Pet equipment · Editorial review 10 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Some source checks are outside our review interval. Treat the quoted prices and terms as dated references, not current offers. Verify them with the linked sources before choosing; travel requirements also need a fresh official check.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
Published examples range from a 40 × 50 cm Pet Brands gel mat at £7.02 to a 93 × 57 cm All For Paws crate cooling bed at £49.99. The figures are checked retailer listings, not a performance test, a national price survey or a promise that a particular dog will use a mat.
Product claims, prices and dimensions below are copied from named retailer listings checked on 10 September 2026. CVP has not measured temperature change, duration, durability, comfort, safety after chewing, stock at a particular postcode or suitability for a particular dog. A cooling mat does not replace shade, water, supervision or urgent veterinary care.
Named UK product listings: visible buying constraints
| Product and checked price | Published footprint / construction | Cleaning and replacement information | Decision boundary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product and checked pricePets at Home Cooling Mat Blue M/L — £12 | Published footprint / construction110 × 70 cm; non-toxic cooling gel; contact activated | Cleaning and replacement informationMat: easy wipe. Separate 110 × 70 cm cover: machine washable, £2–£8 range | Decision boundarySupervised, short-duration use; inspect and stop use if damagedSources: Pets at Home · Pets at Home |
| Product and checked priceSmart Choice Medium — £11 | Published footprint / construction61 × 76 cm; pressure-activated | Cleaning and replacement informationCleaning method, internal material and replacement cover not stated on checked page | Decision boundaryIndoor/outdoor use stated; verify care label before cleaningSources: Jollyes |
| Product and checked pricePet Brands Small — £7.02 | Published footprint / construction40 × 50 cm; non-toxic cooling gel and durable outer | Cleaning and replacement informationCleaning method and replacement components not stated on checked page | Decision boundaryListing says let it rest 30–60 minutes in a cool place after use, or refrigerate 15–30 minutesSources: VioVet |
| Product and checked priceAll For Paws Tropical Crate Bed Small — £34.99; Medium — £49.99 | Published footprint / construction78 × 49 cm Small; 93 × 57 cm Medium; cooling gel | Cleaning and replacement informationFolds for storage; washing method and replacement parts not stated on checked page | Decision boundaryDesigned as a crate-bed format; match the actual crate floor rather than a breed labelSources: VioVet |
Prices are listing snapshots, not delivered totals. Do not convert the footprints into a breed-size recommendation: measure the dog’s normal resting position and the intended space.
Options to compare
These are research-based comparisons, not hands-on tests or clinical endorsements. The best choice depends on your pet and home. Retailer links on this page are not affiliate links; availability and prices can change.
A household wanting a 110 × 70 cm gel mat with a separately listed fitted cover.
Pets at Home Cooling Mat Blue, Medium/Large
Conditional shortlist where the stated 110 × 70 cm footprint fits the dog’s resting position and a wipe-clean gel surface is acceptable.
- The checked listing says easy wipe, not machine washable.
- Use is stated to be short-duration and supervised; inspect for punctures.
- The separate cover is an extra purchase, not included in the mat listing.
A 61 × 76 cm pressure-activated option for home or travel use.
Smart Choice Pet Cooling Mat Medium
Conditional shortlist if the published medium footprint is sufficient; the listing does not state cleaning method, cover replacement or internal material.
- No water, refrigeration or electricity is stated as required.
- Check the care label before cleaning because the checked listing does not give washing instructions.
- No replaceable cover or component is listed on the checked product page.
A smaller 40 × 50 cm gel option with a retailer-stated rest/recharge routine.
Pet Brands Cooling Mat for Dogs, Small
Conditional shortlist for a compact resting area; confirm the selected size and current stock at checkout.
- The £7.02 listing is for the 40 × 50 cm Small variant.
- The listing describes a 30–60 minute rest in a cool place, or refrigerator recharge, after use.
- No removable or replacement cover is listed on the checked page.
A dog whose crate or resting space matches one of the explicitly listed crate-bed footprints.
All For Paws Chill Out Tropical Crate Cooling Bed
Conditional shortlist where 78 × 49 cm or 93 × 57 cm is the required footprint and the higher listed price fits the budget.
- The listing states gel filling and says no electricity, water or refrigeration is required.
- The checked page says it folds for transport but does not give a washing method.
- No replacement cover or gel insert is listed on the checked page.
Start with construction and the charging rule
The Pets at Home and Pet Brands listings describe gel-filled surfaces. Smart Choice describes pressure activation, while the All For Paws crate-bed listing describes gel and a crate-oriented shape. These descriptions identify how the seller says the item is set up; they do not establish a common cooling rate, duration or temperature change.
A product that needs no water or refrigeration has a different practical routine from one whose listing tells the owner to rest or refrigerate it after use. Keep those instructions attached to the exact variant rather than applying one gel-mat rule to every product.
Sources: Pets at Home · Jollyes · VioVet · VioVetMeasure the lying area and the destination
The published footprints in this sample are 40 × 50 cm, 61 × 76 cm, 78 × 49 cm, 93 × 57 cm and 110 × 70 cm. Measure the floor space where the mat will actually sit, then compare it with the dog’s normal stretched or curled resting position. A larger number is not automatically a better fit if it cannot lie flat in the crate, car or room.
The All For Paws examples are explicitly sold as crate beds. For a crate, measure the inside floor rather than the outer dimensions or a generic breed label. For a gel mat, also leave it somewhere the dog can choose to move away from; do not place a dog on it or treat its use as mandatory.
Sources: Pets at Home · Jollyes · VioVet · VioVetSeparate wiping, washing and replaceability
“Easy wipe” is not the same as machine washable. The Pets at Home mat listing says easy wipe; its separately listed cover is machine washable and has matching published sizes. That is useful only if the selected mat and cover sizes match, and the cover is still available when needed.
For Smart Choice, Pet Brands and All For Paws, the checked product pages do not state a removable cover or a replacement gel insert. That is not proof that no part can ever be sourced; it means the buyer should confirm the care label, warranty and parts route before purchase. Any puncture, exposed filling or damage should end use until the product instructions or seller confirm a safe remedy.
Sources: Pets at Home · Pets at Home · Jollyes · VioVet · VioVetChoose a constraint, not a universal winner
Choose the smallest option only after checking the dog can use it voluntarily in their normal resting position. Choose a crate format only after matching the interior floor. If regular washing is a non-negotiable household requirement, distinguish the published machine-washable cover from a wipe-clean gel surface and from a listing with no washing method stated.
No “best overall” ranking is made here. The checked listings do not provide a shared, independently measured basis for cooling duration, durability, comfort or safety after damage. Price and size are buying inputs, not evidence that one dog will prefer or safely use a particular mat.
Sources: Pets at Home · Pets at Home · Jollyes · VioVet · VioVetA cooling mat is not emergency care
RSPCA and PDSA both describe heatstroke as urgent and say to get veterinary help. If you are concerned a dog is overheating or showing signs such as collapse, confusion, weakness, seizures, vomiting or diarrhoea, do not wait to see whether a mat helps: follow current emergency advice and contact a vet immediately.
For routine warm-weather comfort, keep shade, water and supervision available. A product listing’s cooling language is not medical evidence and is not a substitute for a heat-safety plan.
Sources: RSPCA · PDSACompare the complete equipment basket
Use the exact model and size you intend to buy. Add essential accessories and consumables for a clearly chosen period; do not count included parts twice.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
Replacement frequency is your assumption unless independently measured. Keep kilograms and litres distinct. This total excludes subscriptions and electricity unless you include them in additional charges.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: a £100 delivered product plus 6 replacement packs at £5 totals £130. This is not a product offer or lifespan estimate.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Cooling Mat Blue, Medium/LargePets at Home · Checked 10 September 2026
- Cooling Mat Cover StripePets at Home · Checked 10 September 2026
- Smart Choice Pet Cooling Mat MediumJollyes · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pet Brands Cooling Mat for DogsVioVet · Checked 10 September 2026
- All For Paws Chill Out Tropical Crate Cooling BedVioVet · Checked 10 September 2026
- Heatstroke in dogsRSPCA · Checked 10 September 2026
- Heatstroke in dogsPDSA · Checked 10 September 2026