CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Compare Vet Pricing

Pet taxi costs: mileage, waiting time and appointment transport

A pet taxi's per-mile rate rarely tells you the full cost. Check where chargeable mileage starts, whether return travel and waiting are included, and whether you can accompany your pet.

Pet travel · Editorial review 10 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team

Sources checked 10 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.

Some source checks are outside our review interval. Treat the quoted prices and terms as dated references, not current offers. Verify them with the linked sources before choosing; travel requirements also need a fresh official check.

Jump to a comparison, calculator or source

At a glance

Heathside Pet Care advertises a £14 base charge plus 45p per mile. Luna Pet uses both time and mileage: £10 per full hourly block away from its base plus chargeable mileage at 50p. These structures need a journey-specific quote.

Two local provider tariffs checked 10 September 2026. Heathside marks its prices effective 1 September 2026. No availability, licensing verification or nationwide relocation price is implied.

Compare cross-Channel pet taxi price boundaries

These are route examples, not a UK median. Private door-to-door fares, a fixed-stop shared shuttle and a LeShuttle pet supplement are different products. Match the direction, endpoints, vehicle, number of people and pets, waiting, and crossing inclusion before comparing.

Provider and routePublished fareCrossingDistance and waitingPeople, pets and returnAvailability and tax boundary
EuroPaw TravelParis address to London addressParis → London; one-way reference fare · Private vehicle; passenger travels with dog or catFrom £715excludedLeShuttle vehicle ticket is charged separately and confirmed at booking.No per-mile tariff. Exact collection and delivery postcodes establish road distance; route changes affect the quote.Waiting not agreed at booking may affect the final price; no waiting rate is published.Every passenger, dog/cat, pet size and bag must be declared. MPV rate applies above 3 passengers or 3 bags; no public maximum pet count is stated.No return tariff is published on the Paris-to-London page; request the reverse or round-trip scope separately.Personalised quote required; date and short-notice feasibility are checked for the requested journey.VAT treatment is not stated on the pages checked.Source checked 2026-09-11.
Pet & People TransportParis CDG ⇄ LondonBoth directions advertised; one-way/return basis not stated · Private door-to-door vehicle for the booking partyFrom £720excludedEurotunnel ticket is explicitly excluded.Route quote uses pickup/drop-off and displays estimated miles; no public per-mile rate is stated.Waiting inclusion or rate is not stated on the pages checked.Quote form requests passenger count and dogs, cats and ferrets. Executive car is included; van/minibus is +£200. Capacity must be confirmed.The route is shown with a bidirectional arrow, but the page does not say the advertised amount buys a return; obtain separate one-way and return totals.Quote required for date, time, vehicle and route.VAT treatment is not stated on the pages checked.Source checked 2026-09-11.
Pet MovesParis ⇄ LondonEither direction; private journey · Exclusive family booking, with or without accompanying ownerFrom £1,695excludedLeShuttle fare is added. The non-refundable deposit covers crossing and administration but is not an extra crossing quote published on the page.Variable journey quote from agreed Paris/London collection and delivery points; no per-mile tariff is published.Scheduled comfort breaks are included; delay or waiting charges are not stated.Quote form accepts 1–5 passengers and 1–5 pets, subject to vehicle/space confirmation; luggage is requested separately.Provider explicitly says it gives no reduced rate for a return journey.Quote required. Longer destinations may require a separately costed overnight stop; this comparison is Paris–London only.VAT treatment is not stated on the pages checked.Source checked 2026-09-11.
Le Pet ExpressAshford International ⇄ Calais FréthunScheduled one-way fares in each direction · Shared fixed-stop shuttle; not London/Paris door-to-doorUK→France £195; France→UK £195–£225 (1 person + 1 pet)includedFare includes the LeShuttle ticket, passenger ticket, pet ticket, tax and advance document check.No mileage charge: fixed Ashford and Calais Fréthun stops. London/Paris rail or taxi legs are separate.Fixed timetable; the shuttle does not wait. Missed services are subject to availability and rebooking fees.Maximum 2 pets per passenger. Second pet is £85; 1 passenger + 2 pets is £280; 2 passengers + up to 2 pets is £390 outbound.No through-return product is stated. Buying the published outward plus inbound one-person/one-pet fares is £390–£420 before separate rail legs.Bookable scheduled seats; on-the-day travel is possible only if seats remain.The page says tax is included but does not identify whether that tax is VAT.Source checked 2026-09-11.

Do not add only £24 to an excluded crossing

LeShuttle publishes £24 per pet each way and a standard limit of 5 pets per vehicle. That is a pet supplement, not the complete vehicle fare. Where a taxi says its LeShuttle ticket is excluded, obtain the full ticket line for the vehicle, passengers and pets.

Check LeShuttle's current pet charge

Transparent arithmetic examples

  • EuroPaw's Paris→London floor is £715 plus the separately quoted LeShuttle ticket and any waiting effect agreed in the quote. No public per-mile or waiting rate supports a more exact calculation.
  • Le Pet Express publishes £195 for one person and one pet Ashford→Calais, and £85 for a second pet: £195 + £85 = £280.
  • Buying its published one-person/one-pet fare in each direction is £390£420. This is CVP arithmetic over two one-way fares, not a return offer; London, Paris and missed-connection costs remain separate.

Travel-document and destination requirements can change. Use the sourced France travel guide and recheck the official/operator sources for the actual direction and date before paying.

Different pricing structures

Different pricing structures
ProviderBase or time chargeMileageImportant restriction
ProviderHeathside, RoystonBase or time charge£14 baseMileage£0.45 per mileImportant restrictionPets only; people cannot be transportedSources: Heathside Pet Care
ProviderLuna PetBase or time charge£10 per full hourly block from base departure to returnMileage£0.50 per chargeable mileImportant restrictionCheck base-to-pickup and return allowancesSources: Luna Pet

Per-mile figures are not directly comparable unless the charged distance and time are the same.

Reconcile every leg of an appointment journey

Reconcile every leg of an appointment journey
Journey componentQuestion for the operatorBudget entry
Journey componentBase to your homeQuestion for the operatorIncluded radius or charged empty miles?Budget entryConfirmed billable miles only
Journey componentHome to practice and backQuestion for the operatorOne return booking or two collections?Budget entryBoth loaded legs and any new pickup fee
Journey componentWaiting at the practiceQuestion for the operatorHourly blocks, minimum time or per-minute fee?Budget entryApply provider rounding to actual allowance
Journey componentFinal return to baseQuestion for the operatorCharged or included?Budget entryEmpty return miles if chargeable
Journey componentOwner/carrier/additional petsQuestion for the operatorAllowed and included?Budget entrySeparate quoted additions, if any

A map distance alone does not establish chargeable miles. Unknown rules require a provider quote.

A worked route ledger exposes the empty legs

Constructed route: 6 miles from base to home, 8 miles to the practice, 8 miles home and 6 miles back to base total 28 driven miles. If an operator charged all legs at an assumed 50p/mile, mileage would be £14; billing only the two pet-carrying legs would be £8. Add the quoted base/time charge separately.

This is not Luna’s allowance calculation or a national mileage tariff. Confirm which legs are chargeable and how an appointment overrun changes time charges. If the operator leaves and returns, obtain the second collection charge before comparing it with paid waiting.

Agree the chargeable route

Ask whether the quote includes the driver's journey to collect the pet, the appointment journey and returning to base afterwards. Luna's detailed tariff provides allowances on the base-to-pickup and final return legs; its shorter marketing summary is less precise. Get the route calculation in writing.

A ten-mile trip on a map may therefore create more than ten chargeable miles. Avoid multiplying only the distance from your home to the vet.

Sources: Luna Pet

Worked journey arithmetic

Constructed Heathside example: if the provider confirms 20 chargeable miles, £14 + (20 × £0.45) is £23 before any applicable extras. This is not a quote for a particular route.

Constructed Luna example: two chargeable hours and 20 chargeable miles produce £20 + £10 = £30 before extras. A journey requiring a third hourly block would cost more even if the mileage stayed the same. Confirm all allowances and time rounding with the provider.

Sources: Heathside Pet Care · Luna Pet

A vet visit includes more than driving

Ask whether the driver waits, leaves and returns, or hands the pet to someone at the practice. Agree who authorises care and pays the veterinary bill. Heathside explicitly does not transport people, so an owner needing to attend must arrange their own journey.

Give the provider the carrier size, number of animals, mobility needs and any handling concerns. Confirm whether the quote includes providing a suitable carrier and cleaning, and whether the booking can accommodate an appointment running late.

Sources: Heathside Pet Care

Routine transport and emergencies need different arrangements

Do not assume a service described as a pet taxi can supply emergency clinical transport. If your pet may need urgent treatment, call a vet first and ask about safe transport; comparing routine fares must not delay care.

An international relocation requires a separate written scope covering documents, carrier requirements and any third-party charges. These local taxi tariffs cannot be extrapolated into an overseas relocation quote.

Calculate your quoted transport components

Ask whether mileage includes the empty return leg or travel from the provider’s base. Use the actual chargeable miles from that quote.

Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.

Component 1
Component 2
Component 3
Component 4

Use the provider’s rounded chargeable units. If a minimum fare replaces mileage rather than being added to it, enter that fare once and set mileage to zero. Ordinary pet transport is not an emergency veterinary service.

Worked arithmetic example

Illustration only: £10 base plus 20 charged miles at £1.50 and 2 waiting blocks at £5 total £50.

Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.

Sources and checks

Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.

  1. Pricing effective September 2026Heathside Pet Care · Checked 10 September 2026
  2. Pet taxi pricing and journey conditionsLuna Pet · Checked 10 September 2026