CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

How much does consultation cost in South Shields?

The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in South Shields (any pet) has a median listed price of £49, based on 5 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £47.5 to £56.16.

Median
£49
Sample: Any pet
5 prices
Range
£47.5 to £56.16
Latest benchmark observation
July 2026
Vs UK
-16.9%

Source: South Shields source-backed practice prices. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/south-shields#answer

This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.

Local benchmark

The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.

Computed 11 Sept 2026

Median: Any pet
£49
Middle 50%
£49 to £55.5
Local range
£47.5 to £56.16
Comparable prices in this category
5
BenchmarkMedianRangeComparable pricesVersus UK median
Any pet£49£47.5 to £56.16516.9% below
Dog£49£49 to £49113.3% below
Cat£49£49 to £49112.5% below

Published practice prices in South Shields

The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.

Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.

PracticePetWeight / comparabilityPriceOwnershipSourceChecked
South Shields Vets4Pets Ltd

The Nook, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE34 7LZ

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£47.5vets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Vets for Pets

Inside Pets at Home, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE33 1RD

DogNot statedHigh comparability£49All prices include VAT and are subject to changeOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 1 May 2026Report issue
Vets for Pets

Inside Pets at Home, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE33 1RD

CatNot statedHigh comparability£49All prices include VAT and are subject to changeOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 1 May 2026Report issue
Vets for Pets

Inside Pets at Home, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE33 1RD

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£49Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 20 Jul 2026Report issue
Westoe Vets Ltd

157 Westoe Road, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE33 3PD

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£49Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 19 May 2026Report issue
Westway Veterinary Centres Limited T/A Willows Veterinary Centre Ltd

2 Stanhope Road, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE33 4BU

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£55.5Practice charges page says prices vary by pet type, size, age and clinical factorsOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 2 May 2026Report issue
Blythman & Partners

31 Boldon Lane, South Shields, Tyne and Wear, NE34 0AR

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£56.16First consultation, 10 minutes. Official Blythman locations page confirms the South Shields branch at 31 Boldon Lane. VetHelpDirect publishes the first consultation fee for Blythman & Partners - South ShieldsIndependentPractice websiteCurrent: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue

South Shields context

The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The South Shields benchmark is 16.9% below versus that national median.

Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.

Before booking

  • How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
  • Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
  • Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
  • Use the full South Shields city page for wider local comparison.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).