Pet Crematoria · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet cremation costPenwith Pet Crematorium · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet cremation pricesYorkshire Pet Crematorium · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet cremation pricesPeaceful Paws · Checked 10 September 2026
- Sleeping Cat resin urnRainbow Bridge Pet Crematoria · Checked 11 September 2026
- Arun bamboo casket: 150cc variantRainbow Bridge Pet Crematoria · Checked 11 September 2026
- Burial price plansBluebell Wood Pet Cemetery · Checked 11 September 2026
- Reservation form: conflicting price scheduleBluebell Wood Pet Cemetery · Checked 11 September 2026
- Costs: explicitly dated 2025 tariffEternal Forest Trust · Checked 11 September 2026