How much does dog castration cost in Colchester?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Dog Castration in Colchester (dog) has a median listed price of £239, based on 7 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £200 to £423.
- Median
- £239
- Sample: Dog
- 7 prices
- Range
- £200 to £423
- Latest benchmark observation
- May 2026
- Vs UK
- -9.8%
Source: Colchester source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dog-neutering/colchester#answer
This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.
Weight bands materially affect this procedure. Compare prices with similar weight assumptions and confirm the current band with the practice before booking.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dog | £239 | £200 to £423 | 7 | 9.8% below |
Published practice prices in Colchester
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSPCA Essex Mid & North Branch CIO RSPCA FAO Anna Drake, Colchester, Essex, CO4 3BZ | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £150-£250May be limited to eligible owners on benefits or low income.varies by weight up to 48kg. includes microchip if required Welfare clinic prices. eligibility criteria apply | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Colchester) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Colchester, Essex, CO1 1YN | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £200From price. Official Colchester Vets4Pets practice prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet, Colchester Maldon Road - St Runwald's Vets St Runwalds Veterinary Surgery, Colchester, Essex, CO3 3AP | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £218Plan or membership discounts are not included. | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Medivet Colchester London Road (London Road Vets) 47 London Road, Colchester, Essex, CO3 9AJ | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £239Plan or membership discounts are not included.procedure-only fee, from price Standard prices shown. healthcare plan discounts are excluded | medivet | Practice website | Current: checked 2 May 2026Report issue |
| Linnaeus Veterinary Ltd t/a Colne Valley Veterinary Practice Off Maudlyn Road, Colchester, Essex, CO1 2GU | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £251 | linnaeus | Practice website | Current: checked 17 Sept 2026Report issue |
| Linnaeus Veterinary Ltd t/a Colne Valley Veterinary Practice Ltd Colne Valley Veterinary Practice, Colchester, Essex, CO7 9ET | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £251 | linnaeus | Practice website | Current: checked 17 Sept 2026Report issue |
| Aldham Veterinary Centre New Road, Colchester, Essex, CO6 3PN | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £295 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Spring Lodge Veterinary Centre 39 Church Road, Colchester, Essex, CO5 0SU | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £353-£493 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
Colchester context
The national benchmark median for dog castration (dog) is £265. The Colchester benchmark is 9.8% below versus that national median.
Dog castration prices often vary by weight band, age, health status, and what post-operative medication is included.
Before booking
- Which dog weight band does this quote cover?Dog castration prices are often banded by weight.
- Are anaesthesia, pain relief, monitoring and post-operative checks included?Primary price lists show that surgery-package elements differ.
- Are blood tests, a collar or recovery suit additional?These may sit outside the surgery price.
- Use the full Colchester city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).