How much does consultation cost in Portsmouth?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in Portsmouth (any pet) has a median listed price of £64, based on 9 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £55 to £98.
- Median
- £64
- Sample: Any pet
- 9 prices
- Range
- £55 to £98
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +8.5%
Source: Portsmouth source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/portsmouth#answer
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £64 | £55 to £98 | 9 | 8.5% above |
Published practice prices in Portsmouth
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Pet Vet Portsmouth Unit 5, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 4FG | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £55Official The Pet Vet Portsmouth surgery pricing | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Portsmouth) Ltd Inside Pets at Home, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO3 5LZ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £59Official Companion Care Portsmouth practice prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Portsmouth Vets4Pets Ltd 253 Milton Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 8PQ | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £62Vets4Pets Portsmouth branch page lists frequently used service prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| St Peters Vets, Farlington Mountbatten Business Park, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 1US | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £62.4 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| CVS UK Ltd Harbour Veterinary Group Bartons Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO9 5NA | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £64Exact CVS branch pricing page. values taken from the branch-specific CVS pricing table | cvs | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| CVS UK Ltd Harbour Vets Unit 7F Pompey Centre, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 8ER | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £64Exact CVS branch pricing page. values taken from the branch-specific CVS pricing table | cvs | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Harbour Veterinary Group 147 Havant Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 2AA | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £64Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Downland Veterinary Group Unit 1, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO3 5FS | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £75Downland booking page lists appointment prices for Hampshire/West Sussex. claimed branch is in Hampshire or West Sussex | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Portsmouth Vets Unit 2, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 3QG | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £98Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
Portsmouth context
The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The Portsmouth benchmark is 8.5% above versus that national median.
Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.
Before booking
- How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
- Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
- Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
- Use the full Portsmouth city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).