How much does written prescription fee cost in York?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Written Prescription Fee in York (any pet) has a median listed price of £24.25, based on 12 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £12.5 to £28.
- Median
- £24.25
- Sample: Any pet
- 12 prices
- Range
- £12.5 to £28
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +15.5%
Source: York source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/written-prescription-fee/york#answer
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £24.25 | £12.5 to £28 | 12 | 15.5% above |
Published practice prices in York
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Station House Vets Teal House, York, North Yorkshire, YO60 7EP | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £12.5Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Galtres Veterinary Surgery Applegarth, York, North Yorkshire, YO61 1SF | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £15 | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 8 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Bishopton Veterinary Group Toft Lodge, York, North Yorkshire, YO61 3LA | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 9 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Bishopton Veterinary Group Unit 3 The Steading, York, North Yorkshire, YO19 5LL | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | Independent | Practice website | Current: checked 8 Jul 2026Report issue |
| York Clifton Moor Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, York, North Yorkshire, YO30 4XZ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| York Vets4Pets Ltd Turner Close, York, North Yorkshire, YO31 9FD | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £21 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 26 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Tower Veterinary Group 99b The Village, York, North Yorkshire, YO32 2JH | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £27.5 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 8 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Minster Veterinary Practice Haxby, York, North Yorkshire, YO32 2LU | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Minster Veterinary Practice Small Animal Hospital, York, North Yorkshire, YO26 4YN | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Minster Veterinary Practice Crockey Hill, York, North Yorkshire, YO19 4SJ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Minster Veterinary Practice Willow Grove Veterinary Surgery, York, North Yorkshire, YO32 9SJ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Minster Veterinary Practice Copmanthorpe, York, North Yorkshire, YO23 3SH | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £28Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 11 Jul 2026Report issue |
York context
The national benchmark median for written prescription fee (any pet) is £21. The York benchmark is 15.5% above versus that national median.
Written prescription fees are comparable only when the fee is for issuing the prescription itself, not the medicine, dispensing fee, or repeat prescription charge.
Before booking
- Is the fee per prescription, per medicine or per additional item?The CMA separates the first fee and additional prescribed items.
- How many repeats does the prescription allow, and is a repeat fee different?Repeat structure changes the total cost over time.
- Are a consultation, medicine review, dispensing or medicine costs separate?These are distinct from the written-prescription issue fee.
- Use the full York city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Newton Clarke Veterinary Surgeons price list (January 2026).