CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

How much does microchipping cost in Reading?

The benchmark calculated 11 Sept 2026 for Microchip Implantation in Reading (any pet) has a median listed price of £20.35, based on 14 quality-checked published prices. The local benchmark ranges from £19 to £42.

Median
£20.35
Sample: Any pet
14 prices
Range
£19 to £42
Latest benchmark observation
May 2026
Vs UK
-26.0%

Source: Reading source-backed practice prices. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/microchipping/reading#answer

Local benchmark

The table separates species where the source data does. Medians use quality-checked observations only; from-prices are counted but excluded from medians unless converted into comparable values.

Computed 11 Sept 2026

Median: Any pet
£20.35
Middle 50%
£20 to £20.35
Local range
£19 to £42
Comparable prices in this category
14
BenchmarkMedianRangeComparable pricesVersus UK median
Any pet£20.35£19 to £421426.0% below
Dog£34£32 to £36213.3% above
Cat£32£32 to £32110.3% above

Published practice prices in Reading

The prices below are current publishable prices for this procedure in the local dataset. Confirm the latest amount, inclusions, and clinical suitability with the practice before booking.

Practices are ranked by published source-backed price for this procedure. No practice pays to appear higher in this list.

PracticePetWeight / comparabilityPriceOwnershipSourceChecked
Vet's Klinic Reading

Unit 9, Base 329, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 4AZ

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£19-£24Minimum online to standard price range. Official Vet?s Klinic Reading services and pricing page. ranges combine standard price and minimum online price where both are shown. Worker 27 removed rabbit rows because guarded importer rejects rabbit for these procedure codesOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Harrison Family Vets

Unit 3, The Point, Reading, Berkshire, RG6 1BE

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£20from priceOwnership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 2 May 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

The Veterinary Surgery, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 1AA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

Tutts Clump, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 6JU

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Valley Veterinary Group

The Veterinary Surgery, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 7JQ

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Oakley

65 Oakley Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 7RN

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20.35Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Sonning Common

2c Green Lane, Reading, Berkshire, RG4 9NA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20.35Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Active Vetcare - Woodley (Beechwood Veterinary Centre)

35 Beechwood Avenue, Reading, Berkshire, RG5 3DE

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20.35Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Burghfield Veterinary Surgery

1 Tarragon Way, Reading, Berkshire, RG7 3YU

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£20.35Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Goring Veterinary Centre

Thames Court, Reading, Berkshire, RG8 9AR

Any petNot statedHigh comparability£20.35Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Veterinary Centre

19 School Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG31 5AR

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£20.35Official branch pricing page. prices include VAT. Pricing information current as of 1 April 2026cvsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 29 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Vets4Pets Ltd

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG30 1PR

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£32Exact Vets4Pets Tilehurst branch page. standard practice prices onlyvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Vets4Pets Ltd

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG30 1PR

DogNot statedMedium comparability£32Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where stated. Worker 27 removed rabbit rows because guarded importer rejects rabbit for these procedure codesvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Tilehurst Vets4Pets Ltd

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG30 1PR

CatNot statedMedium comparability£32from price Official branch price page. all prices include VAT and are subject to change where stated. Worker 27 removed rabbit rows because guarded importer rejects rabbit for these procedure codesvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets

Inside Pets at Home, Reading, Berkshire, RG2 0HS

DogNot statedMedium comparability£36Exact Vets4Pets Reading branch page for Companion Care (Reading) Ltd T/A Vets4Pets. standard practice prices onlyvets4petsPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
The Veterinary Centre T/As Henley Vets Limited

Twycombe Lodge, Reading, Berkshire, RG10 9JA

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£38Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue
Castle Vets Pet Healthcare Limited

1 Tilehurst Road, Reading, Berkshire, RG1 7TW

Any petNot statedMedium comparability£42Exact Castle Vets Reading price list. standard prices only, not Pet Health Club discounts. Page states prices effective from December 2025Ownership not clearly disclosedPractice websiteCurrent: checked 28 Apr 2026Report issue

Reading context

The national benchmark median for microchipping (any pet) is £27.5. The Reading benchmark is 26.0% below versus that national median.

Microchipping is usually highly comparable, but confirm whether database registration is included.

Before booking

  • Does the price include implanting the chip and initial database registration?A chip price is useful only when its registration scope is clear.
  • Is a separate consultation fee required?Some listings price the item alone while others bundle an appointment.
  • Is the displayed amount conditional on another service or plan?Primary tariffs can discount microchipping when bought with vaccination.
  • Use the full Reading city page for wider local comparison.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Uckfield Vets price list (January 2026).