CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

How much does euthanasia cost in Reading?

The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Euthanasia in Reading (dog) has a median listed price of £196.65, based on 7 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £196.65 to £300.

Median
£196.65
Sample: Dog
7 prices
Range
£196.65 to £300
Latest benchmark observation
May 2026
Vs UK
+0.1%

Source: Reading source-backed practice prices. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/euthanasia/reading#answer

This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.

Local benchmark

The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.

Computed 11 Sept 2026

Median: Dog
£196.65
Middle 50%
£196.65 to £196.65
Local range
£196.65 to £300
Comparable prices in this category
7
BenchmarkMedianRangeComparable pricesVersus UK median
Any pet£340£340 to £3401115.2% above
Dog£196.65£196.65 to £30070.1% above
Cat£196.65£196.65 to £26074.5% above

Published practice prices in Reading

The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.

Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.

PracticePetWeight / comparabilityPriceOwnershipSourceChecked
Active Vetcare - Oakley

65 Oakley Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 7RN

CatNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Oakley

65 Oakley Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 7RN

DogNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Price will vary with weight. Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Sonning Common

2c Green Lane, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 9NA

DogNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Price will vary with weight. Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Sonning Common

2c Green Lane, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 9NA

CatNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Woodley (Beechwood Veterinary Centre)

35 Beechwood Avenue, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 3DE

CatNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Woodley (Beechwood Veterinary Centre)

35 Beechwood Avenue, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 3DE

DogNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Price will vary with weight. Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Burghfield Veterinary Surgery

1 Tarragon Way, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 3YU

DogNot statedHigh comparability£196.65Price varies with weightOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Burghfield Veterinary Surgery

1 Tarragon Way, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 3YU

CatNot statedHigh comparability£196.65Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Goring Veterinary Centre

Thames Court, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 9AR

CatNot statedHigh comparability£196.65Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Goring Veterinary Centre

Thames Court, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 9AR

DogNot statedHigh comparability£196.65Price varies with weightOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Veterinary Centre

19 School Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG31 5AR

DogNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Price will vary with weight. Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026cvsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Veterinary Centre

19 School Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG31 5AR

CatNot statedMedium comparability£196.65Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026cvsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Ovidiu Onofrei

3 Dunaways Close, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 5JH

CatNot statedHigh comparability£260at-home euthanasia for cats and dogs under 10kg. aftercare arranged separatelyOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 2 May 2026Report issue
Ovidiu Onofrei

3 Dunaways Close, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 5JH

DogNot statedHigh comparability£260-£340at-home euthanasia. varies by dog weight. aftercare arranged separatelyOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 2 May 2026Report issue
Ovidiu Onofrei

3 Dunaways Close, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 5JH

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£340Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 10 May 2026Report issue

Reading context

The national benchmark median for euthanasia (dog) is £196.44. The Reading benchmark is 0.1% above versus that national median.

Euthanasia prices vary by species, size, location, appointment type, and aftercare choices. These figures should be handled as a planning guide only.

Before booking

  • Does the price include the appointment as well as the procedure?Some primary tariffs explicitly include the appointment.
  • Is this an in-practice, home-visit or out-of-hours price?Location and timing can be separate charges.
  • Are communal cremation, individual cremation and return of ashes priced separately?The CMA treats the procedure and the two cremation choices as separate line items.
  • Use the full Reading city page for wider local comparison.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026); University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026).