CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

How much does dog castration cost in St. Albans?

The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Dog Castration in St. Albans (dog) has a median listed price of £294.28, based on 7 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £241 to £355.

Median
£294.28
Sample: Dog
7 prices
Range
£241 to £355
Latest benchmark observation
July 2026
Vs UK
+11.0%

Source: St. Albans source-backed practice prices. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dog-neutering/st-albans#answer

This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.

Weight bands materially affect this procedure. Compare prices with similar weight assumptions and confirm the current band with the practice before booking.

Local benchmark

The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.

Computed 11 Sept 2026

Median: Dog
£294.28
Middle 50%
£273 to £328.02
Local range
£241 to £355
Comparable prices in this category
7
BenchmarkMedianRangeComparable pricesVersus UK median
Dog£294.28£241 to £355711.0% above

Published practice prices in St. Albans

The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.

Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.

PracticePetWeight / comparabilityPriceOwnershipSourceChecked
Linnaeus Veterinary Ltd T/A Village Vet St. Albans

601 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 0HL

DogNot statedMedium comparability£241-£352linnaeusPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Medivet St Albans

199 Hatfield Road, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 4LH

DogNot statedMedium comparability£258medivetPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
ANIMALISM

4 St Stephens Hill, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 2DS

DogNot statedHigh comparability£278.26-£415.8Dog castration. price depends on weight. Published prices for AnimalismOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 1 May 2026Report issue
Medivet Redbourn Priory

High Street, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL3 7LZ

DogNot statedMedium comparability£288medivetPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Vets for Pets

Inside Pets at Home, St Albans, Hertfordshire, AL1 2RJ

DogNot statedHigh comparability£294.28Context or conditions mentioned on source rowOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 20 Jul 2026Report issue
Marshalswick Veterinary Surgery

71 The Quandrant, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 9RQ

DogNot statedHigh comparability£300-£410Dog castration. cost depends on weight. Published prices for Marshalswick Veterinary SurgeryOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 1 May 2026Report issue
Attimore Veterinary Group

4 Castle Rise, St. Albans, Hertfordshire, AL4 8HX

DogNot statedHigh comparability£309Price will vary with weight. Official CVS Vets pricing page for Attimore Veterinary Group - Wheathampstead. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026. Contact-practice and unsupported rows were excludedOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue

St. Albans context

The national benchmark median for dog castration (dog) is £265. The St. Albans benchmark is 11.0% above versus that national median.

Dog castration prices often vary by weight band, age, health status, and what post-operative medication is included.

Before booking

  • Which dog weight band does this quote cover?Dog castration prices are often banded by weight.
  • Are anaesthesia, pain relief, monitoring and post-operative checks included?Primary price lists show that surgery-package elements differ.
  • Are blood tests, a collar or recovery suit additional?These may sit outside the surgery price.
  • Use the full St. Albans city page for wider local comparison.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).