Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
For the named September 2026 college intakes, Sandwell lists £3,400 tuition and Derby £3,417. Hound & Co lists £5,500 plus 20% VAT for its iPET diploma and £3,195 plus 20% VAT for its certificate. These are different awards and entry routes, not an all-in national price range. The older Grimsby example is identified separately below.
Four provider pages and the exact Ofqual qualification records were checked on 11 September 2026. Grimsby is retained as a clearly dated 2025/26 reference. Source checks do not establish places, individual centre approval, teaching quality or employment outcomes.
Selected professional course fees and cost boundaries
| Provider and course | Published fee | Duration and course date | Entry requirements | What costs extra or remains unknown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Provider and courseSandwell College, West Bromwich — City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma in Dog Grooming | Published fee£3,400 tuition | Duration and course date35 weeks/one academic year; one full day weekly; start shown as 7 September 2026 | Entry requirementsCity & Guilds 7863-02 Level 2 Certificate required | What costs extra or remains unknownCollege says grooming equipment is provided. Learner buys a tunic. VAT and any separate exam fee are not stated.Sources: Sandwell College · Ofqual |
| Provider and courseDerby College Group, Broomfield Hall — Level 3 City & Guilds Diploma in Dog Grooming | Published fee£3,417 tuition | Duration and course date31 weeks; six hours shown; part time; start shown as 4 September 2026 | Entry requirementsSpecified Level 2 at merit, Maths/English grade D/3+, interview and current salon placement/volunteering | What costs extra or remains unknownLearner supplies four scissor types and a tunic. VAT and any separate assessment fee are not stated.Sources: Derby College Group · Ofqual · Ofqual |
| Provider and courseGrimsby Institute — City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma in Dog Grooming (2025/26 page) | Published fee£3,417 tuition plus £999 exam fee | Duration and course dateCourse facts say 35 weeks; body copy says a two-year programme. Confirm the duration directly. | Entry requirementsPage describes it as progression after Level 2 and includes an application interview | What costs extra or remains unknownHistorical 2025/26 example, not a current 2026/27 offer. Tools and VAT are not stated.Sources: Grimsby Institute · Ofqual |
| Provider and courseHound & Co, London — iPET Network Level 3 Diploma in Dog Grooming and Salon Management | Published fee£5,500 plus 20% VAT (£6,600 tuition including VAT) | Duration and course date25 practical days; qualification total study time is 403 hours; confirm teaching site and full- or part-time arrangement | Entry requirementsNo previous experience stated | What costs extra or remains unknownStarter equipment is advised. Salon-equipment hire has an unstated daily charge; tuition including VAT is not an all-in course budget.Sources: Hound & Co · Ofqual |
| Provider and courseHound & Co, London — iPET Network Level 3 Certificate in Dog Grooming and Introduction to Styling | Published fee£3,195 plus 20% VAT (£3,834 tuition including VAT) | Duration and course date15 days; regulated qualification total study time is 238 hours; confirm teaching site | Entry requirementsNo previous experience stated | What costs extra or remains unknownStarter equipment is advised. Salon-equipment hire has an unstated daily charge. This certificate is not the diploma above.Sources: Hound & Co · Ofqual |
The Sandwell and Derby September 2026 start dates had already arrived at this source check. A listed course or application link does not prove a place remains. Confirm the intake, exact fee, funding, VAT, assessment, resit and equipment position with the provider.
Compare the exact qualification, not just “Level 3”
The City & Guilds diploma, iPET diploma and iPET certificate have different qualification identities and study sizes. The Ofqual records confirm the named regulated awards; they do not verify that an individual course provider is currently an approved centre.
Sources: Ofqual · Ofqual · OfqualKeep attendance days, guided learning and total study time separate
Elapsed weeks and practical attendance days are provider schedules. Total qualification time also includes assessment and other study, so 25 practical days must not be presented as 403 supervised hours. Grimsby’s conflicting 35-week and two-year descriptions need provider confirmation.
Sources: Ofqual · Grimsby InstituteBuild a quote from known components
Record tuition first, then add only explicitly stated VAT, exam, registration, toolkit, uniform, resit and equipment-hire amounts. Unknown extras are not £0. The awarding body’s centre charges are not learner tuition and are not added here.
Sources: Hound & Co · City & GuildsConfirm the intake before paying
The pages were checked for published course details, not remaining places. Sandwell and Derby display starts on 7 and 4 September 2026 respectively, both before this 11 September check. Ask the provider to confirm the next intake, entry evidence, teaching location, payment schedule and cancellation terms.
Sources: Sandwell College · Derby College GroupSources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Level 3 Diploma in Dog GroomingSandwell College · Checked 11 September 2026
- Level 3 City & Guilds Diploma in Dog GroomingDerby College Group · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dog Grooming — City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma (2025/26)Grimsby Institute · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dog Groom School course feesHound & Co · Checked 11 September 2026
- City & Guilds Level 2 Certificate, 603/6287/XOfqual · Checked 11 September 2026
- City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma, 603/0353/0Ofqual · Checked 11 September 2026
- iPET Network Level 3 Diploma, 603/5945/6Ofqual · Checked 11 September 2026
- iPET Network Level 3 Certificate, 603/5990/0Ofqual · Checked 11 September 2026
- When size does matter: guided learning and total qualification timeOfqual · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dog grooming qualification suite and centre feesCity & Guilds · Checked 11 September 2026