Pet travel · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Some source checks are outside our review interval. Treat the quoted prices and terms as dated references, not current offers. Verify them with the linked sources before choosing; travel requirements also need a fresh official check.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
At a glance
For a two-night stay with one dog, the published examples below range from £20 per room per night at Hilton Garden Inn Abingdon Oxford (£40) to £40 per stay at Barnett Hill. They are named-property policies checked on 10 September 2026, not room-rate comparisons, a UK average or a directory of available hotels.
All amounts and restrictions are taken from the named hotel or brand’s own page. They are policy examples rather than a claim about every property in a chain, availability, quality, room price or the total cost of a break. Recheck the selected property and booking confirmation: hotel policies can change and some require a specific dog-friendly room.
Published pet-fee policies at named UK properties
| Property | Published dog/pet charge | Charging unit | Limits and room restrictions |
|---|---|---|---|
| PropertyBeachcroft Hotel, Felpham | Published dog/pet charge£25 per dog | Charging unitPer night | Limits and room restrictionsSix dog-friendly bedrooms; select a Terraced bedroom and advise the hotelSources: Best Western Hotels UK |
| PropertyHilton Garden Inn Abingdon Oxford | Published dog/pet charge£20 per room | Charging unitPer night | Limits and room restrictionsOne pet per room; medium maximum; no pets in Junior SuitesSources: Hilton |
| PropertyHilton London Wembley | Published dog/pet charge£30 per room | Charging unitNon-refundable fee (not stated as nightly) | Limits and room restrictionsUp to two small pets per room; 35 kg maximum statedSources: Hilton |
| PropertyLancaster House Hotel | Published dog/pet charge£30 per dog | Charging unitPer night | Limits and room restrictionsMaximum two dogs; dogs must not be left unattended; Foodworks Restaurant and Sandpiper Club excludedSources: Classic British Hotels |
| PropertyRothay Manor Hotel, Ambleside | Published dog/pet charge£25 per dog, maximum £75 | Charging unitPer night, capped per dog per stay | Limits and room restrictionsDogs only in Classic, Garden, 1-bed and Pavilion Garden/Hot Tub SuitesSources: Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World |
| PropertyLinthwaite House, Bowness-on-Windermere | Published dog/pet charge£35 | Charging unitPer stay | Limits and room restrictionsDog-friendly rooms only; maximum one medium or two small dogs; confirm when bookingSources: Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World |
| PropertyBarnett Hill, Guildford | Published dog/pet charge£40 | Charging unitPer stay | Limits and room restrictionsSmall and medium dogs only in selected Courtyard roomsSources: Classic British Hotels |
These are separate property policies, not an availability list. The room rate, taxes, parking, deposits, damage charges and any pet extras are outside this comparison unless the source explicitly calls them the pet fee.
Worked two-night example: one dog, pet fee only
| Named property | Published rule used | Pet fee for two nights | Why the total is bounded |
|---|---|---|---|
| Named propertyHilton Garden Inn Abingdon Oxford | Published rule used£20 per room per night | Pet fee for two nights£40 | Why the total is bounded2 nights × £20; one pet and an eligible non-Junior Suite assumedSources: Hilton |
| Named propertyLancaster House Hotel | Published rule used£30 per dog per night | Pet fee for two nights£60 | Why the total is bounded2 nights × £30; one dog assumedSources: Classic British Hotels |
| Named propertyRothay Manor Hotel | Published rule used£25 per dog per night, maximum £75 per dog per stay | Pet fee for two nights£50 | Why the total is bounded2 nights × £25; the stated cap does not bindSources: Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World |
| Named propertyLinthwaite House | Published rule used£35 per stay | Pet fee for two nights£35 | Why the total is boundedOne eligible dog; the stay fee is not multiplied by nightsSources: Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World |
| Named propertyBarnett Hill | Published rule used£40 per stay | Pet fee for two nights£40 | Why the total is boundedOne eligible dog; the stay fee is not multiplied by nightsSources: Classic British Hotels |
CVP arithmetic only. This deliberately excludes accommodation price and availability, so it cannot identify the cheapest hotel or a cheapest destination.
Named cottage pet supplements and charging rules
| Operator/property | Published pet fee | Fee basis | Pet limit | What to confirm |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operator/propertyCanine Cottages — Appletree Cottage · Jedburgh, near Kelso, Southern Scotland | Published pet fee£25 per dog per stay | Fee basisPer dog per stay | Pet limit1 small/medium well-behaved dog | What to confirmPayable direct to owner before arrival; XL Bullies and bitches in season not allowed Check this property’s dates and full price with Canine Cottages Sources: Canine CottagesSource link checked 2026-09-11; confirm current details with the provider. |
| Operator/propertySykes Cottages — Rock Cottage | Published pet fee£25 per pet per holiday | Fee basisPer pet per holiday | Pet limit1 well-behaved pet | What to confirmNamed-property supplement; not a chain-wide tariffSources: Sykes Cottages |
| Operator/propertySykes Cottages — Sunnyside at Coomb Bank Farm | Published pet fee£20 pet fee | Fee basisBasis not stated | Pet limit1 small/medium dog | What to confirmDo not infer per-night, per-stay or multi-dog applicability; confirm at bookingSources: Sykes Cottages |
| Operator/propertyCanine Cottages — Raven Rock | Published pet fee£35 per week | Fee basisPer week | Pet limit1 small, well-behaved pet | What to confirmSource states weekly basis only; no part-week rule publishedSources: Canine Cottages |
| Operator/propertyOriginal Cottages — Homildon Cottage | Published pet fee£25 per dog per week or part thereof | Fee basisPer dog per week or part thereof | Pet limitConflict: page header says 3 dogs; policy text says up to 2 | What to confirmDo not calculate a 2- or 3-dog total until the owner resolves the conflictSources: Original Cottages |
| Operator/propertyOriginal Cottages — Pegasus Cottage · Craster, near Alnwick, Northumberland | Published pet fee£25 per stay | Fee basisPer stay | Pet limit1 small dog | What to confirmProperty-specific; page footer separately says additional charges may apply generally Check this property’s dates and full price with Original Cottages Sources: Original CottagesSource link checked 2026-09-11; confirm current details with the provider. |
| Operator/propertyNational Trust — dog-friendly cottage collection | Published pet feeDogs go free | Fee basisNo pet supplement stated | Pet limitProperty-specific limits; collection page examples show 1–4 dogs | What to confirmOperator collection statement, not a UK-wide ruleSources: National Trust |
| Operator/propertyDog Friendly Retreats — Penuwch Boathouse | Published pet fee£25 per dog per stay | Fee basisPer dog per stay | Pet limit2 well-behaved dogs | What to confirmPayable during pre-check-in; listing-level policy, not a universal directory tariffSources: Dog Friendly Retreats |
Compare only the published pet-policy component. Do not calculate or rank whole-holiday prices: dates, base accommodation, cleaning, deposits, availability and other extras are not aligned or supplied here.
Compare the charging unit before comparing the amount
A £20 nightly fee becomes £40 over two nights; a £35 stay fee remains £35 if the hotel confirms the same booking is eligible. Rothay Manor also states a £75 maximum per dog per stay, so its nightly fee stops increasing after the cap. Keep the unit beside each price rather than treating every number as a room-rate supplement.
The worked table compares only the published pet supplement. It does not compare room rates, food, parking, taxes, refundable deposits, damage costs or whether a room is actually available. A lower pet fee is not evidence of a lower total trip cost.
Sources: Hilton · Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World · Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World · Classic British HotelsThe eligible room and pet can matter more than the fee
The named policies impose materially different boundaries. Abingdon limits the policy to one medium pet and excludes Junior Suites. Linthwaite limits its dog-friendly rooms to one medium or two small dogs, while Lancaster House says dogs cannot be left unattended and excludes particular restaurant and leisure areas.
Make the dog and room part of the enquiry: number of dogs, size, any accessibility needs, room category, whether the dog will be with you at meals, and whether any period alone is unavoidable. Do not assume an online room search has allocated a dog-friendly room unless the property confirms it.
Sources: Hilton · Hilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World · Classic British HotelsDo not infer a chain-wide policy from one hotel
Best Western says that its dog-friendly hotels have their own policies, may charge an extra fee per dog, and that not all of its hotels are dog-friendly. Its general FAQ describes a usual maximum of two domestic dogs in a rented room, with some properties setting a maximum size. That helps frame the question but does not replace the selected hotel’s own policy.
The opposite boundary matters too: Premier Inn says it does not allow pets to stay, except trained assistance dogs. A familiar hotel brand should therefore be checked before comparing fees.
Sources: Best Western Hotels UK · Premier InnGet these points confirmed in writing
Ask whether the fee is charged per dog, per room, per night or per stay; whether it is refundable; the maximum number, size and type of pet; and the exact room categories that can take a pet. Ask separately about dining and public-area access, leaving a dog alone, cleaning or damage charges, and cancellation terms.
Keep the confirmation with the room booking. If a policy page and the checkout total disagree, ask the property to resolve it before travel rather than assuming a historic fee or an aggregator label will apply.
Cottage pet supplements: check the charging unit
Compare published dog charges by their stated unit, then contact the property to confirm availability, the full booking price, the pet limit and any cleaning or damage terms before booking.
These named-property policies are not a cottage directory or whole-holiday price comparison. Per-stay, per-dog, per-week and unclear-basis wording remains exactly as published; accommodation dates and prices are not supplied.
Sources: Canine Cottages · Sykes Cottages · Sykes Cottages · Canine Cottages · Original Cottages · Original Cottages · National Trust · Dog Friendly RetreatsAdd up the pet extras for your stay
Enter a nightly fee only if the property charges by night. For a capped charge, enter the confirmed capped total once instead. This tool does not apply caps automatically.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
Use either the nightly charge or its capped replacement, not both. A per-room fee is not multiplied by dog count. This excludes the room price and refundable deposits; confirm room eligibility and the full booking quote.
Worked arithmetic example
Arithmetic illustration only: a £20 nightly pet fee for two nights totals £40; a £35 per-stay fee entered once totals £35. Neither establishes the cheaper hotel stay.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Beachcroft Hotel pet policyBest Western Hotels UK · Checked 10 September 2026
- Hilton Garden Inn Abingdon Oxford hotel informationHilton · Checked 10 September 2026
- Hilton London Wembley hotel informationHilton · Checked 10 September 2026
- Lancaster House Hotel pet policyClassic British Hotels · Checked 10 September 2026
- Rothay Manor Hotel informationHilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World · Checked 10 September 2026
- Linthwaite House hotel informationHilton / Small Luxury Hotels of the World · Checked 10 September 2026
- Barnett Hill pet policyClassic British Hotels · Checked 10 September 2026
- Dog-friendly hotels FAQsBest Western Hotels UK · Checked 10 September 2026
- Smoking and pet policiesPremier Inn · Checked 10 September 2026
- Appletree Cottage pet policyCanine Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Rock Cottage pet supplementSykes Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Sunnyside at Coomb Bank Farm pet policySykes Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Raven Rock pet supplementCanine Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Homildon Cottage pet policyOriginal Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Pegasus Cottage pet policyOriginal Cottages · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dog-friendly holiday cottagesNational Trust · Checked 11 September 2026
- Penuwch Boathouse pet feeDog Friendly Retreats · Checked 11 September 2026