How much does written prescription fee cost in Barnsley?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Written Prescription Fee in Barnsley (any pet) has a median listed price of £27, based on 5 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £14 to £48.42.
- Median
- £27
- Sample: Any pet
- 5 prices
- Range
- £14 to £48.42
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +28.6%
Source: Barnsley source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/written-prescription-fee/barnsley#answer
This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £27 | £14 to £48.42 | 5 | 28.6% above |
Published practice prices in Barnsley
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barnsley Vets4Pets Ltd 161 Wilthorpe Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S75 1JQ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £14 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 15 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S73 0UF | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £17.5 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 15 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Animal Trust Vets CIC with 24/7 Pet A&E - Barnsley Beever Court, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S71 1HG | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £27 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 9 Jul 2026Report issue |
| The Veterinary Surgery 22/24 Rotherham Road, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S72 0DE | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £29.75 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Donaldson's Vets LTD Nether Mill Barn, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, S36 8AD | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £48.42 | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 9 Jul 2026Report issue |
Barnsley context
The national benchmark median for written prescription fee (any pet) is £21. The Barnsley benchmark is 28.6% above versus that national median.
Written prescription fees are comparable only when the fee is for issuing the prescription itself, not the medicine, dispensing fee, or repeat prescription charge.
Before booking
- Is the fee per prescription, per medicine or per additional item?The CMA separates the first fee and additional prescribed items.
- How many repeats does the prescription allow, and is a repeat fee different?Repeat structure changes the total cost over time.
- Are a consultation, medicine review, dispensing or medicine costs separate?These are distinct from the written-prescription issue fee.
- Use the full Barnsley city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Newton Clarke Veterinary Surgeons price list (January 2026).