Pet costs · Editorial review 11 September 2026 · Compare Vet Pricing editorial team
Sources checked 10 September 2026 to 11 September 2026. Individual source dates appear below; an editorial review does not refresh a price or establish clinical approval.
Jump to a comparison, calculator or source
This guide explains budgets and quote comparisons. For individual tariffs and filters, compare named providers and service variants.
At a glance
One published Groom Room branch list starts at £35 for an extra-small dog's standard full groom and £45 for its signature full groom. These are starting prices for that branch and size, not a UK average or a quote for a larger dog.
A dated branch example, separately attributed Tuft booking averages and transparent planning arithmetic. Tuft's January–February 2026 sample is not a new September measurement or CVP's own survey. We have not assessed the salon's work. The separate Pets Grooming nail-service tariff and conditions were checked on 11 September 2026; earlier branch checks and booking-study dates remain unchanged.
Self-service dog wash prices and listed locations
Here you operate the wash yourself. These timed facility packages are not staffed baths, haircuts or full grooms. Compare 10 published packages from four providers, with 17 named locations. Pawwash locations share one provider tariff, not 14 independent price observations.
Sources checked 11 September 2026; tariff effective dates and VAT treatment were not established. Listed access and hours are provider statements, not live availability. Check the venue before travelling. A timed package does not establish how long your dog needs or whether this service is suitable.
This searches only the names and addresses listed here, not distance from you or every wash in the UK.
4 providers · 17 listed locations · 10 package prices
Waggy Wash Club
Minimum listed package: £9. The rows below are complete timed packages, not a per-minute rate.
- 10 minutes: £9
- 15 minutes: £12
- 20 minutes: £16
- 30 minutes: £21
Included: Warm water, shampoo and dryer. Pricing page states two-minute pause per wash; do not add it as extra washing time.
Access and payment: No booking or account for PAYG; contactless card. Daily 08:00–20:00. Free onsite parking advertised.
Top-ups: No separate rate established. Confirm at the machine. Top-ups are not standalone minimum purchases.
Not established: VAT treatment; Top-up rate; Towel provision; Individual suitability.
- Llanishen: 11 Llangranog Road, Llanishen, Cardiff CF14 5BL. Daily 08:00–20:00.
Provider tariff and conditions · Provider location details · Checked 11 September 2026 · Tariff effective date unknown
The Waggy Wash
Minimum listed package: £10. The rows below are complete timed packages, not a per-minute rate.
- 10 minutes: £10
- 15 minutes: £12
Included: Shampoo, conditioner and dryer. Provider asks visitors to bring a towel.
Access and payment: Card, no booking; source names Let's Go Hydro. Not evidence of other planned Belfast sites.
Top-ups: £1 for 1 extra minute; £2 for 2 extra minutes Top-ups are not standalone minimum purchases.
Not established: Opening hours; VAT treatment; Venue parking/access charges; Multi-dog policy.
- Let's Go Hydro: Let's Go Hydro, Belfast area; exact venue access and address to confirm. Opening hours not established.
Provider tariff and conditions · Provider location details · Checked 11 September 2026 · Tariff effective date unknown
Stan's Dog Stop
Minimum listed package: £10. The rows below are complete timed packages, not a per-minute rate.
- 10 minutes: £10
- 15 minutes: £14
- 20 minutes: £18
Included: Warm water, dryer, supplied shampoo/herbal shampoo/conditioner; own shampoo permitted by provider. Covered unit, free parking.
Access and payment: Token-operated machine; no booking, seven days 08:00–18:00. Token purchase payment method not established.
Top-ups: £5 listed; added duration not stated Top-ups are not standalone minimum purchases.
Not established: Duration of £5 top-up; VAT treatment; Towels; Exact address.
- Newchapel: A22, Newchapel, near East Grinstead; exact address to confirm. Daily 08:00–18:00.
Provider tariff and conditions · Provider location details · Checked 11 September 2026 · Tariff effective date unknown
Pawwash
Minimum listed package: £10. The rows below are complete timed packages, not a per-minute rate.
- 10 minutes: £10
Included: Warm rinse, shampoo, conditioner, dryer and tub disinfect described by provider.
Access and payment: The provider explicitly lists these Pawwash stations with 24/7 opening. Card only, no booking. Listings are not a live operational check.
Top-ups: No separate rate established. Confirm at the machine. Top-ups are not standalone minimum purchases.
Not established: Top-up rate; VAT treatment; Parking; Towels; Actual availability at visit.
- Partick: 117 Crow Road, Glasgow, G11 7QR. Listed as open 24/7.
- Blantyre: 285 Glasgow Rd, Blantyre, G72 0YS. Listed as open 24/7.
- Muirend: 395 Clarkston Rd, Muirend, Glasgow, G44 3JN. Listed as open 24/7.
- Kirkintilloch: 59 Cowgate, Kirkintilloch, Glasgow, G66 1HW. Listed as open 24/7.
- Clarkston: 4 Arthur Place, Eaglesham Road, Clarkston, G76 7BU. Listed as open 24/7.
- Uddingston: 57 Main Street, Uddingston, G71 7EP. Listed as open 24/7.
- Coatbridge: 18-20 Whifflet St, Coatbridge, ML5 4EL. Listed as open 24/7.
- Bearsden: 80 Milngavie Rd, Bearsden, Glasgow, G61 2TX. Listed as open 24/7.
- Knightswood: 740 Anniesland Rd, Glasgow, G14 0YU. Listed as open 24/7.
- Renfrew: 53 Hairst St, Renfrew, PA4 8QU. Listed as open 24/7.
- Nitshill: 397 Nitshill Rd, Glasgow, G53 7BN. Listed as open 24/7.
- Great Western Road: 375 Great Western Rd, Glasgow, G4 9HY. Listed as open 24/7.
- Shawlands: 48 Kilmarnock Rd, Shawlands, Glasgow, G41 3NH. Listed as open 24/7.
- Crookston: 590-592 Crookston Rd, Crookston, Glasgow, G53 7TZ. Listed as open 24/7.
Provider tariff and conditions · Provider location details · Checked 11 September 2026 · Tariff effective date unknown
Cardiff prices above are pay-as-you-go, not token bundles or subscription rates. Stan’s quoted top-up has no stated duration, and its Newchapel information is not transferred to the separately mentioned Copthorne station. No lower-price comparison with a staffed groom is implied.
Published example: extra-small dog at Ashton-under-Lyne
| Service | Starting price | Comparison boundary |
|---|---|---|
| ServicePuppy groom | Starting price£20 | Comparison boundaryAge and breed conditions applySources: Pets at Home Groom Room |
| ServiceWash & Go | Starting price£15 | Comparison boundarySmooth coats; not a clipping serviceSources: Pets at Home Groom Room |
| ServiceStandard full groom | Starting price£35 | Comparison boundaryRegularly maintained coatSources: Pets at Home Groom Room |
| ServiceSignature full groom | Starting price£45 | Comparison boundaryDifferent service scope; confirm suitabilitySources: Pets at Home Groom Room |
Branch list checked 10 September 2026. Starting prices can change with location and the dog assessed.
Context: Tuft's reported full-groom averages
| Platform size category | Reported average | Observation period |
|---|---|---|
| Platform size categoryExtra-small | Reported average£42 | Observation periodJanuary–February 2026Sources: Tuft |
| Platform size categorySmall | Reported average£48 | Observation periodJanuary–February 2026Sources: Tuft |
| Platform size categoryMedium | Reported average£55 | Observation periodJanuary–February 2026Sources: Tuft |
| Platform size categoryLarge | Reported average£63 | Observation periodJanuary–February 2026Sources: Tuft |
| Platform size categoryExtra-large | Reported average£76 | Observation periodJanuary–February 2026Sources: Tuft |
Tuft reports 15,029 bookings overall, not 15,029 in each size band. Platform averages are not a representative census of all UK groomers.
Match the coat, setting and extras before comparing
| Quote field | Salon quote | Mobile quote |
|---|---|---|
| Quote fieldDog and coat | Salon quoteWeight, coat type, condition and last groom | Mobile quoteThe same dog profile and recent photograph |
| Quote fieldService | Salon quoteFull groom with each included task listed | Mobile quoteConfirm haircut, bath and drying facilities |
| Quote fieldTransport | Salon quoteYour return travel and parking | Mobile quoteCoverage area, call-out fee and any access requirements |
| Quote fieldExtra time | Salon quoteRate for dematting or handling; approval limit | Mobile quoteSame time basis; minimum appointment charge |
A comparison worksheet, not observed quotes. No national median is calculated from the convenience sample.
Pets at Home nail-clipping prices: standalone versus included
| Provider and scope | Dog service | Published fee | Booking and comparison boundary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Provider and scopePets Grooming / The Groom Room: general advertised menu | Dog serviceStandalone dog nail clip | Published feeFrom £10 | Booking and comparison boundaryStarting fee, not a final quote for every branch or dog. Check with the local salon before travelling; walk-ins depend on groomer availability.Sources: Pets at Home / Pets Grooming · Pets at Home / Pets Grooming |
| Provider and scopePets Grooming / The Groom Room: general advertised menu | Dog serviceDew-claw-only clip | Published fee£5 | Booking and comparison boundaryOnly the limited dew-claw service, not a substitute price for a full nail clip. The supplier describes a walk-in service; staff availability still needs checking.Sources: Pets at Home / Pets Grooming · Pets at Home / Pets Grooming |
Official price tab and FAQs checked 11 September 2026. These are the supplier’s general published dog-service indications, not observations from every branch, a national market average or cat/rabbit fees. A tariff effective date and explicit VAT wording were not stated. Confirm the final charge with the salon.
When does a closer groomer cost less overall?
Constructed example: eight £55 grooms with £12 travel each cost £536. Eight £65 mobile grooms with no extra call-out charge cost £520. The higher service price is £16 less over the assumed year because of transport. A separate mobile call-out fee would change that result.
Agree the required visits with the groomer; eight is a budget input, not a coat-care recommendation. If appointment dates fall outside the year, move those payments into the next budget rather than rounding frequency into a promise.
Ask for the same groom in each quote
Send a recent photograph and describe the dog's size, coat, last grooming appointment and any handling difficulties. Ask whether the quote includes bathing, drying, brushing, clipping, nail care and the finish you want. A low bath-only rate should not be compared with a full haircut.
Ask what happens if the appointment needs more time than expected. Agree how additional charges will be approved, particularly for coat condition, extra handling or a different finish.
Use a booking average as context, not a quotation
Tuft reports averages from bookings processed through its platform in January and February 2026. That provides broader context than a single salon's starting price, but the sample is tied to the platform and an earlier period. We have not audited the underlying bookings. A particular coat, location or appointment may reasonably differ from its category average.
Sources: TuftTurn one appointment into a yearly budget
Constructed planning example: eight visits at £45 cost £360; ten cost £450. At £65 per appointment, those totals become £520 and £650. These are arithmetic scenarios, not measured annual spending or a recommended grooming schedule.
The useful saving is the difference between suitable quotes across the visits your dog needs. A £10 difference repeated eight times is £80 a year. Include transport costs if a cheaper salon is much further away.
Frequency changes the answer more than a small discount
Ask a groomer to agree a schedule for your dog's actual coat and the maintenance you can manage at home. A service advertised for a regularly maintained coat may not apply to a first visit after a long gap. The branch example distinguishes standard from signature appointments for this reason.
Sources: Pets at Home Groom RoomBefore paying a deposit
Confirm cancellation notice, late collection charges and whether the deposit comes off the final bill. Ask how the salon handles a dog that becomes distressed or cannot finish a session. Paying for time already spent may differ from paying for a completed groom.
If there is pain, inflamed skin or an injury, contact a vet for advice before booking a cosmetic service. Price comparison should not delay care.
How much is nail clipping at Pets at Home?
Pets Grooming advertises a standalone dog nail clip from £10 and a dew-claw-only clip at £5. Its FAQ says grooming services are for dogs only. A walk-in depends on a grooming team member being available, so check with the salon before making a special journey.
The supplier says a nail clip is included in puppy and full grooms, while a Bath and Brush can carry an additional nail-clipping charge. Do not add the standalone £10 starting fee again when the chosen groom already includes nails, or assume the bath add-on costs the same as a standalone visit: confirm that add-on quote.
The £5 dew-claw-only service covers a narrower task. These published prices do not establish how often your dog needs clipping or whether a groomer or veterinary appointment is appropriate for a particular problem.
Sources: Pets at Home / Pets Grooming · Pets at Home / Pets Grooming · Pets at Home / Pets GroomingPlan your grooming spending
Use the same coat, size and service when comparing quotes. Enter the number of visits you and your groomer expect over your chosen period.
Enter your own quotes, including VAT where payable. Prices are deliberately blank. Enter zero for a charge that does not apply. Calculations stay in your browser; quoted amounts are not sent to us.
Do not add a deposit again if it is credited against the groom. Frequency is your assumption, not a recommended care schedule.
Worked arithmetic example
Illustration only: 6 visits at £50 plus £15 of extras total £315. These are invented inputs, not local prices.
Method: multiply each price by its quantity, round each line to the nearest penny, then add. No inflation or unentered charges are assumed.
Sources and checks
Dates below record our source checks, not a guarantee that a quoted price or rule is unchanged. Confirm the current quote and terms before buying or booking. Report a correction.
- Ashton-under-Lyne salon services and starting pricesPets at Home Groom Room · Checked 10 September 2026
- Grooming costs from January–February 2026 bookingsTuft · Checked 10 September 2026
- Canine Complete: grooming menuCanine Complete · Checked 10 September 2026
- Pawfectly: grooming menuPawfectly · Checked 10 September 2026
- Other Services: Nail Clipping tabPets at Home / Pets Grooming · Checked 11 September 2026
- Dog-only services and nail-clipping walk-insPets at Home / Pets Grooming · Checked 11 September 2026
- Nail clipping within puppy/full grooms and bath add-onsPets at Home / Pets Grooming · Checked 11 September 2026