How much does dog spay cost in Portsmouth?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Dog Spay in Portsmouth (dog) has a median listed price of £383, based on 8 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £330 to £415.
- Median
- £383
- Sample: Dog
- 8 prices
- Range
- £330 to £415
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +7.1%
Source: Portsmouth source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dog-spay/portsmouth#answer
Weight bands materially affect this procedure. Compare prices with similar weight assumptions and confirm the current band with the practice before booking.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dog | £383 | £330 to £415 | 8 | 7.1% above |
Published practice prices in Portsmouth
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Portsmouth Vets Unit 2, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 3QG | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £330 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| The Pet Vet Portsmouth Unit 5, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 4FG | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £350-£480Varies by dog weight. Official The Pet Vet Portsmouth surgery pricing | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Portsmouth Vets4Pets Ltd 253 Milton Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 8PQ | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £360Listed as from price. Vets4Pets Portsmouth branch page lists frequently used service prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| CVS UK Ltd Harbour Veterinary Group Bartons Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO9 5NA | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £383Price may vary with weight. table gives a listed value. Exact CVS branch pricing page. values taken from the branch-specific CVS pricing table | cvs | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| CVS UK Ltd Harbour Vets Unit 7F Pompey Centre, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 8ER | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £383Price may vary with weight. table gives a listed value. Exact CVS branch pricing page. values taken from the branch-specific CVS pricing table | cvs | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Harbour Veterinary Group 147 Havant Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 2AA | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £383Price varies with weight. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| St Peters Vets, Farlington Mountbatten Business Park, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO6 1US | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £384Context or conditions mentioned on source row | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Portsmouth) Ltd Inside Pets at Home, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO3 5LZ | Dog | Not statedHigh comparability | £386From price. Official Companion Care Portsmouth practice prices | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue |
Portsmouth context
The national benchmark median for dog spay (dog) is £357.5. The Portsmouth benchmark is 7.1% above versus that national median.
Dog spay prices often vary by weight band, age, season status, surgical approach, and post-operative medication.
Before booking
- Which dog weight band and surgical approach does this quote cover?Weight bands and open versus keyhole prices should not be mixed.
- Are anaesthesia, pain relief, monitoring and post-operative checks included?Primary price lists show that surgery-package elements differ.
- Are blood tests, a collar or recovery suit additional?These may sit outside the surgery price.
- Use the full Portsmouth city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).