Pet costs · Editorial review 10 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
Splash Paws lists a £59 initial hydrotherapy assessment and £46.50 follow-up sessions. The Complete Canine lists an £85 assessment and £55 rehabilitation sessions. These differ in duration and treatment scope and are not interchangeable clinical recommendations.
The worked examples use two provider tariffs checked 10 September 2026; the local comparison below lists additional providers with their own source and tariff dates. Splash Paws dates its prices from 1 March 2026. Example session counts are constructed budgets, not expected treatment needs for a condition.
Published appointments and illustrative five-follow-up totals
| Provider / service | Assessment | Follow-up | Assessment + five follow-ups |
|---|---|---|---|
| Provider / serviceSplash Paws hydrotherapy | Assessment£59 / 60 minutes | Follow-up£46.50 / 40 minutes | Assessment + five follow-ups£291.50Sources: Splash Paws |
| Provider / serviceSplash Paws physiotherapy | Assessment£59 / 60 minutes | Follow-up£52 / 40 minutes | Assessment + five follow-ups£319Sources: Splash Paws |
| Provider / serviceThe Complete Canine rehabilitation | Assessment£85 / 90 minutes | Follow-up£55 / 45 minutes | Assessment + five follow-ups£360 at individual ratesSources: The Complete Canine |
CVP arithmetic using advertised individual rates. Appointment length is not guaranteed time in water; these services have different content.
How many prepaid sessions must be usable?
| Complete Canine rehabilitation example | Individual-price alternative | Package comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Complete Canine rehabilitation exampleUse 3 follow-ups | Individual-price alternative3 × £55 = £165 | Package comparison£245 package costs £80 moreSources: The Complete Canine |
| Complete Canine rehabilitation exampleUse 4 follow-ups | Individual-price alternative4 × £55 = £220 | Package comparison£245 package costs £25 moreSources: The Complete Canine |
| Complete Canine rehabilitation exampleUse all 5 follow-ups | Individual-price alternative5 × £55 = £275 | Package comparison£245 package saves £30Sources: The Complete Canine |
Assessment is excluded from both sides. These are unused-session sensitivities at published cash prices, not a treatment-frequency recommendation.
More published hydrotherapy tariff structures
| Provider / area | Assessment and follow-up | Course, VAT and referral status |
|---|---|---|
| Provider / areaAG Veterinary Physiotherapy / Warwickshire | Assessment and follow-upInitial assessment £60, about 1 hour; hydrotherapy £45, 30–40 minutes | Course, VAT and referral status10 hydrotherapy sessions £400; all listed prices exclude VAT. Veterinary consent is required for animals under veterinary treatment for lameness/poor performance.Sources: AG Veterinary Physiotherapy |
| Provider / areaBattersea / London | Assessment and follow-upMedical initial consultation £80, 30–60 minutes; subsequent session £60, 30 minutes | Course, VAT and referral statusRequires veterinary sign-off and medical history. Page says it is temporarily closed to new referrals; fees do not establish present booking availability.Sources: Battersea |
| Provider / areaPaddle Paws / West Wickham, Kent | Assessment and follow-upInitial assessment £65, 60 minutes; session £50, 35 minutes | Course, VAT and referral statusCourse of 10 £450. The price page links to a vet referral form but does not state a tariff effective date.Sources: Paddle Paws |
Observed 10 September 2026. Durations are provider-stated appointment lengths; they do not establish treatment time, suitability or a recommended number of sessions.
A package only saves when the plan and terms allow its use
Confirm expiry, refunds, cancellation and whether a session can be changed between pool, treadmill and other rehabilitation work. At the listed £245 package price, at least five £55 follow-ups must be usable before it saves money against paying individually. The assessment and travel still need adding to the overall budget.
Ask the treating team to specify the agreed service, review point and referral requirements. Avoid prepaying on the assumption that every appointment will contain the same amount of treatment; clinical progress can change the plan.
Sources: The Complete CanineBudget for assessment before repeat sessions
The Complete Canine asks for a veterinary referral before its initial appointment. Ask your chosen provider what records and consent are required and whether the initial fee includes treatment or only assessment. A course should be based on the animal's needs and reviewed as it progresses.
Sources: The Complete CanineAppointment duration is not exercise time
Splash Paws explains that session charges remain fixed while the time actually spent walking or in therapy varies with the dog's condition and ability. Do not compare a price per minute of water time by dividing the bill by the advertised appointment length.
Ask whether changing, drying, assessment, progress reporting and a home programme are part of the slot. Confirm which services the quote includes rather than adding every available treatment.
Sources: Splash PawsA prepaid package needs usable sessions
The Complete Canine lists five rehabilitation sessions for £245, excluding assessment. Compared with five £55 individual sessions, the cash saving is £30; with the £85 assessment, the combined cost is £330. We use the listed cash totals rather than its rounded discount label.
Check expiry, refund terms and what happens if your vet or therapist changes the plan. Buying sessions that cannot be used can cost more than paying individually. The calculation is not a recommendation to book five sessions.
Sources: The Complete CanineInclude the cost of attending repeatedly
Constructed travel example: £12 transport per visit over six appointments adds £72. Add that to the provider total before comparing a distant centre with one nearby. Ask about cancellation charges if the dog becomes unwell and cannot attend.
Contact your vet if your dog's condition worsens or urgent care may be needed. This page compares fees; it does not recommend hydrotherapy, physiotherapy or a treatment frequency for a diagnosis.
Check VAT, referral route and usable course terms before comparing
AG Veterinary Physiotherapy explicitly states that its displayed prices exclude VAT; do not compare those figures as VAT-inclusive totals. Battersea publishes fees but says new referrals are temporarily closed, so its row is tariff evidence rather than an availability claim.
Paddle Paws’ ten-session course and AG’s ten-session block should be compared only after confirming referral requirements, expiry, cancellation and refund terms with the provider. A course discount does not determine the appropriate number of appointments.
Sources: AG Veterinary Physiotherapy · Battersea · Paddle PawsCheck an assessment and quoted sessions
Use only the assessment and sessions agreed with the responsible professionals. Do not treat the example as a treatment plan.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
An assessment and a follow-up may have different duration and content. Enter a prepaid package once instead of also adding its included sessions. Price does not establish clinical suitability.
Worked arithmetic example
Arithmetic illustration only: a £60 assessment plus 4 quoted sessions at £40 is £220. The session count is not medical advice.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Compare published canine hydrotherapy fees
These are named provider examples from a selected sample, not a national range, clinical recommendation or cheapest-provider ranking. This is not a complete directory, availability check or nearest-provider result. Assessment, pool, treadmill, maintenance and combined rehabilitation appointments have different scopes.
13 providers shown
Splash Paws
Staplehurst · TN12 · Kent
Tariff effective 1 March 2026; source checked 10 September 2026
Referral information: This provider states a veterinary referral or links its referral process.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £59 Single appointment | 60 minutes | Initial hydrotherapy assessment session Assessment included. The provider says the slot may be longer if required. |
| Underwater treadmill | £46.50 Single appointment | 40 minutes | Rehabilitation, fitness and weight-control hydrotherapy Assessment inclusion not stated. Includes underwater treadmill therapy, health check and written feedback to the vet. |
The Complete Canine
Umberleigh · EX37 · Devon
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: This provider states a veterinary referral or links its referral process.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £85 Single appointment | 90 minutes | Initial physiotherapy consultation and assessment Assessment included. The source does not state that pool or treadmill treatment is included; provider requires veterinary referral. |
| Combined rehabilitation | £55 Single appointment | 45 minutes | Individual rehabilitation session Assessment inclusion not stated. The provider describes rehabilitation rather than a pool-only or treadmill-only appointment. |
| Prepaid block | £245 5 sessions; £49.00 average allocation per included session (total divided by count) | 45 minutes | Five rehabilitation sessions Assessment explicitly excluded. Assessment excluded; duration is per session. |
Aqua Kinetics
Bolton · BL1 · Greater Manchester
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £70 Single appointment | Not stated | Rehabilitation assessment Assessment included. The tariff does not state appointment duration. |
| Underwater treadmill | £45 Single appointment | Not stated | Rehabilitation treadmill session Assessment inclusion not stated. Standard rehabilitation price. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £40 Single appointment | Not stated | Maintenance session Assessment inclusion not stated. Do not treat maintenance as the same scope as rehabilitation treadmill work. |
Dogtown
London · London
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £100 Single appointment | Not stated | Initial consultation with two therapists and vet report Assessment included. The tariff does not state duration. |
| Underwater treadmill | £80 Single appointment | Not stated | Hydrotherapy underwater treadmill Assessment inclusion not stated. Base tariff without optional laser. |
| Pool session | £75 Single appointment | Not stated | Hydrotherapy pool with one therapist Assessment inclusion not stated. Base tariff without optional laser. |
Healing Hounds Clinic
Harpenden · AL5 · Hertfordshire
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £90 Single appointment | 75 minutes | Underwater-treadmill initial consultation and assessment Assessment included. Includes a treadmill trial and the provider says VAT is included. |
| Underwater treadmill | £82 Single appointment | 45 minutes | Underwater-treadmill follow-up Assessment inclusion not stated. Provider describes the duration as around 45 minutes; VAT included. |
| Prepaid block | £375 5 sessions; £75.00 average allocation per included session (total divided by count) | 45 minutes | Five underwater-treadmill sessions Assessment inclusion not stated. Duration is approximately per visit; VAT included. |
| Prepaid block | £700 10 sessions; £70.00 average allocation per included session (total divided by count) | 45 minutes | Ten underwater-treadmill sessions Assessment inclusion not stated. Duration is approximately per visit; VAT included. |
Duchy Canine Hydrotherapy
Cornwall locality not stated on tariff · Cornwall
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: This provider states a veterinary referral or links its referral process.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £65 Single appointment | 60 minutes | Initial assessment Assessment included. Provider says veterinary approval is needed. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £39 Single appointment | 30 minutes | Pool or treadmill session Assessment inclusion not stated. The provider uses one price for either facility and says the dog is not in the water for the full slot. |
| Prepaid block | £416 11 sessions; £37.82 average allocation per included session (total divided by count) | 30 minutes | Ten prepaid sessions plus a free eleventh, including assessment Assessment included. Package wording includes the assessment; appointment mix should be confirmed. |
The Veterinary Wellness Centre
Newcraighall · EH21 · Edinburgh
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: This provider states a veterinary referral or links its referral process.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £115 Single appointment | Not stated | Hydrotherapy initial assessment Assessment included. Non-member fixed price. |
| Underwater treadmill | £95 Single appointment | Not stated | Hydrotherapy follow-up Assessment inclusion not stated. Non-member fixed price; provider describes a water treadmill. |
York Canine Hydro
York · North Yorkshire
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £50 Single appointment | Not stated | Initial assessment with first hydrotherapy session Assessment included. First hydrotherapy session is included. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £40 Single appointment | Not stated | Successive pool or treadmill session Assessment inclusion not stated. One price covers either pool or treadmill. |
FourPaws Hydrotherapy
Holt · Norfolk
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £60 Single appointment | 60 minutes | Initial assessment including session and shower Assessment included. Provider says VAT is included. |
| Pool session | £40 Single appointment | 30 minutes | Hydrotherapy pool session Assessment inclusion not stated. Includes shower; VAT included. |
| Underwater treadmill | £45 Single appointment | 30 minutes | Underwater treadmill session Assessment inclusion not stated. Towel dry only; VAT included. |
Tudor Hydrotherapy
Sheffield and Chesterfield · South Yorkshire and Derbyshire
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £65 Single appointment | Approximately 60–90 minutes | Initial assessment with introductory treadmill session Assessment included. Provider publishes an approximate duration range. |
| Underwater treadmill | £47 Single appointment | Approximately 60–90 minutes | Follow-up appointment Assessment inclusion not stated. Provider publishes an approximate duration range. |
Aqua Canine
Brechin · DD9 · Angus
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: This provider states a veterinary referral or links its referral process.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £57 Single appointment | Not stated | Initial rehabilitation consultation and session Assessment included. Duration not stated. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £48 Single appointment | Not stated | Rehabilitation session Assessment inclusion not stated. Duration not stated. |
| Initial assessment | £47 Single appointment | Not stated | Initial maintenance consultation and session Assessment included. Maintenance scope; not comparable to initial rehabilitation. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £43 Single appointment | Not stated | Maintenance session Assessment inclusion not stated. Maintenance scope; not comparable to rehabilitation. |
Horner Pet Wellness & Rehab Centre
Sheldon · Birmingham
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £75 Single appointment | 60 minutes | Standard initial session Assessment included. Includes first physiotherapy or hydrotherapy treatment; temporary promotional price excluded. |
| Underwater treadmill | £65 Single appointment | 45 minutes | Hydrotherapy treatment Assessment inclusion not stated. Provider identifies an underwater treadmill. |
The Animal Rehabilitation Centre
Ware · SG11 · Hertfordshire
Source checked 10 September 2026; tariff effective date not stated
Referral information: Not stated on the tariff page; ask the provider what paperwork is required.
| Appointment | Published charge | Duration | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial assessment | £85 Single appointment | 70 minutes | Initial assessment and first hydrotherapy or aquatherapy treatment Assessment included. Includes history review, assessment, plan and initial treatment. |
| Hydrotherapy follow-up | £50 Single appointment | 30 minutes | Follow-up hydrotherapy or aquatherapy Assessment inclusion not stated. Continuation of the provider plan. |
| Combined rehabilitation | £60 Single appointment | 30 minutes | Physiotherapist-led follow-up hydrotherapy Assessment inclusion not stated. Distinct physiotherapist-led service. |
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Prices from 1 March 2026Splash Paws · Checked 10 September 2026
- Treatment pricesThe Complete Canine · Checked 10 September 2026
- Canine hydrotherapyAG Veterinary Physiotherapy · Checked 10 September 2026
- Hydrotherapy at BatterseaBattersea · Checked 10 September 2026
- PricesPaddle Paws · Checked 10 September 2026