CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Dental Scale and Polish cost in the UK

The median listed UK price for dental scale and polish in the any pet category is £350, based on 651 checked prices as of September 2026. The observed range is £50 to £860; the middle half is £280 to £440.

Median
£350
Sample: Any pet
651 prices
Range
£50 to £860
Snapshot
September 2026

Source: CompareVetPricing national source-backed dataset. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dental-cleaning#answer

What these named prices include

These 3 source-linked tariff examples are separate from the dataset and its medians. They are not matched packages or a cheapest-provider ranking. Keep the quoted service, species and inclusions together; ask your vet which investigation or treatment is appropriate, rather than choosing it from a price list.

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Dog scale and polish

£450

Ordinary price, not the £300 plan rate

Species
Dog
Stated scope
Anaesthetic, X-rays and full mouth examination.
What remains separate or uncertain
Extractions are charged separately. Consultation and postoperative medication inclusion are not established.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Cat scale and polish

£400

Ordinary price, not the £266 plan rate

Species
Cat
Stated scope
Anaesthetic, X-rays and full mouth examination.
What remains separate or uncertain
Extractions are charged separately. Consultation and postoperative medication inclusion are not established.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

AllPets Veterinary Surgery

Cat/dog scale and polish

£295

Ordinary price, not a health-plan benefit

Species
Cat and dog
Stated scope
Day admission, general anaesthesia, examination/charting and follow-up care.
What remains separate or uncertain
A pre-operative consultation may be required. Do not infer dental radiographs or extractions included: those are added in a distinct £550 90-minute treatment tariff, which excludes postoperative medication. That larger treatment is not this cleaning fee.
VAT
Included, according to the provider.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: 29 March 2026. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Dental Scale and Polish: quick answers

Concise answers based on the source-backed price dataset and the comparison caveats for this procedure. Observation dates vary by species and source.

How much does dental scale and polish cost in the UK?
The median listed UK price in the any pet category is £350, based on 651 comparable prices in the September 2026 snapshot.
What is usually included in a dental scale and polish price?
Usually included: Scale and polish; Anaesthetic where stated; Basic dental assessment. Confirm the exact package with the practice before booking.
What may cost extra for dental scale and polish?
Common possible extras: Extractions; Dental X-rays; Medication; Pre-anaesthetic blood tests; Complex dental treatment. Ask for an itemised estimate so quotes can be compared like for like.
What should I check before comparing dental scale and polish quotes?
Dental prices are only comparable when the same anaesthetic, assessment, extraction, and medication assumptions apply.

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/dental-cleaning#quick-answers

National price distribution

Statistics use published prices that passed our comparison and freshness checks. From-prices are counted separately and are not used for the median unless the price is comparable.

Benchmark calculated: 11 Sept 2026

The latest eligible observation is shown separately for each benchmark. Dates vary between species; this is not the date every price was checked. A recently calculated benchmark can include older observations.

BenchmarkLatest eligible observationMedianMiddle 50%RangeComparable pricesFrom/range prices
Any pet11 Sept 2026£350£280 to £440£50 to £8606510 from / 28 range
Dog19 May 2026£400£275.25 to £495£125 to £7151180 from / 30 range
Cat19 May 2026£350£240 to £435£105 to £6101050 from / 5 range

Compare dental scale and polish prices by city

City links are shown where local data has enough comparable observations to be useful. For smaller samples, use the national benchmark alongside the local figures.

CityMedianRangeComparable pricesPriced practices
BelfastAny pet£150£65 to £270716
CarlisleAny pet£174.71£165 to £43559
SwindonDog£175£175 to £175218
Stoke-on-TrentCat£200£199.5 to £435525
LiverpoolAny pet£280£150 to £350525
LambethAny pet£295£280 to £534513
CheltenhamAny pet£300£260 to £350317
DoncasterAny pet£300£300 to £595317
CambridgeAny pet£305£250 to £370614
LeicesterAny pet£320£110 to £320514
LondonAny pet£325£199 to £86048190
WarringtonAny pet£325£220 to £390417
LeedsAny pet£330£216 to £5951134
Tower HamletsAny pet£330£250 to £75056
WokinghamAny pet£350£290 to £56039
GloucesterAny pet£370£70 to £390618
WestminsterAny pet£375£295 to £57539
EdinburghAny pet£380£320 to £500731
ShrewsburyAny pet£384.2£295 to £395411
ChristchurchDog£389£350 to £38935
ExeterAny pet£390£341.71 to £390617
WirralAny pet£390£390 to £390311
BirminghamAny pet£399£299 to £550529
MiddlesbroughAny pet£400£389 to £49539
WandsworthAny pet£425£199 to £517516
ReadingAny pet£460.25£349 to £595419
PlymouthDog£495£495 to £495312
Hammersmith and FulhamDog£525£525 to £525211
HackneyAny pet£750£750 to £75037

What is usually included

  • Scale and polish
  • Anaesthetic where stated
  • Basic dental assessment

What may be extra

  • Extractions
  • Dental X-rays
  • Medication
  • Pre-anaesthetic blood tests
  • Complex dental treatment

Questions that make dental scale and polish quotes comparable

Ask the practice to confirm the same package boundaries before comparing the displayed prices.

  • Does the price include general anaesthesia, monitoring and post-treatment pain relief?Primary tariffs and comparison definitions expose these as separate package elements.
  • Are full-mouth dental X-rays, charting and pre-anaesthetic blood tests included?Primary tariffs package these differently.
  • How are extractions priced, and will the practice seek approval before the estimate changes?Some tariffs include extractions while others add bands or quote after assessment.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026); University of Liverpool Veterinary Practice prices (August 2026); Poplar and Wood Wharf Vets price list.

Dental Scale and Polish costs explained

A dental scale and polish is a routine dental clean, usually carried out under general anaesthetic. This guide explains what the quoted price tends to cover, why a final bill can differ from the headline figure above, and what to ask before booking.

What does the dental scale and polish price usually include?

The quoted price for a scale and polish usually covers the routine clean itself and the general anaesthetic needed to carry it out safely, along with the standard care involved on the day of the procedure.

Because a full assessment of the teeth often happens once the pet is under anaesthetic, the headline price is best treated as the cost of the clean rather than of any further work that might be identified. Extractions, dental x-rays, and additional treatment are typically charged separately.

This is why a final bill can end up higher than the starting figure. Practices will usually try to give you an estimate of the possible range in advance and contact you before carrying out extra work, so it is worth asking how they handle this.

Why do dental scale and polish prices vary?

Regional differences apply here as with other procedures, and practices in higher-cost areas generally charge more than those in lower-cost regions. This is one reason two practices offering the same routine clean can quote noticeably different figures, even before any additional treatment is considered.

Animal size influences the price, since larger animals typically need more anaesthetic and longer under general anaesthesia than smaller ones. Age can also play a role, as older animals sometimes need extra pre-anaesthetic checks before the procedure.

Whether a practice belongs to a corporate group or is independently owned may affect pricing as well, with neither model consistently cheaper. Comparing the inclusions, and not just the headline figure, gives a fairer picture.

Questions to ask about dental scale and polish

Helpful questions include: Does the quoted price include the anaesthetic? Are extractions, x-rays or extra treatment charged on top, and roughly how are those priced? Will I be contacted for approval before any additional work is carried out on the day?

It is also worth asking: Are pre-anaesthetic blood tests included or extra? Does the price depend on my pet's size or age? Clear answers help you set the quote fairly against the benchmark table above.

Ways to manage dental scale and polish costs

Some practices offer health plans or payment plans that can help spread the cost of planned dental work across several months. Pet insurance sometimes contributes towards dental treatment, but policies vary considerably and often have conditions attached, so it is worth checking the terms before booking.

Charities such as the PDSA or RSPCA may offer reduced-cost treatment for owners who meet their eligibility criteria, which are typically means-tested. What is available differs by location, so it is sensible to check directly what support you might qualify for.

As dental work is usually planned rather than urgent, it is often possible to ask the practice for a written estimate before the day. That gives you time to set the quote against the benchmark table above and to plan around any extra treatment that might be needed.

This guide covers costs and questions to ask — it is not veterinary advice.

Get an email when dental scale and polish prices change

We check prices regularly. Leave your email and we will let you know when this benchmark is next updated.

We store your email only to send this alert, never resell it, and you can ask us to remove it at any time. See our privacy notice.

Methodology

This guide uses source-backed current prices from the CompareVetPricing dataset snapshot dated 2026-09-11. Prices must be publishable and quality-checked before they are used in medians or ranges. Prices can change, clinical recommendations vary, and this page is a comparison aid rather than a quote.