CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Single X-ray cost in the UK

The median listed UK price for single X-ray in the any pet category is £300, based on 243 checked prices as of September 2026. The observed range is £33.3 to £3,300; the middle half is £220.21 to £400.03.

Median
£300
Sample: Any pet
243 prices
Range
£33.3 to £3,300
Snapshot
September 2026

Source: CompareVetPricing national source-backed dataset. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/xray#answer

What these named prices include

These 6 source-linked tariff examples are separate from the dataset and its medians. They are not matched packages or a cheapest-provider ranking. Keep the quoted service, species and inclusions together; ask your vet which investigation or treatment is appropriate, rather than choosing it from a price list.

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Cat X-rays under sedation/anaesthetic

£400

Ordinary published price

Species
Cat
Stated scope
Sedation/anaesthetic stated.
What remains separate or uncertain
Number of images and body areas, interpretation and consultation inclusion are not stated; not a single-image price.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Dog X-rays under sedation/anaesthetic

£450

Ordinary published price

Species
Dog
Stated scope
Sedation/anaesthetic stated.
What remains separate or uncertain
Number of images and body areas, interpretation and consultation inclusion are not stated; not a single-image price.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

AllPets Veterinary Surgery

Radiography

£432

Ordinary published price

Species
Not stated by this tariff
Stated scope
Admission, sedation and necessary radiographs.
What remains separate or uncertain
The tariff does not state species, exact image count or body regions. Do not assume this is the same package as another provider’s X-ray fee.
VAT
Included, according to the provider.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: 29 March 2026. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Amity Veterinary Care

Rabbit X-rays: two views

£280

Member baseline component; not an unrestricted visit total

Species
Rabbit
Stated scope
Two radiographic views.
What remains separate or uncertain
The section says non-members add 20%: £336 is derived arithmetic from £280, not a separately quoted line. Rabbit sedation/general anaesthesia is listed separately at a £200 baseline; do not assume it is included, required or automatically added. Consultation and complete visit total need confirmation.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Origin Vets Clinic

Rabbit/exotic radiographs: up to three views

£265

Published in the Rabbits and Exotic Animals tariff; not rabbit-exclusive

Species
Rabbit
Stated scope
Up to three radiographic views.
What remains separate or uncertain
Anaesthetic or sedation is explicitly excluded. The same section lists first, follow-up and referral consultations separately, but does not say which consultation applies or whether interpretation or a report is included. No rabbit weight band is stated; request the whole estimate.
VAT
Not explicitly stated on the checked tariff; confirm whether VAT changes the amount payable. Prices are stated correct August 2026, with no exact day.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Evolution Exotics Referrals

Exotic-referral X-ray: set-up and first radiograph

£126

Dedicated exotic-referral tariff; line is not rabbit-exclusive

Species
Rabbit
Stated scope
Set-up and the first radiograph; additional radiographs are £60 each.
What remains separate or uncertain
Sedation is not included; the tariff separately lists small-animal sedation up to 30 minutes at £90–£180 and a within-hours referral consultation at £199. Do not add either automatically. Interpretation/reporting is not stated, and the provider warns that weight and procedure duration can change prices.
VAT
Not explicitly stated on the checked tariff; confirm whether VAT changes the amount payable.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Single X-ray: quick answers

Concise answers based on the source-backed price dataset and the comparison caveats for this procedure. Observation dates vary by species and source.

How much does single X-ray cost in the UK?
The median listed UK price in the any pet category is £300, based on 243 comparable prices in the September 2026 snapshot.
What is usually included in a single X-ray price?
Usually included: One listed X-ray item where stated; Imaging procedure; Basic record entry. Confirm the exact package with the practice before booking.
What may cost extra for single X-ray?
Common possible extras: Sedation or anaesthetic; Additional views; Interpretation fees; Follow-up consultation. Ask for an itemised estimate so quotes can be compared like for like.
What should I check before comparing single X-ray quotes?
X-ray pricing is often not directly comparable unless sedation, number of views, interpretation, and follow-up are stated.

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/xray#quick-answers

National price distribution

Statistics use published prices that passed our comparison and freshness checks. From-prices are counted separately and are not used for the median unless the price is comparable.

Benchmark calculated: 11 Sept 2026

The latest eligible observation is shown separately for each benchmark. Dates vary between species; this is not the date every price was checked. A recently calculated benchmark can include older observations.

BenchmarkLatest eligible observationMedianMiddle 50%RangeComparable pricesFrom/range prices
Any pet11 Sept 2026£300£220.21 to £400.03£33.3 to £3,3002430 from / 13 range
Dog2 May 2026£281£219.79 to £434.25£180 to £47560 from / 2 range
Cat2 May 2026£247.74£179.92 to £355.12£120 to £37560 from / 0 range

Compare single X-ray prices by city

City links are shown where local data has enough comparable observations to be useful. For smaller samples, use the national benchmark alongside the local figures.

CityMedianRangeComparable pricesPriced practices
LondonAny pet£580£45 to £86724190

What is usually included

  • One listed X-ray item where stated
  • Imaging procedure
  • Basic record entry

What may be extra

  • Sedation or anaesthetic
  • Additional views
  • Interpretation fees
  • Follow-up consultation

Questions that make single X-ray quotes comparable

Ask the practice to confirm the same package boundaries before comparing the displayed prices.

  • How many images or views does the quoted price include?The CMA comparison item specifies three images for a non-complex case.
  • Are sedation or general anaesthesia and image interpretation included?A primary tariff may package all of these into one price.
  • What would additional images, consultation or follow-up cost?A single listed imaging item may not cover the complete work-up.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026).

Single X-ray costs explained

A single X-ray is one of the most commonly listed diagnostic prices, but it is also one of the hardest to compare directly. This guide explains what the listed figure above usually represents, why X-ray pricing varies so much, and the questions that make an estimate meaningful.

What does the single X-ray price usually include?

The listed price usually covers one radiographic image where the practice states it that way: the use of the equipment and the professional time to take a single view.

In practice, X-rays are rarely used singly. Most investigations need more than one view, many animals need sedation or a short anaesthetic to stay still, and a vet's interpretation of the images may be itemised separately. Each of those appears as its own line on an estimate.

That is why a final imaging bill is often a multiple of the single-view price above. The benchmark is still useful as a building block, but treat it as one component of a diagnostic work-up rather than the likely total.

Why do single X-ray prices vary?

Equipment and setting explain part of the spread: practices differ in the imaging equipment they run and in how they allocate its cost across procedures. Location and ownership then layer on the same regional and group differences seen in routine care.

The pricing structure itself varies. Some practices quote a first view and cheaper additional views; others quote a flat imaging fee or wrap X-rays into a work-up estimate. Two similar headline figures can therefore sit inside very different total bills.

Sedation and anaesthesia requirements depend on the animal and the area being imaged, and these are often the largest variable items around the X-ray itself.

Questions to ask about single X-ray

When imaging is proposed, useful questions include: How many views are likely to be needed, and what does each cost? Will my pet need sedation or anaesthetic, and what is that likely to add? Is interpretation of the images included?

It is also worth asking for a written estimate for the whole work-up rather than the X-ray alone, and what the plan would be if the first images do not give an answer. That turns the single-view benchmark above into a usable planning figure.

Ways to manage single X-ray costs

Diagnostic imaging for illness or injury is the sort of cost pet insurance is designed for, subject to excesses and limits, so check your policy position before agreeing a large work-up where the situation allows time.

Practices can usually stage diagnostics, agreeing what will be done first and at what cost before proceeding further. Asking for costs to be confirmed before each stage is routine and reasonable. Charities such as the PDSA or RSPCA may help owners who meet their eligibility criteria, which are typically means-tested.

This guide covers costs and questions to ask — it is not veterinary advice.

Get an email when single X-ray prices change

We check prices regularly. Leave your email and we will let you know when this benchmark is next updated.

We store your email only to send this alert, never resell it, and you can ask us to remove it at any time. See our privacy notice.

Methodology

This guide uses source-backed current prices from the CompareVetPricing dataset snapshot dated 2026-09-11. Prices must be publishable and quality-checked before they are used in medians or ranges. Prices can change, clinical recommendations vary, and this page is a comparison aid rather than a quote.