How much does consultation cost in Colchester?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in Colchester (any pet) has a median listed price of £65, based on 7 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £51.7 to £73.
- Median
- £65
- Sample: Any pet
- 7 prices
- Range
- £51.7 to £73
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +10.2%
Source: Colchester source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/colchester#answer
This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £65 | £51.7 to £73 | 7 | 10.2% above |
| Dog | £63 | £63 to £63 | 1 | 11.5% above |
| Cat | £63 | £63 to £63 | 1 | 12.5% above |
Published practice prices in Colchester
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSPCA Essex Mid & North Branch CIO RSPCA FAO Anna Drake, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3BZ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £30May be limited to eligible owners on benefits or low income.dog/cat/rabbit welfare clinic Welfare clinic prices. eligibility criteria apply | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Aldham Veterinary Centre New Road, Colchester, Essex, CO6 3PN | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £51.7Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Colchester) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Colchester, Essex, CO1 1YN | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £52Official Colchester Vets4Pets practice prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Penrose Veterinary Group Ltd 70 Brinkley Lane, Colchester, Essex, CO4 9XE | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £55 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Colchester London Road (London Road Vets) 47 London Road, Colchester, Essex, CO3 9AJ | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £63Plan or membership discounts are not included. | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 2 May 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Colchester London Road (London Road Vets) 47 London Road, Colchester, Essex, CO3 9AJ | Cat | Not statedMedium comparability | £63Plan or membership discounts are not included. | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 2 May 2026Report issue |
| The Mayne Veterinary Clinic 81 Bergholt Road, Colchester, Essex, CO4 5AF | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £72 | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 23 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Spring Lodge Veterinary Centre 39 Church Road, Colchester, Essex, CO5 0SU | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £73 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
Colchester context
The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The Colchester benchmark is 10.2% above versus that national median.
Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.
Before booking
- How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
- Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
- Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
- Use the full Colchester city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).