CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

How much does consultation cost in Reading?

The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in Reading (any pet) has a median listed price of £60, based on 14 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £29 to £68.

Median
£60
Sample: Any pet
14 prices
Range
£29 to £68
Latest benchmark observation
July 2026
Vs UK
+1.7%

Source: Reading source-backed practice prices. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/reading#answer

Local benchmark

The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.

Computed 11 Sept 2026

Median: Any pet
£60
Middle 50%
£55 to £66.6
Local range
£29 to £68
Comparable prices in this category
14
BenchmarkMedianRangeComparable pricesVersus UK median
Any pet£60£29 to £68141.7% above
Dog£61.75£59.5 to £6429.3% above
Cat£61.75£59.5 to £64210.3% above

Published practice prices in Reading

The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.

Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.

PracticePetWeight / comparabilityPriceOwnershipSourceChecked
Shinfield Vets

Alstonby, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 9BE

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£29Context or conditions mentioned on source rowOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 16 Jul 2026Report issue
Harrison Family Vets

Unit 3, The Point, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 1BE

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£40from priceOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 2 May 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

Tutts Clump, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 6JU

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£55Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

The Veterinary Surgery, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 7JQ

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£55Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

The Veterinary Surgery, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 1AA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£55Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Medivet Lower Earley

6 Elm Lane, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 5UF

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£59medivetPractice websiteCurrent: checked 16 Jul 2026Report issue
Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 0HS

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£59.5Exact Vets4Pets Reading branch page for Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets. standard practice prices onlyvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 0HS

CatNot statedMedium comparability£59.5Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where statedvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 0HS

DogNot statedMedium comparability£59.5Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where statedvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
The Veterinary Centre T/As Henley Vets Limited

Twycombe Lodge, Reading, Berkshire, RG10 9JA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£60.5Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Vets4Pets Ltd

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG30 1PR

DogNot statedMedium comparability£64from price Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where statedvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Vets4Pets Ltd

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG30 1PR

CatNot statedMedium comparability£64from price Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where statedvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Oakley

65 Oakley Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 7RN

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£66.6Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Sonning Common

2c Green Lane, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 9NA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£66.6Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Woodley (Beechwood Veterinary Centre)

35 Beechwood Avenue, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 3DE

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£66.6Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Veterinary Centre

19 School Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG31 5AR

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£66.6Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026cvsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Burghfield Veterinary Surgery

1 Tarragon Way, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 3YU

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£68Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Goring Veterinary Centre

Thames Court, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 9AR

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£68Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue

Reading context

The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The Reading benchmark is 1.7% above versus that national median.

Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.

Before booking

  • How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
  • Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
  • Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
  • Use the full Reading city page for wider local comparison.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).