CompareVetPricing
Explore prices & pet costs

Standard Blood Panel cost in the UK

The median listed UK price for standard blood test in the any pet category is £95, based on 219 checked prices as of September 2026. The observed range is £15 to £1,400; the middle half is £75 to £164.

Median
£95
Sample: Any pet
219 prices
Range
£15 to £1,400
Snapshot
September 2026

Source: CompareVetPricing national source-backed dataset. Methodology

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/blood-test#answer

What these named prices include

These 6 source-linked tariff examples are separate from the dataset and its medians. They are not matched packages or a cheapest-provider ranking. Keep the quoted service, species and inclusions together; ask your vet which investigation or treatment is appropriate, rather than choosing it from a price list.

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Pre-op blood sample/panel

£80

Ordinary published price

Species
Not stated by this tariff
Stated scope
Provider’s named pre-op category.
What remains separate or uncertain
Species, analytes and consultation inclusion are not established. A category label does not prove the same tests as another practice.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Standard blood sample/panel

£110

Ordinary published price

Species
Not stated by this tariff
Stated scope
Provider’s named standard category.
What remains separate or uncertain
Species, analytes and consultation inclusion are not established. This does not define a universal standard panel.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Comprehensive blood sample/panel

£160

Ordinary published price

Species
Not stated by this tariff
Stated scope
Provider’s named comprehensive category.
What remains separate or uncertain
Species, analytes and consultation inclusion are not established; no clinical benefit comparison is implied.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Snowy Veterinary Centre

Geriatric blood sample/panel including T4

£180

Ordinary published price

Species
Not stated by this tariff
Stated scope
T4 expressly stated.
What remains separate or uncertain
Species, remaining analytes and consultation inclusion are not established. This is a tariff label, not a recommendation for an older pet.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Amity Veterinary Care

Urgent investigative blood test: dog/cat

£324

Published non-member price; member price £270

Species
Cat and dog
Stated scope
Named urgent investigative blood test.
What remains separate or uncertain
Exact analytes, sampling and consultation inclusion are not fully established. Not equivalent to a routine screening panel or a guaranteed turnaround time.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Amity Veterinary Care

Old Cat Profile

£324

Published non-member price; member price £270

Species
Cat
Stated scope
Provider’s named cat profile.
What remains separate or uncertain
Exact analytes, sampling and consultation inclusion are not fully established. Do not infer T4 inclusion from another provider’s geriatric panel.
VAT
Not explicitly established on the checked tariff; confirm.

Source checked . Tariff effective date: not stated. This source check does not update the page’s statistical snapshot.

View this provider’s tariff

Standard Blood Panel: quick answers

Concise answers based on the source-backed price dataset and the comparison caveats for this procedure. Observation dates vary by species and source.

How much does standard blood test cost in the UK?
The median listed UK price in the any pet category is £95, based on 219 comparable prices in the September 2026 snapshot.
What is usually included in a standard blood test price?
Usually included: A standard listed blood panel where stated; Sample processing route stated by the practice. Confirm the exact package with the practice before booking.
What may cost extra for standard blood test?
Common possible extras: Consultation; Sample-taking fee; Urgent lab processing; Additional panels. Ask for an itemised estimate so quotes can be compared like for like.
What should I check before comparing standard blood test quotes?
Blood-test prices depend heavily on the panel, lab route, urgency, and whether sample-taking is included.

Cite thishttps://comparevetpricing.co.uk/prices/blood-test#quick-answers

National price distribution

Statistics use published prices that passed our comparison and freshness checks. From-prices are counted separately and are not used for the median unless the price is comparable.

Benchmark calculated: 11 Sept 2026

The latest eligible observation is shown separately for each benchmark. Dates vary between species; this is not the date every price was checked. A recently calculated benchmark can include older observations.

BenchmarkLatest eligible observationMedianMiddle 50%RangeComparable pricesFrom/range prices
Any pet11 Sept 2026£95£75 to £164£15 to £1,4002190 from / 9 range
Dog2 May 2026£104.5£91.25 to £114£80 to £11440 from / 0 range
Cat19 May 2026£120£95 to £232£90 to £23250 from / 2 range

Compare standard blood test prices by city

City links are shown where local data has enough comparable observations to be useful. For smaller samples, use the national benchmark alongside the local figures.

CityMedianRangeComparable pricesPriced practices
LondonAny pet£145£50 to £1,40019190
HackneyAny pet£178.5£178.5 to £178.537

What is usually included

  • A standard listed blood panel where stated
  • Sample processing route stated by the practice

What may be extra

  • Consultation
  • Sample-taking fee
  • Urgent lab processing
  • Additional panels

Questions that make standard blood test quotes comparable

Ask the practice to confirm the same package boundaries before comparing the displayed prices.

  • Which named panel and measurements does this price cover?A short pre-anaesthetic panel is not comparable with a broader profile.
  • Are sample collection, interpretation and third-party laboratory fees included?The processing route and bundled services affect the quote.
  • Is urgent processing, consultation or any follow-on panel additional?Those costs may sit outside the displayed test price.

Price-scope evidence: CMA 2026 price-list comparison definitions; Royal Veterinary College general-practice prices (March 2026).

Standard Blood Panel costs explained

A standard blood panel is one of the most frequently quoted diagnostic prices, used in work-ups, health screening and pre-anaesthetic checks. This guide explains what the listed figure above usually represents and why two blood-test prices are often not describing the same thing.

What does the standard blood test price usually include?

The listed price usually covers a standard panel as defined by the practice: the laboratory analysis of a set list of values, run either on the practice's own analyser or at an external laboratory.

Items frequently charged separately include the consultation at which the test is discussed, a sample-taking fee, and any additional or follow-on panels. Urgent processing can also carry a premium over routine turnaround.

Because the word panel covers everything from a short pre-anaesthetic screen to a comprehensive profile, the headline price above is best used alongside a note of exactly which values the quoted panel measures.

Why do standard blood test prices vary?

Panel scope is the biggest source of variation: a wider panel costs more to run, and practices bundle values differently, so like-for-like comparison needs the panel contents, not just the name.

The processing route matters too. In-house analysers give fast results and are priced by the practice; external laboratories have their own fee structures and turnaround options. Neither route is automatically cheaper, but the choice shows up in the price.

The usual regional and ownership differences apply on top, and blood tests are often quoted inside a larger work-up estimate, where their price interacts with what else is being done at the same time.

Questions to ask about standard blood test

Useful questions include: What does this panel actually measure, and why is it the right one for my pet? Is sample-taking included in the price? Will the sample be run in-house or sent away, and how quickly will results come back?

If the test is part of a work-up, ask for a written estimate for the whole investigation and whether results might lead to further panels, so a follow-on test does not arrive as a surprise on the bill.

Ways to manage standard blood test costs

Blood tests run to investigate illness are typically within the scope of pet insurance, subject to policy terms, while routine screening and pre-anaesthetic checks often are not, so it is worth knowing which side of that line a proposed test falls on.

Where testing is not urgent, asking whether it can be combined with an appointment that is already booked can avoid an extra consultation fee. Some practice health plans include an annual screening test, and charities such as the PDSA or RSPCA may help owners who meet their eligibility criteria, which are typically means-tested.

This guide covers costs and questions to ask — it is not veterinary advice.

Get an email when standard blood test prices change

We check prices regularly. Leave your email and we will let you know when this benchmark is next updated.

We store your email only to send this alert, never resell it, and you can ask us to remove it at any time. See our privacy notice.

Methodology

This guide uses source-backed current prices from the CompareVetPricing dataset snapshot dated 2026-09-11. Prices must be publishable and quality-checked before they are used in medians or ranges. Prices can change, clinical recommendations vary, and this page is a comparison aid rather than a quote.