How much does consultation cost in Barnsley?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in Barnsley (any pet) has a median listed price of £47, based on 7 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £45 to £65.
- Median
- £47
- Sample: Any pet
- 7 prices
- Range
- £45 to £65
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- -20.3%
Source: Barnsley source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/barnsley#answer
This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £47 | £45 to £65 | 7 | 20.3% below |
Published practice prices in Barnsley
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barnsley Vets4Pets Ltd 161 Wilthorpe Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S75 1JQ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £45 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 15 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Greenside Veterinary Surgery 14-16 Greenside, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S75 6GU | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £45First consultation shown as 10 minutes. Vet Help Direct Barnsley listing for Greenside Veterinary Surgery. The official Greenside site was also checked and gives the matching Staincross branch details but no fee list | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 2 May 2026Report issue |
| The Pet Vet Barnsley Wakefield Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S71 1NN | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £45 | the_pet_vet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S73 0UF | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £47 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Donaldson's Vets LTD Nether Mill Barn, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S36 8AD | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £53.2Context or conditions mentioned on source row | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| The Veterinary Surgery 22/24 Rotherham Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S72 0DE | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £57.5Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Churchfield Veterinary Centre 29 Sackville Street, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S70 2DB | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £65Prices effective from January 2026 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
Barnsley context
The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The Barnsley benchmark is 20.3% below versus that national median.
Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.
Before booking
- How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
- Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
- Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
- Use the full Barnsley city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).