How much does written prescription fee cost in Cardiff?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Written Prescription Fee in Cardiff (any pet) has a median listed price of £21, based on 9 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £20 to £28.
- Median
- £21
- Sample: Any pet
- 9 prices
- Range
- £20 to £28
- Latest benchmark observation
- August 2026
- Vs UK
- 0.0%
Source: Cardiff source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/written-prescription-fee/cardiff#answer
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £21 | £20 to £28 | 9 | In line |
Published practice prices in Cardiff
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| St David Veterinary Centre Pentwyn Shopping Precinct, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF23 7EY | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £20 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| St-David Veterinary Centre Unit 1, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF14 5DR | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £20 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Cardiff Newport Road Vets4Pets Ltd Inside Pets at Home, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF23 9AA | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 13 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Cardiff) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF11 0JR | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 8 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Origin Vets Clinic Ltd Unit 13 River Bridge Business Park, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF23 9FP | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 31 Aug 2026Report issue |
| Park Vets Sanatorium Road, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF11 8DG | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Cardiff Veterinary Centre Unit 2 Link Trade Park, Penarth, Cardiff, CF11 8TQ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £25 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 19 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Valley Veterinary Hospital Unit 2C, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF15 9SS | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £26.95Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Cardiff Ely Vets4Pets Ltd 364-372 Cowbridge Road West, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF5 5BY | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Context or conditions mentioned on source row | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
Cardiff context
The national benchmark median for written prescription fee (any pet) is £21. The Cardiff benchmark is In line versus that national median.
Written prescription fees are comparable only when the fee is for issuing the prescription itself, not the medicine, dispensing fee, or repeat prescription charge.
Before booking
- Is the fee per prescription, per medicine or per additional item?The CMA separates the first fee and additional prescribed items.
- How many repeats does the prescription allow, and is a repeat fee different?Repeat structure changes the total cost over time.
- Are a consultation, medicine review, dispensing or medicine costs separate?These are distinct from the written-prescription issue fee.
- Use the full Cardiff city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Newton Clarke Veterinary Surgeons price list (January 2026).