How much does dental scale and polish cost in Reading?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Dental Scale and Polish in Reading (any pet) has a median listed price of £460.25, based on 4 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £349 to £595.
- Median
- £460.25
- Sample: Any pet
- 4 prices
- Range
- £349 to £595
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +31.5%
Source: Reading source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dental-cleaning/reading#answer
This local guide has a limited sample. Use it as local context alongside the broader city and national procedure pages, and check the number of comparable prices before drawing conclusions.
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £460.25 | £349 to £595 | 4 | 31.5% above |
| Dog | £276 | £276 to £276 | 1 | 31.0% below |
| Cat | £314 | £314 to £314 | 1 | 10.3% below |
Published practice prices in Reading
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vet's Klinic Reading Unit 9, Base 329, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 4AZ | Dog | Not statedMedium comparability | £276-£422Dog dental range varies by weight and online/standard price. includes anaesthetic, scale and polish, oral assessment and post-op pain medication. Official Vet?s Klinic Reading services and pricing page. ranges combine standard price and minimum online price where both are shown | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Vet's Klinic Reading Unit 9, Base 329, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 4AZ | Cat | Not statedMedium comparability | £314-£360Cat dental includes anaesthetic, scale and polish, oral assessment, dental radiography and three days post-op pain medication. Official Vet?s Klinic Reading services and pricing page. ranges combine standard price and minimum online price where both are shown | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Shinfield Vets Alstonby, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 9BE | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £349Mapped from reviewed procedure alias | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 16 Jul 2026Report issue |
| The Veterinary Centre T/As Henley Vets Limited Twycombe Lodge, Reading, Berkshire, RG10 9JA | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £425.5 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Castle Vets Pet Healthcare Limited 1 Tilehurst Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG1 7TW | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £495Comprehensive oral assessment for cat & dog. Exact Castle Vets Reading price list. standard prices only, not Pet Health Club discounts. Page states prices effective from December 2025 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Harrison Family Vets Unit 3, The Point, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 1BE | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £595Stage 1 dental package includes scale and polish and essential extractions | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 2 May 2026Report issue |
Reading context
The national benchmark median for dental scale and polish (any pet) is £350. The Reading benchmark is 31.5% above versus that national median.
Dental prices are only comparable when the same anaesthetic, assessment, extraction, and medication assumptions apply.
Before booking
- Does the price include general anaesthesia, monitoring and post-treatment pain relief?Primary tariffs and comparison definitions expose these as separate package elements.
- Are full-mouth dental X-rays, charting and pre-anaesthetic blood tests included?Primary tariffs package these differently.
- How are extractions priced, and will the practice seek approval before the estimate changes?Some tariffs include extractions while others add bands or quote after assessment.
- Use the full Reading city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026); University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026); Poplar and Wood Wharf Vets price list.