How much does consultation cost in St. Albans?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Standard Consultation in St. Albans (any pet) has a median listed price of £65.25, based on 8 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £47.5 to £80.
- Median
- £65.25
- Sample: Any pet
- 8 prices
- Range
- £47.5 to £80
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +10.6%
Source: St. Albans source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/consultation/st-albans#answer
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £65.25 | £47.5 to £80 | 8 | 10.6% above |
| Dog | £63 | £60 to £66 | 2 | 11.5% above |
| Cat | £63 | £60 to £66 | 2 | 12.5% above |
Published practice prices in St. Albans
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANIMALISM 4 St Stephens Hill, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 2DS | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £47.5Standard consultation. Published prices for Animalism | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 1 May 2026Report issue |
| Marshalswick Veterinary Surgery 71 The Quandrant, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 9RQ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £58First consultation. Published prices for Marshalswick Veterinary Surgery | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 1 May 2026Report issue |
| Medivet St Albans 199 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 4LH | Cat | Not statedMedium comparability | £60 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet St Albans 199 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 4LH | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £60 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Heath Lodge Veterinary Group St Bernard's Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL3 5RA | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £61First consultation, 15 minute duration. Public Vet Help Direct St Albans listing for Heath Lodge Veterinary Group | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 1 May 2026Report issue |
| Linnaeus Veterinary Ltd T/A Village Vet St. Albans 601 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 0HL | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £64.5 | linnaeus | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Attimore Veterinary Group 4 Castle Rise, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 8HX | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £66Official CVS Vets pricing page for Attimore Veterinary Group - Wheathampstead. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026. Contact-practice and unsupported rows were excluded | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Redbourn Priory High Street, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL3 7LZ | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £66 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Redbourn Priory High Street, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL3 7LZ | Cat | Not statedMedium comparability | £66 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Redbourn Priory High Street, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL3 7LZ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £66 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Medivet St Albans 199 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 4LH | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £66 | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 21 Sept 2026Report issue |
| Vets for Pets Inside Pets at Home, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 2RJ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £66 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 20 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Vets 2 Your Pets - St Albans 32 Burnside, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 5RS | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £80 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
St. Albans context
The national benchmark median for consultation (any pet) is £59. The St. Albans benchmark is 10.6% above versus that national median.
Consultation fees normally cover the appointment, not medication, tests, treatment, or follow-up procedures.
Before booking
- How long is the standard appointment?Appointment duration can differ between price lists.
- Is this a first, repeat, same-day or out-of-hours consultation fee?Those are separate price items at some practices.
- Are tests, medicines, treatment and any follow-up charged separately?The consultation price can be only the fee for being seen.
- Use the full St. Albans city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).