CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Compare Vet Pricing

Dog training costs: puppy courses and private sessions

A group puppy course, a private skills session and specialist behaviour support solve different problems. Compare the format and support as well as the price.

Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team

Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.

Jump to a comparison, calculator or source

This guide explains budgets and quote comparisons. For individual tariffs and filters, compare named providers and service variants.

At a glance

Examples checked include a £120 six-week group course at Progress Dog Training and a £60 one-hour private session at Doggy Social Club. These are named providers' prices, not a national tariff.

Primary provider course pages checked 10 September 2026. Prices do not establish training quality or suitability for a particular behavioural problem.

Compare published dog behaviour consultation prices

This fixed sample compares named behaviour services, not ordinary training classes. It is not a complete local directory, a provider endorsement or live availability.

The maximum applies only to the displayed base price. Travel, parking, out-of-hours appointments and follow-ups may cost extra.

8 matching offers

Greater Manchester and nearby counties

James Carroll

Behaviour consultation

Full behavioural problem consultation at home: £250

Initial appointment: Approximately 2 hours

Included on the page checked

  • Behaviour modification plan
  • Follow-up telephone and email support

Separate charges or options

  • Home follow-up £100
  • Park follow-up near the provider £75
  • Parking charged at cost
Credential record: ABTC register matched: Clinical Animal Behaviourist; APBC and FABC organisations listed. Open registry record

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Leeds and Yorkshire; online also offered

True Wags

Behaviour consultation

Behaviour consultation package: £280

Initial appointment: Initial consultation approximately 3 hours

Included on the page checked

  • Written plan
  • 8 weeks of email or WhatsApp support
  • One-hour follow-up
  • Vet report and liaison

Separate charges or options

  • One 60-minute follow-up plus 2 weeks’ support £50
  • Two 60-minute follow-ups plus 4 weeks’ support £95
Credential record: Provider states APBC Associate membership; not independently matched in this review.

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Bristol; remote sessions included

Öz Dogs

Behaviour consultation

Behaviour package: £450

Initial appointment: Initial remote consultation; duration not stated on page checked

Included on the page checked

  • Personalised report
  • 3 months’ support
  • One eligible Bristol home visit, two South Bristol sessions or three video sessions

Separate charges or options

  • Evening or weekend package £490
Credential record: APBC member profile matched for Sezan Öz. Open registry record

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Somerset and Wiltshire

Alison Scott

Behaviour consultation

Dog consultation package: £535

Initial appointment: 2.5 to 3 hours

Included on the page checked

  • Typed report
  • Vet liaison
  • One-hour follow-up
  • 3 months’ phone and email support

Separate charges or options

  • Additional follow-up £85 per hour
  • Evening or weekend appointment £45 extra
  • Mileage and travel time may be charged
Credential record: ABTC county register matched: Clinical Animal Behaviourist. Open registry record

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Online

Dog Behaviour Help

Behaviour consultation

Initial virtual behaviour assessment: £125

Initial appointment: 1 hour

Separate charges or options

  • Virtual follow-up £85 for one hour
Credential record: No independent registry statement included in this comparison.

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Settle, Skipton, Keighley and named wider northern locations

Dog Behaviour Help

Behaviour consultation

Home visit: From £340

Initial appointment: 3 hours

Separate charges or options

  • Published travel fees outside the core area range from £30 to £130 return
Credential record: No independent registry statement included in this comparison.

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

London; home visit within the provider’s stated travel boundary

The London Vet Behaviour Clinic

Veterinary behaviour consultation

Veterinary behaviour consultation for a dog, in person: £825

Initial appointment: 2 to 3 hours

Included on the page checked

  • 40-minute follow-up within 90 days
  • Discussion with the referring vet
Credential record: Veterinary behaviour service; this comparison does not make a credential ranking.

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Online veterinary behaviour consultation

The London Vet Behaviour Clinic

Veterinary behaviour consultation

Veterinary behaviour consultation for a dog, virtual: £675

Initial appointment: 2 to 3 hours

Included on the page checked

  • 40-minute follow-up within 90 days
  • Discussion with the referring vet

Separate charges or options

  • Triage appointment £75 for 30 minutes is a separate service
Credential record: Veterinary behaviour service; this comparison does not make a credential ranking.

Official price and service page

Source checked 11 September 2026

Residential dog training prices: compare the full stay

These 8 selected providers publish different packages. Compare the duration, accommodation, owner handover and follow-up costs, not just the weekly starting price. This is a dated price sample, not a national average, cheapest-provider ranking or recommendation of a trainer or method.

Revolution Dog Training — Pocklington

Residential programme: starting price; exact stay agreed after assessment
From £3,000

Stay: The provider describes programmes of four to eight weeks, staying in the assigned trainer’s home. The starting price is not a fixed quote for every duration.

Owner handover and support: Collection handover, a follow-up session and a personalised guide are described. Confirm the assessment charge and exact session scope.

Payment and cancellation: The linked provider terms describe a variable non-refundable residential deposit, balance due by the start date and no refund for cancellations within two weeks unless otherwise agreed. Confirm the written agreement; this describes their terms, not your legal rights.

Check additional costs: Owner-supplied food is required under the terms; provider-supplied food costs extra. VAT treatment and transport charges were not established. This does not endorse a training method or outcome.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Terms · Source checked .

Extremus Dog Training — St Clears, Carmarthen

Foundation & Focus programme: two weeks, weekly starting rate
From £650 per week
Complete Transformation programme: four weeks, weekly starting rate
From £850 per week
Behaviour & Rehabilitation programme: duration not stated, weekly starting rate
From £850 per week

Stay: The published location is Waunbricks Boarding Kennel, St Clears. Accommodation arrangements and overnight supervision for each programme were not itemised.

Owner handover and support: The page describes video updates, a half-day handover, personalised notes and ongoing phone/email support. Confirm the terms; this does not establish unlimited in-person sessions.

Payment and cancellation: Deposit, cancellation terms and payment schedule were not established from the tariff page; request them before booking.

Check additional costs: Weekly starting rates are not fixed all-in package quotes. Confirm VAT, food, transport and any assessment or other charges. Programme names are the provider’s labels, not promises of results or recommendations for a particular dog.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Storm's Squad — Scottish Highlands

Two-week residential programme: starting price
From £1,750

Stay: The provider describes a two-week residential stay in the Scottish Highlands. The accommodation type and overnight supervision arrangements were not specified on the page checked.

Owner handover and support: Daily progress updates and a practical owner transition coaching day are described. Work before arrival and after returning home is mentioned, but its duration and any separate charges were not specified.

Payment and cancellation: Deposit, payment schedule and cancellation terms were not established from the page checked; request them before booking.

Check additional costs: This is a starting price, not a fixed all-in quote. VAT treatment was not stated; confirm the total payable for the agreed stay, food, transport and any preliminary or follow-up work. The listing does not endorse a training method or promise a behaviour outcome.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Royvon — puppy residential programme

Puppy residential programme: published day rate
£100 per day

Stay: The page labels this a residential programme for puppies under five months. Accommodation inclusions were not itemised. Five days is described as typical, not a minimum stay or a quoted £500 package; confirm dates and the participating location.

Owner handover and support: Residential handover and follow-up inclusions were not established. The separately advertised 45-minute Puppy Starters assessment is £45; whether it is required or included for this stay was not stated.

Payment and cancellation: Deposit and cancellation terms were not established from the page checked.

Check additional costs: Confirm accommodation, assessment, handover, food, other extras and the full payable stay total. The daily rate is not an all-in quote or a guarantee that a single day can be booked.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

ADK9

Two weeks (published minimum stay)
£1,145

Stay: Kennel residential stay.

Owner handover and support: Private owner handover. The provider describes unlimited follow-up one-to-one sessions; confirm their terms before booking.

Payment and cancellation: Deposit and cancellation terms were not established from the tariff page checked.

Check additional costs: Additional stays or top-up training need a separate quote.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Provider’s stated tariff effective date: . This is separate from our source check.

Dog Guru

14 nights, per dog
£1,395

Stay: Accommodation in the provider’s family home and training are included.

Owner handover and support: Private consultation on arrival and one-to-one owner tuition on collection; a training booklet is described.

Payment and cancellation: £400 deposit, with the remaining £995 due before arrival. Cancellation terms were not established from the tariff page checked.

Check additional costs: A continuing follow-up period was not established; request the full written scope.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

SK9 Training World

One week
£930
Two weeks
£1,730
Three weeks
£2,550
Four weeks
£3,300
Five weeks
£4,000

Stay: Normal residential care is included; the page describes a trainer-home environment.

Owner handover and support: Written report, two-hour owner debrief and video materials. These do not establish an ongoing follow-up entitlement.

Payment and cancellation: The provider describes a 50% non-refundable booking deposit and the balance due at least 72 hours before admission unless agreed otherwise. Check the linked terms and your signed agreement; this is a description of the provider’s wording, not an assessment of legal rights.

Check additional costs: Extra days, additional handover participants, grooming and additional care may cost more. Do not treat the package as all-inclusive.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Dogs Country Club

Obedience training: weekly rate
£750 per week
Behaviour training: weekly rate
£950 per week
Assessment
£80 separately
Handover and three private follow-up sessions
£260 separately

Stay: Kennel accommodation is described. Stay length is agreed after assessment, not a fixed package duration.

Owner handover and support: Handover and three private follow-up sessions are separately priced above.

Payment and cancellation: Deposit and cancellation terms were not established from the tariff page checked.

Check additional costs: The weekly rate is not the whole booking price: include assessment, handover and any further sessions agreed.

VAT treatment was not stated on the tariff page checked; confirm the total payable.

Provider’s published tariff and service details

Price source checked: .

Ask for a written total covering the agreed stay, assessment, handover, follow-up appointments, transport and extra-care charges. Confirm who provides overnight care and read the cancellation terms before paying. A price does not establish welfare standards, suitability for your dog or a behaviour outcome; residential training is not necessarily the right option.

Compare behaviour consultation fees or compare ordinary boarding costs. These are different services, not interchangeable packages.

Compare a package with its own format

Compare a package with its own format
ExamplePublished totalContext
ExampleProgress puppy group coursePublished total£120ContextSix weeks; entry age restrictionsSources: Progress Dog Training
ExampleThe Dog Hub puppy coursePublished total£120; free for Camden residentsContextSix weeks; residency and class eligibility matterSources: The Dog Hub
ExampleDoggy Social Club private sessionPublished total£60ContextOne hour per dogSources: Doggy Social Club

Training format and usable contact time

Training format and usable contact time
FormatComparison denominatorInclusions to confirm
FormatGroup courseComparison denominatorNumber of classes × actual class lengthInclusions to confirmClass size, make-up lessons, age/residency eligibility
FormatPrivate sessionComparison denominatorBooked time with trainer, excluding travelInclusions to confirmAssessment, written exercises, follow-up support
FormatBehaviour consultationComparison denominatorInitial assessment plus agreed follow-upsInclusions to confirmReport, vet liaison, travel, additional sessions

Cost per contact hour describes time purchased, not effectiveness. These formats are not substitutes for one another.

Check the hours before using a per-session comparison

Constructed example: a £120 course of six 60-minute classes costs £20 per contact hour; six 45-minute classes at the same price cost £26.67 per contact hour. Course length alone does not establish session duration. Missing two one-hour classes raises the cost of each attended hour to £30 if no replacement is available.

Record the qualification name and awarding body as stated, and check any claimed professional membership with its issuing organisation. A qualification or lower hourly price does not demonstrate that a method works for your dog. No effectiveness ranking is assigned here.

Calculate cost per attended session

A £120 six-session course works out at £20 per session if you attend all six. Missing two makes it £30 per attended session unless a replacement is offered. This calculation is more useful than comparing the course total with one private lesson.

Ask about holiday dates, class size, prerequisites, refund terms and whether missed lessons can be made up. Puppy School describes six one-hour classes but tells owners to obtain local prices; a network does not necessarily have one UK fee.

Sources: Puppy School

When a private quote needs more detail

Ask what the session includes: assessment, practical work, a written plan and follow-up contact can be separate items. Check whether a quoted package requires several paid visits and whether travel is extra. Do not treat a one-hour skills lesson as a substitute for specialist help with a serious behavioural concern.

Find out whether local help applies

The Dog Hub's published Camden-resident offer illustrates why a local eligibility check can matter more than a small commercial discount. Verify residency, age criteria, dates and places directly; the existence of a listed course does not guarantee availability.

When reviewing an advertised subsidy, compare the same teaching format and ask whether the reduction covers the entire course or only an initial appointment.

Sources: The Dog Hub

Choose the method and fit before the price

Ask the trainer to explain their methods and how they respond when a dog is frightened or overwhelmed. Request relevant qualifications, experience with your concern, and the process for referring to a vet when necessary.

If your dog's behaviour changes suddenly or you suspect pain, speak to a vet. This guide compares service costs and does not diagnose behaviour or prescribe training techniques.

Compare what a behaviour consultation price covers

Compare the initial appointment length, written material, included follow-up and delivery format before comparing the headline prices. Ask for travel, parking and evening or weekend charges in writing where the provider lists them separately.

Credential statements are recorded separately from prices and are not a ranking or endorsement. The provider’s official page remains the source for the service scope and current charge.

Sources: James Carroll · True Wags · Öz Dogs · Alison Scott · Dog Behaviour Help · The London Vet Behaviour Clinic

Compare the complete course bill

Enter the course price once, or a per-session price multiplied by sessions—not both for the same tuition.

Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.

Component 1
Component 2

Check total contact hours, group/private format, assessment and travel. Cost cannot establish training effectiveness or suitability.

Worked arithmetic example

Illustration only: a £120 course paid once plus £20 travel totals £140. Do not multiply the course price by its six lessons.

Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.

Sources and checks

Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.

  1. Training courses and pricesProgress Dog Training · Checked 10 September 2026
  2. Training session priceDoggy Social Club · Checked 10 September 2026
  3. Puppy courses and workshopsThe Dog Hub · Checked 10 September 2026
  4. Puppy School course structurePuppy School · Checked 10 September 2026
  5. PricesJames Carroll · Checked 11 September 2026
  6. Behaviour consultationTrue Wags · Checked 11 September 2026
  7. Behaviour packageÖz Dogs · Checked 11 September 2026
  8. FeesAlison Scott · Checked 11 September 2026
  9. Behaviour assessment pricesDog Behaviour Help · Checked 11 September 2026
  10. Veterinary behaviour services and feesThe London Vet Behaviour Clinic · Checked 11 September 2026