How much does microchipping cost in Cardiff?
The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Microchip Implantation in Cardiff (any pet) has a median listed price of £29.21, based on 10 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £20 to £36.47.
- Median
- £29.21
- Sample: Any pet
- 10 prices
- Range
- £20 to £36.47
- Latest benchmark observation
- July 2026
- Vs UK
- +6.2%
Source: Cardiff source-backed practice prices. Methodology
Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/microchipping/cardiff#answer
Local benchmark
The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.
Computed 11 Sept 2026
| Benchmark | Median | Range | Comparable prices | Versus UK median |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Any pet | £29.21 | £20 to £36.47 | 10 | 6.2% above |
Published practice prices in Cardiff
The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.
Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.
| Practice | Pet | Weight / comparability | Price | Ownership | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiff Veterinary Centre Unit 2 Link Trade Park, Penarth, Cardiff, CF11 8TQ | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £20 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 19 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Marlborough Road Veterinary Centre Marlborough Road Veterinary Centre, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF23 5BX | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £20.35Official CVS branch pricing table. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Petherton Veterinary Clinic - Rumney 840-842 Newport Road, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF3 4LH | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £20.35Official CVS branch pricing table. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026 | Ownership not clearly disclosed | Practice website | Current: checked 30 Apr 2026Report issue |
| Cardiff Newport Road Vets4Pets Ltd Inside Pets at Home, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF23 9AA | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £27 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 13 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Companion Care (Cardiff) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets Inside Pets at Home, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF11 0JR | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £27 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 21 Sept 2026Report issue |
| Cardiff Ely Vets4Pets Ltd 364-372 Cowbridge Road West, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF5 5BY | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £30 | vets4pets | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Valley Veterinary Hospital Unit 2C, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF15 9SS | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £34.98 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
| St David Veterinary Centre Pentwyn Shopping Precinct, Cardiff, South Glamorgan, CF23 7EY | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £35 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| St-David Veterinary Centre Unit 1, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF14 5DR | Any pet | Not statedHigh comparability | £35 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 12 Jul 2026Report issue |
| Park Vets Sanatorium Road, Cardiff, Glamorgan, CF11 8DG | Any pet | Not statedMedium comparability | £36.47 | vetpartners | Practice website | Current: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue |
Cardiff context
The national benchmark median for microchipping (any pet) is £27.5. The Cardiff benchmark is 6.2% above versus that national median.
Microchipping is usually highly comparable, but confirm whether database registration is included.
Before booking
- Does the price include implanting the chip and initial database registration?A chip price is useful only when its registration scope is clear.
- Is a separate consultation fee required?Some listings price the item alone while others bundle an appointment.
- Is the displayed amount conditional on another service or plan?Primary tariffs can discount microchipping when bought with vaccination.
- Use the full Cardiff city page for wider local comparison.
Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Uckfield Vets price list (January 2026).